We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COAST

COAST
Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PR, Scotland
01770 700308
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited this place twice during our week in Arran. Both times we were very happy with the food and the service. The location is fantastic being right on the waters edge. The staff are friendly and the place has a lovely atmosphere. There is a range of food choices including tea coffes and cakes.The prices are reasonable and I would happily recommend it to fellow travellers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    55
    9
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service value and vue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was over visiting my 87 year old Mum who lives on the island.She is pretty much house bound so it is a treat to go over from Corrie to Whiting Bay, The staff at Coast are always welcoming and helpful - whether you are only in for a coffee and home made baking or in for lunch ( have not tried evening meal, however menu looks awesome)-they attend to your every needs. The food is always freshly prepared and homely and great value for money. We were fortunate that it was a dry day and sat out overlooking the sea. If you are on Arran for a day,weekend or longer -Coast is an absolute must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Coast became our first choice for breakfast while on Arran. We were pretty much regulars by the end of the holiday and were treated like friends. Square sausage and black pudding made it the perfect place to start the day

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice wee place very popular. Lovely location and friendly service. Also cater for special events. :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Duper Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Mark and Russell have created a wonderful little haven of happiness and tranquility in
Whiting Bay - fantastic, happy service, great food, wonderful views, everything you could ask for.
Everything is served with a genuine smile. We love Coast :) Seonad, Bash, Rosemary and Pups

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COAST also viewed

Whiting Bay, Isle of Arran
Lochranza, Isle of Arran
 
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
Machrie, Isle of Arran
 

Been to COAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COAST, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.