We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knockomie Hotel to your Saves list
Knockomie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grantown Rd, Forres IV36 2SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Myvatn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely hotel tucked away about 5 minutes from the centre of the town of Forres. Very nicely appointed with interesting public rooms and loads of books and games to occupy anyone staying in on a cold Scottish winter day. The room I had was large and comfortable with a large flat panel TV and a big bathroom. The restaurant was very good with well cooked, tasty food and despite eating there on an evening with a large function taking place elsewhere in the building, the service was very good indeed. Breakfast was excellent too. The management was friendly and they went out of their way to accomodate my late return one night. The front bar particularly was a lovely place to spend time. A word of warning, my Sat Nav sold me down the river when using the postcode to locate the hotel. However, it is easy to find. Drive into Forres from the Inverness area, at the roundabout just after the Peugeot garage turn right. Drive for about a mile going straight on at the two roundabouts and very shortly after the second roundabout turn right (past the gatehouse) down the hotel driveway and into the car park. It is a lovely spot, far enough off the road to be really quiet.

Room Tip: I got a good 'out of season' deal on an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    45
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
110
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed with my husband in December 2012. It was lovely and romantic - delicious food, warm welcome, good location. We had a very enjoyable meal and breakfasts both days. Friendly helpful and personable staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed on the 16th of Feb and had the valantines meal. We found it to be very comforatable, homely and welcoming.

We have stayed there before and we recognised Johnny, the manager who we had met in a previous hotel in Oban. They are such good hosts ad the owner seemed very friendly too. The young lady I spoke to at reception when I paid the bill was very friendly too, she explained that they take time to talk to the guests and find out what they like.

The food was excellent and the sheer cosiness of the place made our night.

We loved the cat! That makes all the difference, so homely.

I can not fault this hotel or the staff and will be returning again at some point.
Karen and Barry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had 3 lovely nights at the Knockomie. The room was very spacious. The food was amazing and the welcome couldn't have been warmer. Both the owners and staff really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, providing tourist information and lending me glasses to read the menu!
The bar was cosy and friendly.
This hotel has struck a perfect balance. Great food and accommodation but comfortable and not stuffy.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault our room. Didn't see any of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent 3 fantastic nights at knockomie. 2-5 feb 2013, really enjoyed breakfasts and both evening meals we had. Johnnie and John were amazing hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. We also had our dog with us and she had a fantastic time and made herself bery much at home in the Malt Library. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Thank you for lovely weekend break 1st and 2nd feb 2013 spent with husband as a welcome break for our anniversary. Superlatives abound for friendly and professional welcome from Johnnie. Delightful and traditional highland home, warm welcoming fires and large bedrooms. The evening meal was excellent one of the best meals we have had in recent times and a very imaginative and skilled young chef is one to keep! All was brilliant even weather on Saturday allowed us to cycle in Culbin Forrest,. Only disappointment was Scotland's rugby result but the drink by fire helped ease the pain! l We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

spend saturday night 2nd feb 13,best service that i,ve had,evening meal was out of this world keep a hold of chef, and staff were great will be going back+ dog friendly ,thanks to all the staff, room,s were large,comfy bed even the dog slept the whole night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Address: Grantown Rd, Forres IV36 2SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockomie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.