We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place, but something has changed in presentation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Rosslyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Original Rosslyn Hotel to your Saves list
The Original Rosslyn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Roslin EH25 9LE , Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslin B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A lovely place, but something has changed in presentation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Hotel is still warm and cosy, but something has altered in the staff or in the ownership of this lovely old hotel.
We have eaten here several times and always had a great experience in both dining and in soaking up the atmosphere. Last week we phoned to check they were still serving lunch on Sunday, and could we still bring our well behaved dog with us , which we were told we could - no problem.

We arrived, at the quietest time we could think of - quite prepared to leave our dog in the car if the lounge bar was busy. However after driving 50 miles and on entering an unusually empty lounge bar, where we have always been before, we were told now that anyone with dogs had to sit in the public bar. This was a normal 'mens' drinking public bar, with a large TV, bar stools, a few low tables and chairs almost all of which were taken, as the sport channel was on.
This Hotel also has a conservatory eating area and a formal restaurant, all of which were also open on Sunday. If the lounge had been the only one in the hotel, of course we would have understood, but this seems to have been an arbitory decision off the cuff. They lost out on a good sale on Sunday and to many we have recommended this place to over the years - those with dogs and those without. It is such a shame as it was a lovely place to go, and we love Rosslyn Church. I even phoned the following week, but got the same stock answer.
Anyway it is still a nice place to go, but the atmosphere and its friendly country pub feel seems to have gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We went to this hotel with the express purpose of visiting the incredible Rosslyn Chapel, but the warmth and friendliness of the owners and staff, the good food and the comfortable, clean accomodation added so much to the experience.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a bath rather than just a shower (and you'll probably get a four-poster bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I only had lunch here so cannot comment on the accomodations - however if the food and service was anything to go by, I would stay here in the future.

Stopped off here with family and friends on Sunday for lunch (and old times sake since our wedding reception was here 19 years ago) Delighted to find it going strong; roaring fire in the hearth, comfy armchairs and not too chilly in the conservatory either despite the frost outside. We enjoyed a 3 course lunch for 15.95 each and found the wine selection to be quite good too. Nicely presented and extremely tasty food. It's on the main street just around the corner from the Roslin Chapel and not far from a good walk in Roslin Glen. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at this wonderful hotel on a cold Friday morning and from the moment we walked in it was bliss. The decor is very homely and the staff are extremely attentive and genuinely nice. We have visited many hotels over the years and this has become out favorite. Our room was lovely as well as all the food we ordered. We have now made it a regular getaway and will be back soon. Thank you to you all for making our weekend one to remember. We will see you all very soon indeed. Simon & Joanna.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I must say I am shocked at some of these reviews! I stayed here with my wife and had a fantastic stay!
Warm welcome and great village pub filled with character! We had dinner in the grail restaurant on our first stay and we could not fault the meal, however it was slightly quiet after dinner we adjourned to the Lounge bar to the comfy seating by the fire and this was delightful. We enjoyed the atmosphere in there so much we dined in it the following evening. The food is not way michelin star but then it not priced as if it is nor does not cliam to be. It is traditional country pub fare to a high standard.
Our room was clean and fresh, we did not go for a four poster room due the extra £25 but in all honesty I did end up slightly regreting that but then it has given me an excuse to return again!
All the staff were delightful and helpful especially the young girl that served us in the Lounge bar.
A great taste of a traditional british inn!

Room Tip: Four poster suite!! .............
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Where to start? The pictures on the website are beautiful but when you arrive you are in for a surprise. They say Robert Burns stayed here several times and I don't think they have updated since he was there.
Guest services are non-existant. We needed help with our bags and were told that we would have to get them into the hotel - from parking lot around the corner - and they would "see if they could find someone" to take them up 2 flights of stairs. The only employee we could find was the lady bartender in the pub when we couldn't figure out how to turn on the antiquated television in our room. She sent a young man up while we were out and he said it was fine but didn't tell us what he did to get it working. We had to walk the 2 flights of stairs again to find him. No one is ever near the front desk.
The wi-fi that they advertise was not working. The young man said he was trying to fix it. Consequently, I couldn't check into my flight online and by the time I got to the airport I had been bumped from my flight from Amsterdam to Atlanta - the last flight to the States that day.
The room had not been dusted in several years aparently and the drapes were hanging with several drapery hooks missing.
All in all, a VERY DISAPPOINTING visit although we did eat in the pub adjoining the hotel and the food was very tasty and generous helpings.

Room Tip: they probably don't have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked online, and this was the only hotel or B&B that asked for full payment up front. It was also the most expensive we stayed in, and was our leas favorite. The beds and bed linens were great, as is the attached pub; the bathroom was updated and clean; but the room was small and very dated looking. There are many stairs to get to the room, and the halls are narrow and dingy-looking. There was NO WI-FI, despite the fact that they advertise they have it. (They said it was "down", but it never came back up in 24 hours.) We had trouble with our TV, and had to hunt someone down to help us (which is quite a trek.) The location is great: close to Rosslyn Chapel, and close to the Edinburgh Airport, but we would look for something else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask how large the room is and how the beds are arranged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Original Rosslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Rosslyn Hotel

Address: Main Street, Roslin EH25 9LE , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Roslin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Original Rosslyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Original Rosslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Rosslyn Hotel Roslin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Rosslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.