We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stotfield Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Official Site
and 7 more sites!
Stotfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lossiemouth
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited the Stotfield restaurant on Tuesday for a family and friends meal for my mother's birthday. The service was superb, the food beautiful. They even took the time to decorate mum's dessert with chocolate sauce to say "happy birthday". Definitely recommend this restaurant for great food and a lovely atmosphere. The views were stunning too.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    51
    27
    24
See reviews for
28
64
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely sea view. Warm comfortable clean room. Only negative was the bathroom in urgent need of upgrade. Nice friendly bar and lounge area and the staff cannot do enough for you. Excellent choice at breakfast all freshly prepared. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The charming ladies in the Brasserie provided me with a printout of the single malts and assisted me in some educational tastings. The superlatives however are accorded to the Chef who provided fresh local caught Haddock and chips, so delicious that I would drive 4 hours from Edinburgh to enjoy it again.
I mislaid my watch and the staff went beyond the call of duty to search upstairs and downstairs for my gold wristwatch and Hazel assisted by Jasmine Schoberth found it.
Many many thanks for that too.
The view of the ocean and golf course from our room was lovely too and we enjoyed watching the French Euro jets streaking across the sky.
Many thanks. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are NO elevators and lots of stairs. We did get help with our luggage. Travel lightly and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

At first glance this hotel looked great, till I arrived in my room. Door didn't open properly as the wardrobe (cupboard) prevented this. 3 coathangers (for a weeks stay) waited in there for me. Toilet had sliding door and was basically a cupboard with facilities. The decor was appaling. The breakfast were good although the water stains on the dining room wall were a bit off puting. Sad to say it flatters to deceive as from the outside through to reception it promises so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here one night Bed and breakfast when visiting family in Elgin, we called into hotel day before stay to see if we could book an early arrival, the man who spoke to us at the front desk was so nice, he booked us in early without any charge, and he couldn't have been nicer. We also asked to pay for a late check out the morning after and again that was not a a problem and they dint charge us again, fantastic customer service!!
The room itself was in need of modernisation, and window was very tricky to operate. However was very clean and the bed was so comfy. We had great nights rest.
Breakfast the next morning was okay great value for what we paid! Buffet style. Again the staff couldn't do enough to help. The dining hall was in need of repair and modernisation, you could see some was taking place with new furniture.
We would stay again, Can not say enough how helpful the staff were. I hope they can afford to upgrade some of the rooms and facilities because you can tell in its day the hotel would have been something really special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

had to visit Lossiemouth on business at short notice, and booked a seaview room here for a very reasonable £75. After i booked it had a quick look on tripadvisor and wished i hadnt, but it was only for 1 night - how bad could it be?
Bad. Although parking is advertised, there are only about 8 spaces and i ended up having to park out on the road.
The hotel has really seen better days, decor terrible, really old and tatty. Big room with a comfortable bed, but really in need of an update. However staff were nice and friendly.
Meal at night was just average. Prawn cocktail to start which was good. Main was rump steak and chips - meat very tough and took quite a bit of chewing!
Didnt have a great sleep - it was very noisy with what seemed like lots of folk tramping the corridors all through the night, sounded as they they were actually in the room. Breakfast was fine, but this is not a hotel i would chose to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good looking building from the outside and a very warm welcome from the recepionist. Good downstairs room and restaurant. Very average breakfast with some staff not as helpful as others.
Then the bedrooms AWFUL. We were 4 in our party and had to aske for a different room which we got but not a lot better. Very tierd looking, shower taped up so could not move up or down, and noot looking very clean. No were to hand or put anything. Wash basin outside the shower in the bedroom. Only 1 light in the ceiling and one table lamp in a large room. Very old TV which didn't work.

I understand that this hotel is part of a chain another of their hotels we had the misfortune to stay in Scotland. with exactly the same problems.

I don't know how most of the staff stay so helful and cheerful when they must be faced with customers complaining on a daily basis

Room Tip: Don't slepp in the bedrooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stotfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stotfield Hotel

Also Known As:
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth, Scotland
Address: Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lossiemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stotfield Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel in Lossiemouth. A great relaxed family friendly atmosphere exists at this hotel and is frequented by many returning guests and locals alike. The breathtaking view from the front of hotel overlooks the Moray Firth and beyond to the Cromarty Firth and to the hills of Caithness. The hotel is directly opposite the ancient Moray Golf Club, and is ideally situated for exploring the Coastal, Castle or Whisky trail, as well as being well situated for visiting the cities of Inverness and Aberdeen and surrounding area. The Stotfield Hotel has recently undergone a refreshing transformation of many of its bedrooms and also the ground floor guest area. However, this historic hotel retains many of its original character and features from 1895, including the fantastic sweeping staircase and period revolving front door. During your stay you can enjoy free access to high speed wireless broadband throughout the hotels public areas, free car parking (limited spaces available, ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel) but most of all comfortable and relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stotfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stotfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stotfield Hotel to your Saves list