We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIG WAM BAMS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Grange Campsite & Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Grange Campsite & Wigwams
Save
You added East Grange Campsite & Wigwams to your Saves list
East Grange Farm, Forres IV362UD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WIG WAM BAMS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. We were very lucky with the weather but were still able to appreciate be benefits of this glamping scene at our now more advanced years. Place was spotless, although the door lock was a bit hit or miss, with heating, a fridge and a comfy bed!!! What else do you need? Toilet and shower block was a short walk away, clean and perfectly fine. We went for a meal at the Loft on the first night and were really impressed with the quality of food and friendly service. No complaints and, although on this occasion we weren't able to do any of the activities offered, it's a place we feel the grandchildren might enjoy maybe sometime in future.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers. Will look into the door lock...
Look forward to seeing you again with your grandchildren.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Myself my partner and 5 year old child stayed here for 1 night. The wigwam was bigger than expected and really clean. The place itself is brilliant for kids as there is lots to do. My only complaint is the woman holding and arranging all the activities - she was quite sullen and not very customer friendly. She needs to work on her customer service. I am aware of other guests having had the same experience with her. We will definately be back though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
I also appreciate your honesty about the reception staff and will ensure that this is dealt with.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just back after a 3 night stay with my husband and daughter (9yrs) this is the first time we have chosen to stay in the UK for our holidays..........so glad we did! The area is beautiful, with loads to see and do. Elgin close by for supplies/shopping etc. Findhorn beach just beautiful with a few great restaurants. We were spoiled at the wigwam site as we were only one of 2 wigwams occupied, which made it very tranquil! Hired a fire pit for 3 nights and did the classic toasting marshmallows in the evening! Good facilities in the bothy, communal cooking/eating area. 3 showers, 3 toilets, which in my opinion, could have been a bit cleaner.(the devil is in he detail!). We ate twice in the bistro in the evenings and had breakfast rolls twice. Food was great quality and value, staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of on site facilities available, but not enough hours in the day!
This was our first experience of staying in a wigwam, but certainly won't be our last! The accommodation is very compact, a few hooks inside for towels, jackets etc would have been very welcome. And some prior notification of the proximity of the railway line wouldn't have gone amiss! Overall, we had a great time and would certainly recommend to other travellers. We were very lucky with our weather......which was the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Nothing specific, we were right at the back, nearest the train line, but it did not spoil our sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
Other comments greatly appreciated and we are on the case. Thank you.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the end of June here. On the day of our arrival the weather was truly dreadful with strong winds and heavy rain. After calling into reception i was taken to our Wigwam, unfortunately due to the rain and the wind direction water was getting in under the door leaving a small puddle inside. Our host went to get a mop to try to clear it but such was the weather that it had no effect. I was asked if i minded being moved somewhere else, which i didn't, expecting to be put in another wigwam, but no we were upgraded to a lodge at no extra cost!! Fantastic, with cooker , microwave, toilet and shower and separate bedroom, none of which would have been in the wigwam, the kids loved it, we loved it!! The kids really enjoyed the play area, my daughter especially liked the bikes. We had a great time exploring the area and enjoyed our holiday, made all the more better by the unexpected upgrade, more than kind. So thank you, thank you, thank you East Grange Farm. 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to East Grange this weekend and loved it. We stayed in one of the WigWams and found it very comfortable, we had a fire-pit both nights which was great. The Loft Bistro on site was excellent, the food was way beyond what we would expect from a campsite, we ate dinner here on Friday and breakfast on Saturday and both were excellent, really high quality food!

On Saturday we did Quad Biking trek, 30 minutes which my bf really enjoyed I was a bit scared but the instructor/owner was very nice and showed me an easier route to make it really enjoyable. We also did 1hr of archery which we loved and the staff were very friendly!

The site is near Findhorn Marina where we went today to finish our holiday and see the dolphins and luckily we seen 12 so that finished our holiday off v. nicely!

I would def. go back to this site and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The smallest wigwams looked very little (but comfortable enough) so if your tall then I would go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night on our way further north and it was pretty much what I expected.....camping facilities but with better protection from the elements in a wooden wigwam.

We were upgraded to a larger wigwam which I was glad about as the smaller ones look much older and a bit decrepit compared to the larger ones (although I didn't see inside).

Our cabin had a heater, toaster, fridge & kettle and you have a huge sleeping area for two people. We ordered a fire pit and spent most of the evening sitting on the deck enjoying the peace & quiet.

The toilets and showers are very clean and the shared kitchen seemed well kitted out.

We had dinner in the bistro and I was surprised at the variety on the menu. Food was nice and the service was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in July with our dogs. I feel that I must express to you our joy with our stay. The accommodation was ideal, (wigwam as described) clean with perfect amenities and lovely views. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly we particularly enjoyed having a laugh with the your bar/restaurant staff. The food was excellent a very high standard. The dogs were welcomed which is like a breath of fresh air and we enjoyed activities that they had too offer. We will definitely be back and bring lots of friends too try all your different types of accommodation. Also the Farm is lovely and we enjoyed the long walks wi our dogs.
Best in area.

Room Tip: These types of holidays are what you make them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgrange, General Manager at East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to have happy customers.
Glad that the dogs got to enjoy a walk too.
Hope that we have the chance to welcome you again to East Grange.
Many thanks
Victoria and all at The Loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Grange Campsite & Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Grange Campsite & Wigwams

Address: East Grange Farm, Forres IV362UD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Forres
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Grange offers a selection of glamping/camping accommodation options. Wigwamas offer an all year round glamping experience. Wigwams are heated and have electricity, fridge, kettle and toaster. Camping is also available. There is a restaurant and bar on site and activities for all ages available on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Grange Campsite & Wigwams Forres, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Grange Campsite & Wigwams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.