We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a regular to Mayfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Bed and Breakfast

Mayfield Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfield Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mayfield Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Forres B&B and Inns
Letham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“From a regular to Mayfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at Mayfield B&B on a regular basis and I love it! I look forward to my work trips to Moray as Mayfield is a real home away from home - Sarah is a fantastic hostess and has a very friendly and warm manner. She is helpful and goes out of her way to accommodate individuals needs and requirements. I would highly recommend Sarah's Mayfield B&B to anyone :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrotham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here with family, including youngsters back in November. We were made to feel totally at home. Thank you Sarah for going beyond the call of duty. And to those thinking of staying here, its highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great, large with en suite. One has a rocking horse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is nice B&B with a gracious owner. The rooms were large and well kept with very comfortable beds, and a quiet night's sleep. Sarah was very helpful and served a delicious breakfast. Very convenient for visiting Cawdor Castle. On the down side we found the grounds needing attention. The garden was overgrown, and the flowerpots outside the entrance quite sad. Didn't give a good impression when we first got there, but the B&B itself was clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The hostess, Sarah Hope, is friendly, hospitable, welcoming and accommodating. We were staying in Forres to visit an ill friend, and she provided a supportive and relaxed place for us to return to each evening.
The blue room that we had included a small frig, which Sarah supplied with milk. There was a hot water kettle so we could make tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Each evening we'd come back to a plate of home made cake that Sarah left in our room for us.
The room was cozily decorated and had a sofa and chairs, not just a comfie bed. There was a huge closet. The bathroom was clean and the shower was perfect!
The house itself is a lovely old stone building. Each morning Sarah provided a choice of breakfasts. I had the full English every day! Other choices include oatmeal, or scrambled eggs on toast. There was fresh fruit salad each morning too.
Mayfield is about 1 minute's walk from Forres High Street, across from a beautiful park and woods. It's set back from the road down a drive, so is quiet and private.
We'd highly recommend Mayfield and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a lovely B & B. A grand house that is homey and welcoming along with being graced by it's owner Sarah's presence who is gracious and quite a talented cook. We could only stay one night but were shown a spacious and very prettily decorated bedroom with it's own bath and large closet. Comfy couch and chairs, tv and a tray set up for tea or coffee and the most scrumptious homemade scones you will ever taste. Sarah has another business selling these if she ever chose to diversify. Small fridge with fresh milk, and bath products and large towels in the bathroom. Really everything thoughtfully supplied. We had a picturesque view of the garden from our window. Restful, and quiet stay with a breakfast again provided by Sarah. My husband and I were marveling at the homemade jams and of course those scones! Very, very fresh and clean and we loved being greeted by her two dogs, Max and Darwin and the new kitten. Overall a great value and find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

If I had to think of the best b&b in the UK, then Sarah's Mayfield would be right up there in the top two! And that is UK wide, over years of travel! Sarah makes you feel at home. The rooms are always spotless and the supplies (towels etc) are of exceptional quality. And yet the room prices are low, which means great value for money.

I have great memories of every time we stayed at Sarah's, no matter whether at the Nethercroft cottage or at the Mayfield. In addition, Sarah often recommended great little businesses in Forres and always helped us whenever we needed.

If you are after a nice break, then this is perfect for you. Maybe have dinner at the Cluny Bank hotel and you are set for an unforgettable experience! Top notch!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The tone of your stay is set by owner, Sarah, who is gracious and makes you feel like a personal guest in her home. The room I stayed in was warm and cozy, with a huge closet, hair dryer, coffee pot, tv, free wi fi and my room had a window that overlooked the garden. Although there were several breakfast choices, I couldn't resist the yummy scones. I will definitely stay at Mayfield on my next visit to Forres.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield is a traditional stone built house. (1821) We have 3 rooms for bed and breakfast. 2 king sized en suite and 1 twin en suite. Mayfield is set back from the main road down a little lane, which means that despite being only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Forres, with a variety of local shops and restaurants, we are in a quiet location. Each room has a small fridge, wifi , TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. There are comfortable chairs/sofa in the rooms and plenty of space to relax. We have ample off street parking, and will happily cater for special dietary requirements if you let us know in advance. Breakfast is cooked to order, but whilst you wait there is always fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals and bread to toast to your liking. We are close to many golf courses, and only 23 miles from Castle Stuart where the Scottish Golf Open will return to in 2015. Across the road is the beautiful Grant Park, where in 2014/15 the European Pipe Band Championships will be held. In 2013 there were approximately 135 pipe bands taking part in the championship.Ideally situated for day trips to dolphin watch at Spey Bay, or Chanonry Point, or alternatively visit a few castles on the famous Castle Trail, or distilleries on the Whisky Trail. Or if peace and quiet suits you then Culbin and Roseisle forests are only a few miles from us.We are only 5 miles from the beautiful sea side village of Findhorn and therefor The Findhorn Community. Open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayfield Bed And Breakfast Forres, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.