We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear what a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nardini's

Nardini's
2 Greenock Rd, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
01475-675000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Largs
Price range: $0 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Oh dear what a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place always had a special place in my heart. A memory from my childhood. But oh dear how has it changed and not for the better. We always take visitors here but alas no more what a shame. We had to send back the order not once but twice !!!! Sorry but never again will we give you our hard earned cash, it saddens me to say this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    190
    101
    71
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

great seaside family restaurant, fab fish and chips and excellent ice cream, friendly staff good service, enjoyed lunch for 3 children and 4 adults, menu suited everyone if you visit Largs try it great art deco restaurant and certainly worth a visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland west
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“an absolute art deco gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we had never visited the classic nardinis even though we live only a few miles away but we'll definitely be going again. the cafe/restaurant is in a stunningly well preserved 1930's building and you immediately have the feel of entering a venerable well established cafe/restaurant.

the decor is just superb - pure 1930's with a piano nook, lovely rattan and glass furniture, stepped lights and murals. the large windows look out onto a car park and the sea, but on a beautiful sunner winter's day such as the one when we visired, you do get a real holiday atmosphere.

we were glad it was midweek, early lunch time, as it was quite busy. but you can imagine the queues and long waits at weekends and in the summer months. as it was, there was noone waiting to be seated and we were shown immediately to a window table.

service was fast and efficient, indeed after we had given our order we were approached by a second person who was confused we'd already given it!

we were not hungry enough for full lunch, but regretted this when we saw very appetising plates of what looked and smelled like great lunch time fare and spectacular ice creams, especially the seaside staples of fish & chips and sundaes.

we instead had very good coffees, and some cholcolate/amaretto cheesecake for my husband. this was delicious but so rich he had to sadly leave quite a bit of it. i need to have gluten free food, and though there was not much choice there were at least 3 simple gluten free options and i had a fruit slice so he didnt chomp alone.

most enjoyable though was the atmosphere, just busy enough to be lively with plenty of families and people of all ages enjoying the ambience and the food. despite this, there was also a tranquil air about it.

one disappointment was the loos. they were clean and well equipped, but i had expected something in harmony with the rest of the building. the loos are quite modern however and particularly bland to boot.

we will now go back again however to try the lunch menu, and will again make sure we go midweek and out of season as i can appreciate it would not be half as enjoyable if absolutely packed to the rafters with a snaking queue out onto the street. one thing we noticed on the way out was that there are one or two fantastic curved booths which looked as if they would seat a pary of about 6, and one was reserved - if there are enough of you goong for lunch, it would be excellent to book one of those.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Changed times at Nardini’s Café, Largs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nardini’s Café Largs is a lovely place to visit.

What a pity the offhand attitude of management does not match the surroundings.

When the Café re-opened some years ago, it was a great place to visit – great service and friendly staff – why has it all changed?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very agreeable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Called in here on a lovely sunny afternoon for lunch, and was rewarded with a table by the window, overlooking the stunning Firth of Clyde. Service was fairly slow even though the place was far from full, and they did seem rather understaffed. However, the food was very good, and it's nice being in a cafe with table service rather than having to join a scrum at the bar to order or pay. Value for money was reasonable as well, and the staff were certainly friendly and conscientious.

One thing to note, however - the menus displayed outside are evening only, and the lunch menu is mostly made up of sandwiches and snacks. Tasty though they are, the lunch options aren't as substantial as some people might wish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nardini's also viewed

 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Nardini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nardini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.