We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentlemen's walking holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenisle Hotel to your Saves list
Glenisle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gentlemen's walking holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in mid-August as three retired former colleagues. Would definitely recommend it. Lovely location looking across to Holy Island.

We chose 'cosy doubles' as we were single occupancy and they were fine for that but would be a bit tight for a couple, and the headroom was quite restricted in places. They were on the second floor, so a bit of a climb - but we were on a walking holiday! The room quality - bed, decorative condition and bathroom were all excellent - heated mirror so it didn't steam up! - only minor quibble was that sometimes the shower drained too slowly so the water level rose in the shower tray, but it was a good sized cubicle and an effective shower. Good provision of tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and biscuits. Good TV. There was even a pair of binoculars in each room for guest use. Free wi-fi (with occasional glitches).

The breakfasts were excellent, as were the evening meals, decent wine list. Wise to book a table for dinner well in advance - we could not always get our first choice of time.

The staff were very efficient and helpful and also friendly. They remembered you and what you had asked for, and were clearly well-trained. Small hotel with an informal atmosphere with high standards.

A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    56
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
225
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I take painting groups to the Scottish Islands whenever i can, and Arran is always popular with my overseas clients as it is like a miniature Scotland. I've stayed in several locations on the island, but Lamlash is easily the best, located only 10 minutes drive from the ferry port, and peacefully nestling in the bay overlooking the Holy Isle...very tranquil. Glenisle Hotel is right on the shore, and in the evenings you can sit inside or out, and watch the occasional dog walk along the grass seafront, admire the changing light on the Holy Isle, and enjoy the hotel's gardens with the quaint fishing cottages in a row just tucked in behind. The hotel's service is faultless, the food is exquisite and rooms are very comfortable and homely, supplied with everything you need, fresh bottled water daily, and even chef's own homemade shortbread to tempt you when you come back from a hard days' enjoyment! I've been before just with my husband, I've brought my elderly mother, and no matter who I am with, groups or not, they tirelessly look after your every need here. Guranteed happiness!

Room Tip: If there's 3 people sharing, there's a fabulous room looking out to sea. WORTH sharing for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My one week stay in this hotel could not have been better and it allowed me to make the most of my time in this part of Arran. The dinner menu was well judged, based on local produce and very well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and professional. The location is also very convenient for the ferry and the attractions on the East coast of Arran. Altogether easy to recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

After reviewing lots of accommodation on Arran for a short visit in August we chose to return to the Glenisle, having been once before in 2009.

This time we had a lovely sea facing room on the first floor, which was welcoming and comfortable with cosy armchairs and well presented. The ensuite shower had plenty of hot water and decent thickness towels.

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had dinner on one night and the food was very enjoyable. A hotel we would happily recommend - and it was worth the extra to have the sea view from the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just had one night in the Glenisle Hotel, but if I ever go back to Arran, this is where I would stay again. A beautiful peaceful location and a very warm welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful and created a warm atmosphere. My single room was very comfortable and immaculately clean.The food was good especially the breakfast. Very handy if you are going over to the beautiful Holy Isle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
742 helpful votes 742 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

There is a balance to be struck between tradition and modernity when updating an established hotel. Here this has been done fairly successfully. I have my doubts about the matt paint used throughout that can be best described as battleship undercoat and the television is too small; everything else is pretty well judged. All modern facilities are provided, including Internet access (both ethernet & wi-fi) essential in an area uncontaminated by mobile phone signals. The seaside location provides fine views and much entertainment. Binoculars are provided in the rooms; as I write three herons are beating up a seagull.

All this comes at a price. This is certainly not the place to come for a cheap break. This is perhaps understandable: life on an island is always more expensive and the owners must recoup their investment and make their living in the relatively short tourist season. So not cheap, but if you are prepared to pay the price this can be considered good value. It is surprising that despite the high prices American Express cards are not accepted.

The restaurant styles itself a 'bistro' which fairly describes the cuisine; relatively simple food well prepared from good quality ingredients. Breakfasts are freshly cooked and much the better for it. Snacks on the terrace are pleasant and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been coming to Arran for some years but never enjoyed my time so much as my last trip. That was mainly because we stayed for the first time at the wonderful Glenisle Hotel. It's a beautiful hotel, in a stunning setting, the food was excellent, as was the quality of the rooms, however what I think makes it so good is the attention to detail by the staff and the way they look after you in a 'no fuss' way, there is a warm and relaxed atmosphere and we will definitely be back. By the way I can recommend setting your alarm and getting up to watch the sunrise over Holy Island and then going back to bed! It's a good way to start your day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenisle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.