We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exterior Willowbarn
Exterior Willowbarn
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014
Kitchen Dining Area
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Forres
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ross_Fami...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful luxury barn conversion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Excellent holiday experience in a very tastefully appointed luxury barn conversion, so many things to do in the local area; house is located 200 yards away from Dava Way, a couple of miles and you are in Forres, Willowbarn is also located very close to the excellent beaches of Findhorn and Burghead. Carlo and Fiona provided every comfort required for our stay, we have stayed in a lot of 5 star holiday cottages but this one was truly that mark. Excellent quality of furnishings and design. Modern, clean and cosy with lots of added extras thrown in.

The affable hosts are truly that, always available to offer advice on the area, keen to offer their guests a lovely holiday experience. Keen cyclists both (ask Carlo for a nice road bike route!) the quality of bikes on offer (well maintained and of very decent quality) was excellent. We will be back! And we never even fished with the supplied rods for trout! Well done Fiona & Carlo. You have created a great holiday experience.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Accommodation and location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is truly a wonderful area to visit and we are so delighted you were able to enjoy so much of it. There is still lots for you to do so it's definitely a return visit, we hope! Thank you for being such wonderful guests.

Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LoisLane4...
Linlithgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing few days at Willowbarn. The property is beautifully presented and well equipped for cooking and the use of the bikes made our holiday all the better. The fishing gear was a great touch and our son was delighted to catch his first trout! Carlo and Fiona were so friendly and helpful, they really made the effort to ensure our holiday was perfect.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Willowbarn and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Connecticut USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank you James for your very positive review. We are so glad you had a good golfing trip and hope you return to play again!

Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gill_Dund...
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn, Stunning Location, Wonderful Hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed by myself at Willowbarn in July because I was doing a course in Forres. And so glad I booked! Fiona and Carlo were perfect hosts - Fiona came round on my first evening with flowers and milk (wow!) and Carlo drew me a map to a local beauty spot....nothing seemed too much bother for them, a truly special couple.

And that is all before I mention the barn itself. Beautifully finished, clean, everything you need for a great stay, and in a stunning location. (Must admit to wanting to move there and stay for ever!)

Can absolutely recommend a stay here - hope to go back on holiday at some point and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and the warm hosts
Liked least: problems with wifi, but sure Carlo would have fixed it had I been overy concerned!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate our comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Willowbarn for a relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Phil B
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific holiday let, friendly, spacious, beautifully furnished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great place. Eight of us stayed for a week. Its clean, thoughtfully furnished to an excellent standard. Full kitchen meant catering for large numbers was easy. There's even a dining table for 8 people comfortably. Loads of outdoor space, including 2 ponds for fishing. You are the only let in the 12 acres, so a real sense of freedom. Forres is a couple of miles away, with Tesco's so shopping was easy. Plenty of parking, outdoor seating and large barbeque. We had a barbie for 22 with ease.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The main living area was great
Liked least: Wifi was a little intermittent, but it did work most of the time.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2013
We were delighted that you and your lovely family enjoyed their stay at Willowbarn. It is a perfect place for families to have fun and relax! I hope we are able to welcome you all back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mariemcw
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Willowbarn is an amazing place and needs to be seen to be fully appreciated. The location is just superb, so peaceful and tranquil. There is plenty of parking there and an outside seating area if you're lucky enough with the weather. There are also bikes to use although we didn't get a chance to get out on them unfortunately. Inside it is modern, extremely comfortable and can easily sleep 6. Pets are welcome there too, the owners have 2 gorgeous dogs themselves. It has good wi-fi connection but it's nice just to switch off as it is so relaxing there. The barn itself is so light and spacious with absolutely everything you require (even a hairdryer) and I'm sure that even if you had forgotten something, the owners Carlo and Fiona would be on hand to sort you out! They really have thought of everything and cannot do enough to ensure your stay is as perfect as can be. They are amazing hosts and super people. We got married there a week ago and it was absolutely thanks to them that it was such an amazing day - we are so lucky that they allowed us to use their fabulous place for the day. We loved our time there and it will always hold very special memories - we just can't wait to go back again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, it is so peaceful and relaxing
Liked least: Having to leave :-(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so delighted that we were able to be a small part of your very special day; for us it was a real privilege that you chose our garden to be married in, as we love to share our garden with our guests.
We are looking forward to seeing your photographs of your special day!
We are sure we will meet you all again.......
Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Venus S
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A perfect home for our Speyside visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have wonderful memories of Willowbarn Rafford and of hosts, Carlo and Fiona for being so kind and welcoming.

The barn is a newly renovated upstairs space situated in very pretty countryside. It’s everything the website says it is – beautiful, spacious and contemporary!

We began every day with our own personal wake-up call from the resident pheasant, visited nearby favourite Whisky distilleries and castles, walked the breathtaking Findhorn bay, enjoyed shopping in the historical burgh of Forres, and ended every day back at the barn, with a hot bath under the stars! Needless to say, we were exhausted and exhilarated from having had such a great time exploring all the Scottish offerings that Willowbarn is so favourably situated.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Carlo and Fiona are lovely people and offer such a great space in the countryside.
Liked least: We stayed for too short a time! We didn't have a chance to ride the bikes that Carlo fitted to us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
We loved having you as our guests at Willowbarn and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do hope that if you ever return to Bonny Scotland we will be able to welcome you again - I'm sure there are a few distilleries you have yet to conquer!
Thank you for your wonderful comments, they are much appreciated.

Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$151
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Carlo M
447740683769
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing