We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stotfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stotfield Hotel to your Saves list
Stotfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
aberdeen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is a grand building from the outside. The lounge and reception area are very welcoming. However, our room was small and definitely in need of refurbishment.Tired would be a good word to describe it. The bathroom had poor quality furnishings, and there was a bit missing from the toilet roll holder, so the toilet roll was just stood on the top of the holder! I mentioned this to the girl when checking out, as I didn't want to make a fuss. When in the bathroom, you had to close the curtain otherwise anyone from the building across the street could see in the window, as it was a big window and just had normal glass in it. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfast was okay but they could be doing with filling up the orange juice container when it is empty well before breakfast time is over. The walls must be thin as I heard every resident who walked( and talked) down the corridor past our room at night I also had a rude awakening on the Saturday night at approx 1.45 a.m. when the person in the room next door had their door banged on for the delivery of their room service! The hotel is perfect for golfers as it is right across from the Moray Golf Club. However, I think next time I would prefer to stay in a place which offered me much more in the way of comfort.
On checking out, they had added a dinner to our bill, which we didn't have. The receptionist removed it from the bill , but it shouldn't have been on there in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    68
    66
    39
    32
See reviews for
39
80
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had my daughters wedding reception and evening disco here . The meal and buffet ,was fantastic,not to mention the staff. The staff could not do enough for us,and did all our decorations for the evening. We would very much like to thank all staff and management for making it a memorable day .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 night,we did get a seaview but the room was very old and dated,the walls were painted dark purple and paint over the roof and skirting boards,extention cable hidden behind the bed for the lamps(fire hazzard),old furniture and large old tv.
Bathroom was no better,lighting was so dark you could'nt see in the mirror,no preasure in the shower so had to have baths,toilet was broken.
On the plus side the bed was very comfortable but small and the food was lovely except the sausages at breakfast let it down,cheap processed sausages.
Staff were very nice,dining room was lovely but rest of hotel needs to be updated.
Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the outside it looks lovely - the foyer is old but classical and so is the restaurant but it does need decorating as there are water stains down one of the walls.Breakfast was average - a buffet with the usual hot items but not much other choice. Staff were very helpful and gave great service both in the restaurant and at reception. We arrived at 1.30 and our room was not ready so we left our luggage and went back out returning at 10.30 to find we had been put in one of the most disappointing rooms I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The room number is 238 on the second floor with no lift- do not accept this room if you want to sleep. There is a noise much like a generator turning itself on and off intermittently all night. It sounds as though it is coming from the roof. Pair that with the broken window that will only open if you hammer it up with a great force, the really terrible electric shower that took 10 minutes (I kid you not) to regulate and dribbled rather than showered, the shabby old cheap furniture and the poor paint job and I think you get the picture. As we were really tired and had been to a harrowing funeral we could not face moving that night so stayed until the next day when we complained and were moved to a slightly better room on the first floor. This could be a lovely hotel but they really do need to update the rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Avoid 238 like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good location with beautiful views. Restaurant can turn out some v good food but I have stayed here a number of times and as with breakfast it can be a bit hit and miss.
Rooms have potential but are sad and tired.
Rotten frames of windows - some partially open some don't.
Woeful bathrooms.............from a past era
Wifi only works in lobby if you're lucky.
Friendly staff.
Has potential but requires the investment !

Room Tip: Single Rooms can be pokey Ask for larger room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

"Awful" is the word to describe their rooms on 2nd floor! No lift or porter for guests with heavy luggage.After the pilgrimage to my room on 2nd floor, a room like a prison awaited. It was horribly bare walls with one big side painted in ridiculous maroon. Depressingly dim light bulbs, an archaic TV set with cheap furniture. A doorway on an arm length thick wall to a no-window bathroom, No shampoo, soap, shower gel or hair dryer was there. Breakfast was so basic, self-help orange and grapefruit from cans, orange and apple juices, serials, bacons, sausages, fried eggs, tomatoes, bacons, toasts and tea/coffee. That was the all. Despite their location of the entrance to Spayside, the world famous whisky region, The bar whisky range at the poor was unbelievably poor. We ordered Talisker 10 years old from their ultra short list of drinks but were told that they didn't have everything from the list! I will never go back neither take my clients there.

Room Tip: Never even think about giving it a try!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skye
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel recently with friends as we heard locally that the food was excellent and it was, the four of us had an excellent meal. We certainly weren't disappointed the food was really good. We had ate in several other locations in Lossiemouth that week but this was the best. The dining room and reception area was attractive and pleasant as we're staff, but the real gem is obviously the kitchens and the chef. An excellent choice of menu and wonderful presentation.

I'd recommend this as it was recommended to us for first class food.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stotfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stotfield Hotel

Address: Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stotfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel in Lossiemouth. A great relaxed family friendly atmosphere exists at this hotel and is frequented by many returning guests and locals alike. The breathtaking view from the front of hotel overlooks the Moray Firth and beyond to the Cromarty Firth and to the hills of Caithness. The hotel is directly opposite the ancient Moray Golf Club, and is ideally situated for exploring the Coastal, Castle or Whisky trail, as well as being well situated for visiting the cities of Inverness and Aberdeen and surrounding area. The Stotfield Hotel has recently undergone a refreshing transformation of many of its bedrooms and also the ground floor guest area. However, this historic hotel retains many of its original character and features from 1895, including the fantastic sweeping staircase and period revolving front door. During your stay you can enjoy free access to high speed wireless broadband throughout the hotels public areas, free car parking (limited spaces available, ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel) but most of all comfortable and relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stotfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stotfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.