We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality over quantity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brodie Countryfare Restaurant

Brodie Countryfare Restaurant
Off A96 | at Brodie, Forres, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 restaurants in Forres
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quality over quantity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Brodie country fare was a lovely surprise, we stopped for a coffee on our way to Inverness and were really glad that we did

The restaurant is lovely, very busy which is usually a good indicator of the quality. Lots of home bakes and a huge selection of meals available. Lots of space inside for people in wheelchairs and children's buggies alike.

The store itself was a real surprise, lots of high quality goods, loads of unusual bits for the home and great children's toy dept, again not large but really beautiful traditional items. A great selection of goods was available to buy in the food hall, lots of unusual chutneys, pickles,jams etc

The great clothing dept, Armani, gant, hunter,tommy hilfiger etc is full of gorgeous things. Some very expensive items but equally there were sale items too

I would definitely always make it a point to stop and have a look round and enjoy something to eat. Also a great place to stop and let the dog out for a wander on a long drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    37
    29
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good window shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped at Brodie Country Fayre today to look for a jacket for me. The goods at Brodie are lovely to look at but, on the whole, they are ridiculously expensive and unrealistic in the current economic climate. £145 or £260 for a jacket is ludicrous. However they did have specific candles I have been looking everywhere for.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not so Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Brodie this year but we are less likely to go back after a recent experience. We ordered an omelette and soup. It was thoughtful of them to delay serving the soup until the omelette was ready. But when the soup arrived it came with a slice of rock hard bread. Trying to cut corners like this does not impress and we will not be going back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrodieCF, Manager at Brodie Countryfare Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on your visit to Brodie Countryfare. I would firstly like to say how sorry I was to hear that you were not happy with your order from our Restaurant. The only thing we can think of is that your soup was put aside until your omlette was ready causing the bread to harden on the warmed plate. This was an unfortunate error on our part and I must apologise for this. If you had mentioned it at the time it would have immediatley been replaced with fresh bread.
I would like to add that at no time and under no circumstances do we cut corners either in our shop or Restaurant. Our bread comes from the award winning local baker Harry Gow and is freshly delivered to Brodie on a daily basis. We pride ourselves in offering fresh products of the highest quality. We do hope that you enjoyed your soup and omelette and the rest of your shopping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top Marks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been visiting Brodie Countryfare quite a lot recently after moving house. We have found the restaurant to be consistently of good quality and of good value for money. There is plenty to choose from on the menu. We particularly enjoy the veggie/lentil burger with chips, relish and salad. Our son loves the macaroni. We have found the staff to be happy to cater for different combinations that weren't on the menu. Hygiene levels are good and the staff are helpful. The toilet facilities are excellent including the disabled toilets. In fact the best toilet facilities we have seen in a long time. There is a small play area beside the restaurant that is suitable for younger children. There is a great selection of gifts and food products available to purchase. We enjoy the Mackays jam selections and the Harry Gow bakery products. Our seven year old son loves the toy shop where there is a great range of pocket money toys such as marbles, wooden toys, etc. Our only small criticism is that the staff could be a bit more patient at the chocolate counter. Twice I have been hurried by the staff in spite of there being no one else but me at the counter. Being asked over and over again nearly every time I select a chocolate 'is that everything' can be a bit hurrying. However, Brodie Countryfare is a great eating and shopping experience. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a rainy day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited here last year for the first time and loved it. A wonderful shop, full of lovely items, a little pricey but still a nice shopping experience. We returned again this year but were slightly disappointed with the shop. It just seemed to carry pretty much the same stock as last year, the fashions were slightly different of course, but the homewares were pretty similar.

The restaurant has a wide selection of sandwiches and hot meals. My son had the kid's meal deal which was extremely good value. I think the best bit of the restaurant is the cake selection, lots to choose from and all tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brodie Countryfare Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brodie Countryfare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brodie Countryfare Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.