We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Ceres Guest House

Mount Ceres Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mount Ceres Guest House to your Saves list
Mount Ceres Guest House
3 Lower Broomieknowe, Lasswade EH18 1LW, Scotland   |  
Ranked #1 of 6 Lasswade B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding B&B.
Lovely grounds and big cheery rooms. Elegant breakfast room.
Nice breakfast.
Wonderful and helpful owner who has thought of and provided everything. Upscale bed, bedding and ensuite bathroom (like a 5 star hotel).
Close walk to direct bus into Edinburgh.
You must stay here. Excellent value.
Chris & Darrell (Canada)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry,
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful, quiet residential location with amazing gardens. Ruth made us welcome and looked after us so well. Rooms were spacious and well equipt with quality furniture and linen. Breakfast was well cooked with a great choice, something for everyone. Edinburgh was just a bus ride away so no driving or parking worries. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here in early May in the Melville Room. The guest house is in a lovely quiet location but close to Edinburgh, the ring road and is only a couple of miles from Straiton Park where you can find Ikea, M&S, Sainsburys etc. There is private parking and the house itself is wonderful. Clean and spacious rooms with excellent on-suite, large TV and just about anything else you could want. Ruth was lovely, very welcoming and accommodating. She provided us with an excellent breakfast and we were very fortunate with the weather and enjoyed our breakfast in the conservatory looking out over the beautiful gardens. Couldn't rate this higher and we are looking forward to making a return to Mount Ceres later this year. Don't hesitate to book here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormstown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were greeted by a wonderful warm lady who showed us to beautiful rooms in this manor type home. So impressed by all the work they have done to make us welcome and comfortable. We were in the Melville room overlooking the gardens which will be quite spectular in summer. A warm bed and a quiet area for a good night's rest. We enjoyed the delicious filling "Scottish breakfast" to start our day. A wonderful start to our tour in Scotland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Mount Ceres (part business trip/part leisure), in the Dalhousie room, which was absolutely spotless as was the whole of the house (dust would have been terrified to enter!). The breakfast was all you could wish for - fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, smoothies, juice, VERY full Scottish breakfast, toast, tea, coffee. You would not need to worry about forgetting anything as Ruth had made sure everything was to hand and with no extra charge. She even provided bath robes and slippers. The bus stop is only five minutes away with a regular service into Edinburgh and there are a few places nearby for meals. Ruth made us most welcome and her hospitality was second to none. It was like staying with a very dear friend/relative - a really lovely lady. We would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This wonderful house was part of a pre-reserved tour around Scotland. This was our last guest house and as far as i am concerned, the most beautiful. The owner was amazing and such a warm person. I actually hugged her as we left, as if I was leaving a much-loved relative.
The room was so luxurious, we could hardly believe that this was our room. The bed was fantastic and everything was very clean.
The breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room was just amazing. Sometimes when you stay in hotels, one notices that no one is talking to each other. Well not at this guest house, Ruth gets everyone talking to each other, which is an enriching experience.
Its a real gem and do not hesitate to stay here. You'll love it, just as much as I have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely stay. Would love to see the Garden in summer. Super Scottish breakfast, lovely room and luxury bathroom. What a treat to have the bed warmed when we got back after dinner. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Ceres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Ceres Guest House

Address: 3 Lower Broomieknowe, Lasswade EH18 1LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Lasswade
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lasswade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mount Ceres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Ceres Guest House Lasswade, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Ceres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.