We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential there but a bit of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knockomie Hotel to your Saves list
Knockomie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grantown Rd, Forres IV36 2SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Potential there but a bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is a little odd in some respects. It has a lovely building and the potential to provide a really quality feel for guests, but it just doesn’t quite make it. Mainly little things let it down a bit. Fairly unhelpful about suggestion as where to park when we arrived. Menu a bit more like a pub than a 4 star hotel, and the level of service reflects this. (Onion rings are fine for pub food!) Loudish rock music from local radio over breakfast does not fit the ambience of a Scottish country house (and I am a big rock fan!), and the impression was that it was for the entertainment of the young staff, rather than the guests. Other than a very small premises with an elderly owner, this is the only hotel on our 2 week stay around Scotland where they dumped the cases unceremoniously beside the car and went back into the hotel, leaving us to pack big heavy cases into the car ourselves. Impression is that owners abdicate things to youngsters who have not quite got the hang of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    42
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
19
103
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The bedrooms were nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. Other than that the bathroom was boringly average. The dining room staff seemed a little disorganised with the evening meal service and we had to wait while they cleared and laid a table for breakfast. The menu looked interesting and the food was well presented on the plate but just lacked flavour to go with that. As for the location, we went to find the garden - as it was so nicely sign-posted. It was neglected and overgrown, the years that it must have taken to develop a beautiful stately garden like that and it's just been left to go to waste, criminal! There are the remains of what would have been a fantastic kitchen garden which any chef should be proud to have. Yassmin did not even raise her head or say goodbye when we took the key back. The hotel and food are overrated and over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I can't recommend Knockomie enough! They hosted us for my 40th birthday. Johnnie and Yassmin, the managers at Knockomie, made sure everything went as smooth as a Benromach whisky. They made sure we had everything covered: whisky tours, fly fishing, clay pigeon shooting, excellent food from Knockomie, and loads to drink. Seriously, this place should not be missed. Forget that, you need to arrange a trip up there just to stay at Knockomie. Thank you from my nine good buddies and me for the best guy trip ever!

Room Tip: My brother and I stayed in a corner room but all the rooms were great from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

we love this hotel we got married here and it was first class it si managed to perfection and the food is well out of this world very romantic feel to it and the staff are simply brillant at there jobs all in all you must go but for us a big thank you to the hotel for the happiest day of our lives thank you
moyra smart

Room Tip: go for back rooms beuatuiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed for a few days at this very nice hotel
1st impressions were very good the staff were warm and welcoming the rooms all have there own character
The one we were put in was not particularly big big was we'll fitting out with a pai of French doors opening into the well manicured lawn there was also a large modern bath including a powerful shower within the wet room
We dined at the hotel both evenings we stayed the menu was not particularly varied however the quality and presentation was excellent,I would recommend the seafood the taste was lovely
Throughout our stay the staff were happy to help at all times the only down side was at times they were not around the bar area when I needed a drink that said as the bar was small and not particularly busy there was probably no need to have someone in attendance at all times
The hotel is a typical country house affair although still only about 10-15mins from Forres town centre
I would defiantly go back the prices were reasonable a good place to relax and kickback

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Thanks to everyone at The Knockomie who made our wedding night so special on Saturday 13th April 2013. Everyone was incredibly helpful and the girl who headed the reception and booking gave a first class service.
My wife and I were delighted to be offered breakfast in bed and although we declined the offer, it was very nice to be offered. Breakfast was excellent, I hasten to add and all the staff are to be congratulated on their professionalism and dedication to provide an excellent service.

Room Tip: Loved the honeymoon suite - it was comfortable and had a lovely bathroom. The bed was absolutely bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013. The hotel was very easy to find and from the outside looks beautiful. Also, the surrounding area is idillic. Inside, it is clean and easy to find your way about. The rooms are spacious and the furniture in our room had definitely seen better days. There was a double bed, which for me was small in length. The bathroom, while clean, is carpeted and really needs freshened - it's very old fashioned. However, there is a separate bath and shower which were excellent. The bath filled with piping hot water within minutes and the shower despite being mounted quite low was a power shower. The staff are courteous and polite but perhaps not as friendly as I have experienced. On the whole the food was good, the breakfast was excellent as was our dinner on the second night. I had the haddock on the first night which was quite tasteless. Overall I enjoyed my stay. I would go back as the positives far outweighed any slight issues.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Address: Grantown Rd, Forres IV36 2SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockomie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.