We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramnee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ramnee Hotel to your Saves list
Ramnee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Have eaten here now on a number of occasions. The food is good and staff are always friendly. Have eaten once in the Restaurant and must admit I prefer to eat in the bar as its more comfortable and is more livelier!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
38
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We held our Company dinner dance here on the 8th Feb 2014 and from the onset, the communication, menu options, staff etc were second to none and the night went without a hitch, waiting & bar staff were superb, food was magnificent and that's coming from a party of 65. So thank you again Ramnee Hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here Saturday 8th February with my wife.
Very dated restaurant,no atmosphere what so ever. Pleasant but slow service possibly due to function elsewhere in the hotel. The food is good bar food at best. Would not rush back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We chose the Ramnee based on its proximity to the homes of the Scottish contingent of the family. What a result!
Everyone from the Night Porter to the cheery chamber maid delivered genuine good humoured rock solid customer service.
The food was, yes I will use the word - sublime. Everything we had requested was provided with panache from Martin the chef and his team who went to great lengths to deliver our rather eclectic menu just as we had requested. We had a fantastic wedding which was everything we had hoped for and more.
We had a small private room for our evening ceremony and for the meal. Staff went to great lengths to decorate the room beautifully, and the service was discreet but excellent.
In case anyone thinks this is an 'over the top' review, I work in a high level position for a large restaurant group, and am not easily impressed - well done Ramnee and all the staff

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were visiting Forres at the end of November beginning of December as we have done in the past but was so disappointed this year particularly with the large bar area, in the past there has been a large open fire blazing but this year the area was really cold and I had to ask them to light the fire (not the open fire as in the past but a small coal fire which would have been better suited in my lounge at home). However on the plus side, our room was large and lovely and warm as always and our en suite was fine with plenty hot water and a fairly powerful shower. The rooms are in need of some redecoration but the Ramnee is a beautiful old building so any redecoration should be kept in the style. I would prefer some 'simple' bar supper menu choices instead of having the same menu for the dining room and the bar. There were no Christmas decorations either which was disappointing at that time of year.

Room Tip: Room 205 is quiet, I have been in that room when there's been a function downstairs and have hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here on business. Firstly, don't expect to get ANY work done as the internet connection is utterly rubbish. It is a lovely old building but the room walls are wafer thin in places, which unless you enjoy your neighbour's snoring is not good for a night's sleep. I found one male member of staff, a southern chap who was quite rude, condescending and conceited – not a pleasant atmosphere created by him at all. The bar area is very gloomy and the décor quite dreary. The room I had was very small at the top of the stairs, where the noise from below in the reception area echoes up. The bathroom is very old fashioned and the shower was just a joke – it hardly dribbles out. In the room there was two doors, one of which would not shut properly and rattled all night (I had to prop it shut with the chair). Sorry but this room was cold too. On a good note, the food is first class and the service from the bar staff very good. On looking through the other comments on Trip Advisor, the responses by the owner to complaints are quite amusing and very defensive, which is possibly part of the problem as before you can improve on a matter you must accept there are failings.

Room Tip: Ask for one NOT near the reception area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Attended a function at the hotel and booked a room to stay overnight with my husband. As I had special dietary requirements I phoned the hotel and discussed this with them (vegtarian with a severe allergy to mushrooms and the main course was mushroom risotto with spinach and goats cheese in a creamy sauce) and was assured that there were always vegetarian options on their menu and something would be sorted out when I booked in. The room for 2 B&B cost £108. Our friends who booked by internet got their room for £100. The room we had was down a dark corridor (the only light I could find was at the other end!) it was tiny and bitterly cold. A dimplex heater had been put in the room as it was obvious the central heating radiator was not working. When I switched the heater on the smell was terrible. After seeing our friends room (much much larger and so much warmer) we complained and were put into another room which was better except for the peeling wallpaper, no heated towel rail etc etc.

I was advised that I could have the mushroom risotto without mushrooms and this was acceptable. However I did foolishly think that something would be put in place of the mushrooms - wrong! What I got was a plate of tasteless over cooked rice with some spinach and a piece of goats cheese on top. It reminded me of the colour and consistency of wallpaper paste. The sorbet with the melon started was good though.

Before leaving we spoke to the receptionist to make our points known - no apology only that the heating issue would be noted and she would speak to chef re the meal.

The staff throughout the hotel were excellent however not likely to return or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book over the internet its cheaper and seemingly you get a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramnee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramnee Hotel

Address: Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramnee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ramnee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramnee Hotel Forres, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramnee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.