We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asset to Largs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nardini's

Nardini's
2 Greenock Rd, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
01475-675000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Largs
Price range: $0 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great asset to Largs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Nardinis on holiday recently. The building is very nostalgic and in a great location on The Esplanade. It is a ice cream parlour, cafe, resaurant and pizzeria. The interior is far superior to many other such eateries with a fabulous mural on the cafe wall. The ice cream looked delicious, but we resisted as we had visited specifically for a fish and chip tea at 4.30pm.
We waited to be seated and the waitress told us that the cafe was closing at 5.30pm for a function. She assured us that we had plenty of time for our meal. After ordering we saw that the rear of the restaurant was a hive of activity. By the time our food arrived at 4.55pm the activity had move really close to us. Tables and chairs were being rearranged, the hoover was being used and waitresses being ordered around. This totally ruined our visit as conversation was almost impossible with all the preparations. We felt rushed and unwelcome. We were given the bill at 5.17pm.
However - the food was tasty and hot and we would have liked to enjoy it in peace.
The very good score reflects the building and food - but the overall experience should really get a poor score.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    178
    92
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nardini's don't like working class.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our family seven traveled over 40 miles from home after attending a Halloween event at Kelburn country park. We were looking forward to treating ourselves to a sundae each at Nardini's. However our evening was ruined by a rude and and dismissive waiter. He told us "you can't have your Fish n chips in here tonight" with a smug smile. As more affluent clientele arrived he told us to take a menu and leave. However the cafe in question was practically empty.

We were disgusted by the way we had been greeted. We were treated like second class citizens. It is clear they do not want working class people dining there.So to any families looking for a pleasant evening steer clear of this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Let down by poor management and indifferent service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It is lovely to see Nardini's restored, and the menus are very good too. What a pity, then, that it is let down so badly by their poor and inattentive staff. It seems in fact to be run to suit the management rather than the customers. At quiet times whole sections are closed off, and you cannot choose where to sit - you are *ordered* around by extremely rude managers, and told, not asked, where to sit!
Whatever became of customer choice and customer care? The waitresses and generally pleasant, but not very attentive - and they do not, as in years gone by, carry a float of change - so even waiting on the bill takes ages. So although I love the iconic building, this poor service and dictatorial attitude leaves a nasty taste in the mouth. Such a pity that there are none of the Nardini family involved - they did things so very much better - and much more politely too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food and service becoming a bit too variable......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been visiting Nardinis in Largs since early childhood.

The building has been very thoughtfully refurbished - with many similarities to the original Nardinis.

Its a place of fond memories, having visited with family and friends, some of whom are sadly no longer with us.

Minestrone soup was a regular - until one day last year I was presented with a bowl of what looked like orangey water with a few bits of cabbage and carrot in it. I did complain, however by the time I managed to do this my family had finished their meals.

On another occasion I had a cheese and ham toastie, which was sooooo greasy it was, in my view, inedible. Yeuk - even the napkin had grease soaked into it. I always had a cheese and ham toastie there as a kid - but I will never have one again as that experience put me off for life :0(

We decided on certain criteria of when NOT to go as the service and food appear to deteriorate when Nardinis is busy. Over the last couple of years there have been more than 2 occasions where I have said I would never go back, due to both service and food. However, the childhood pull does make me want to return - realistically it should be the food, atmosphere and service that make me want to return.

A recommendation is difficult because of the various experiences over the last 2 years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Varied menu to entice all age ranges and hunger capacity! Share a huge concotion of ice cream for that special occasion. Or order your own favourite if it's possible to have a favourite amongst such a wide choice!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nardini's also viewed

 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Nardini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nardini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.