We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Lochranza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site
Save
You added Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site to your Saves list
Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay in Lochranza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

lovely campsite, with good facilities including laundry, but also with a lounge (kettle, microwave, sofas, power for charging phones, information about the locality). Very friendly and welcoming. we could not have done better. spectacular scenery, and a really delicious meal at the restaurant just outside the campsite (the Stag). We were cycling, and it was wonderful. The distillery (400 m away) runs tours and has a good shop and cafe. Its a lovely place.

Room Tip: lots of wind coming off the hills, have a tent which can cope with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just back from a great 6 night stay at Lochranza Camp site (27Jul-2Aug). We are a N Irish family of 4 (2 boys 12 & 14yrs) with 2 berth camper van and family tent. First time visit to Arran (jaw-dropping scenery). Completely flat dominantly grassed camp set at foot of beautiful glen on the road to the Lochranza shore( 5 mins to Kintyre ferry). Met by very pleasant and attentive hosts (Kathy & Nigel). Gave us choice of a few hook-up pitches and let us pick. Site pleasantly full yet felt roomy and atmosphere was peaceful and relaxed. Nice age mix of UK and European campers. Thought everyone was waving at us but soon discovered they were testing kung fu swings on the dreaded midge. Not long before we slapped on the Avon Skin so Soft (recommended). Only way to cope is mind over midge and accept they are every bit as native to Scotland as the mountains and the flat sausages. Scored many brownie points from my boys when they could stroll from the tent door on to a great wee golf course (complete with roaming herd of red deer). Wife very pleased with warm showers and clean loos (free hair dryer an added plus). Good few sinks with 24hr hot water for dishes. Great place to meet fellow travellers and chat. Another great feature of the site was the brilliant resources (maps, info and tips) displayed in the Campers' Room. Obviously owners who know visitors/campers needs. WiFi very reasonable charge (compared to some other sites) and reception but can drop out when many are on line. Heartily recommend bike trip over to Skipness on Kintyre (brilliant wee fish restaurant/cafe serving good range of local produce).Weather mostly sunny (fantastic sunsets) but watch out for tendency for katabatic winds spilling off the surrounding hills (had to run to the aid of a few wannabe kite-tents) but that's part of the outdoor fun (dealing with the elements). Would most definitely return to Arran and make Lochranza our base. NOTE: Please sign Kath & Nigel's petition against the levelling/widening of the spectacular road between Pirnmill and Catacol (features like this make Arran what it is .....worth the trip). The 4Js.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one if two new camping pods that have been installed at the site. The pods are close to the site entrance, toilet and shower block, office and campers lounge which contains a fridge, microwave and kettle. The pods themselves have an electric light, electric heater and a power socket. Electricity is included in the price. The pods were surprisingly warm and retain their heat from warming during the day. You'll need to bring your full camping gear, (except the tent) as you sleep on a wooden floor. The campsite is close to the distillery and around a 15 minute walk to the local bar which does evening meals. There is a restaurant next door but was fully booked. The site is in a pretty location and there are many red deer wandering near the site. Overall, good site, especially the camping pods.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our first experience of motor home holidays. How magic was this site. We couldn't find fault with a thing fabulous views and clean modern facilities. Even to the finer details of clearing up the evidence of the majestic red deer who roam the site at will, with pooper scoopers!! The 9 hole golf course looked easy at first glance but proved otherwise with some tricky little holes. The condition of the course was very good - congratulations to the new green keeper. Our only regret was that this came first in our travels so it will be hard to find better. Our hosts were very helpful and work very long and hard to keep the site looking so good and making our stay so comfortable. Well done to you all. David and Gay

Room Tip: The are no rooms and swimming pool but could not get rid of the rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

There was 8 of us on a motorcycling holiday. The price of camping was reasonable. The staff were great, bringing over a large table using a tractor for us all to use.
The toilet block was very clean, as was the rest of the site, which has stunning views. The staff again came to our rescue by helping me out with materials to try and fix my bike.

The WIFi was very useful, as I couldn't get a 3g signal. We used the restaurant at the entrance to the site for breakfast one morning and the food was very nice.

Overall a really good site, and I would defiantly use it again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a fabulous place Lochranza is, so peaceful and as everyone else has commented, excellent shower/toilet facilities which make such a difference to the whole motor home experience. We had only booked to stay for one night which was a shame but our trip included Kintyre, Islay, Jura, Oban & Perth too, too hectic so next time we will slow down so we can enjoy Lochranza for longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights camping 9 may onwards and were impressed with the free hot showers, the friendly welcome for us and our dog, great views, babbling burn and flat well drained ground for our tent! Lovely to see the deer so close. If you want to eat in the stag restaurant book well in advance!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.