We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel--highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington Hotel

Burlington Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiting Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington Hotel
Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel--highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June. The hotel is in a beautiful location and was easy to get to by bus. We stayed in a very spacious room on the 3rd floor and loved it. We thought that the breakfasts were quite tasty and filling, contrary to the review below. The owners were very friendly and helpful and have an adorable dog, Holly. It was a relaxing and great stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TAYSIDE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Did not do justice to true Scottish Food. Limited choice at breakfast, no kippers,no black pudding or haggis pudding no oatcakes not the best of a full Scottish Breakfast. Room comfortable but a bit cluttered stayed three nights and towels never changed even though I put towels in bath as instructed. It uses the term hotel loosely as it only has a restricted licence and most times if no diners then no bar available. I would describe the bed & breakfast price a bit on the expensive side for what you actually got.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

A good stay at the Burlington. The room was spacious and comfortable with nice views out to Whiting Bay. It is a great place to stay to explore the island which is beautiful.

Breakfast was nice, friendly hosts and very friendly labrador! We had dinner at the hotel one evening which was tasty and they were accomodating to vegetarians.

Can recommend a walk up Goat Fell for good views - the local village shop do packed lunches.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

stayed aug 5-12 the most relaxing holiday i have ever had,good food,sea views,terrific service.all the staff are pleasant and helpfull.everything is faultless.

  • Liked — the total relaxed atmosphere.
  • Disliked — sorry cannot fault it.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Had a very nice two night stay at the Burlington hotel last week. It is a lovely hotel just across the road from the beach. Had a very large room with sitting area on the top floor overlooking the bay. Food was very good, ate here both nights would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Burlington Hotel for two nights in September. It was a very pleasant stay.
Arran is an exceptionally beautiful island and the hotel is in an excellent location with great vievs over Whiting Bay. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the service was great. Our room was tastefully furnished and decorated and was of a decent size. The accommodation was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very good. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but if we went there again we probably would. The menu looked promising and there didn't seem to be many restaurants in Whiting Bay.
We recommend Burlington Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2005

We loved it here. Peaceful and relaxing. Were made very welcome, including our dog. Food is exceptional. Special meals were prepared for one member of our party who has special dietary needs. The beach is just across the road. Would recommend strongly.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burlington Hotel to your Saves list