We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, a home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington Hotel

Burlington Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiting Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington Hotel
Save
You added Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend, a home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and i are just home from a lovely weekend. This is defintely a wee home from home and we were made to feel very welcome. John makesthe best scrambled eggs i've ever tasted and couldnt do enough to help us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

John and Doreen make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. We were treated like old friends upon our arrival and were made to feel that way throughout our stay. From the best places to walk to the best places to eat, they were a mine of useful information - I am already missing John's breakfast conversations !
Their hotel may not be the best and yes it could do with some redecoration....but that's not the point....the welcome is warm, the service is good and where else can you go when the owners offer up their own binoculars, walking sticks or whatever they can to give you that wonderful Scottish welcome...enjoy the break ! And the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room...you can't beat the sound of the sea lapping against the shore whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

John and Doreen are the perfect hosts. They are so knowlegeble about the island and the area, you can count on getting good advice as what to do and see. We spent evenings with John in the lounge talking and watching football. What fun. He is a wealth of knowledge. The setting is peaceful and comfortable. Room and bath were large and we had a view out over the water. If you're looking to get away for some relaxation and peace and quiet. This is it.

Room Tip: Get the front room with the view. Nice view and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a beautiful hote in a lovely position right opposite the beach but I think it has seen better times. John and Doreen were exceptional good hosts and the breakfast was excellent but the room was tired and needed updating. However we were the only guests for most of our stay and the peace and tranquility was all we needed.

Room Tip: In the front overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle/tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Having just returned from The Burlington in Whiting Bay, Isle of Arran I must say this is one of the nicest short beaks we have had. The hotel is excellent, scottish breakfasts to die for, rooms spotless, and John and Doreen just cannot do enough for you. They were just the perfect hosts. The views from our rooms were quite something. I have never been to Arran before and cannot believe how lucky we were to book in at the Burlington. Whiting Bay is the perfect location for peace and escaping the hustle and bustle of town life. This is a first class hotel.

The Trafalgar Resturant is also a must. The menu is fantastic and the food cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The fourth time we stayed with John & Doreen, the fourth time we enjoyed a comfortable night, clean & spacious room, & excellent breakfast.
If you're lucky (we always are) try Johns home baked bread.
Walkers can rely on good advice.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The perfect spot to relax with your fantastic hosts, John and Doreen, who are always available with suggestions as to where to visit and where to dine. The hotel is spacious, clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are perfect and nowhere on the Island is more than 45 minutes drive away. Whiting Bay is a peaceful spot yet only 10-15 minutes from the ferry in Brodick. Whether you want a quiet break seeing the island by car or a more invigorating walking holiday, this place is ideal and you will be assured of a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.