We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely, calm, refreshing and relaxing stay! Even our dog loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewater House

Stonewater House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamlash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonewater House
Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8JN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“What a lovely, calm, refreshing and relaxing stay! Even our dog loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thanks to Mark and Rachel we spent two lovely nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast. On arrivel Mark greeted us and felt straight away like at home. Even their dog Molly was happy to see us and get to know our 1 year old staff/dalmation dog Ozzy. Mark explained what and where there is to do, showed us our stunning room with a massive king sized bed. The bathroom was clean and modern. Everything was fresh and clean, from towels, to bed clothes, in fact their whole house. A big plus was being able to use a wee fridge in the living room and use the downstairs living room for social purposes. We must say, coming from Glasgows city centre, this is what we needed. We felt so relaxed, at ease and couldnt have asked for more attentive guests. Had a great night sleep every night. The brekkie was humongeous and delicious. Varied, and just as good as any 5 star brekkie, if not better... The teamaking facilities were great. Our dog was allowed to enter the living room with permission of other guests. We will return. No question! Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 3 nights here.
Both Mark and Rachel are the perfect hosts and we were greeted with a warm welcome
Tea and biscuits provided on our arrival were a nice touch
Bedrooms are clean and spacious
Breakfasts are excellent and money savers because after one of these you don't need lunch.
Excellent facilities included a guest lounge with a fridge to chill your wine and beer.
We will definetly be returning here soon.
Excellet value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This B&B is in the most wonderful location, right opposite the sea, Holy Isle and the pier. Large picture windows bring the views in to you along with plenty of light and air. A safe area.

Mark and Rachel are great hosts who can help you with any local information. We needed the local hospital unfortunately and they were so caring and helpful. Breakfasts were great. Terrific spot for trips around Arran. Very relaxing, friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Front room downstairs is just wonderful, and disability friendly. There's an elderly and gentle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here overnight whilst visiting an old friend on the island. Stonewater House is in a beautiful situation in Lamlash by the old pier with a stunning view of the Holy Isle. We were welcomed on arrival by Rachel and Mark and treated like old friends rather than guests, it was so nice. The room was immaculate, the lounge warm and cosy and we were served a breakfast to die for - it was amazing. We also got a thorough briefing on things to do, places to see and places to eat out - a real bonus. We will be going back to Arran in the not too distant future and we will definitely stay at Stonewater House, on that or any further visit to Arran. We loved everything about our stay, and thank Rachel and Mark for helping to make it so special. Faaaaantastic B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a lovely B&B, spotlessly clean, friendly and relaxed with a view from the shared guest lounge balcony that is food for the soul. The best things was the the breakfast, wow, prize winning full Scottish breakfast, you will find none better anywhere. And a real bonus for me is the fact that Mark and Rachael are dog friendly, not in that begrudging way, but in a real honest "oh can I say hello to your dogs" and heres a welcoming bag of chews - kind of way. Wonderful, thanks so much for that Rachael. We booked a double room which was about a clean as a clean thing on national spotlessly clean day. Our only observation would be that a king sized would be better, the double was too short for my partner and a little narrow for us both as we kept rolling off the edges so had to "utch up". The house is lovely and as modern houses are, had quite thin walls so a bit creaky and snoring heard between rooms. That said, we couldn't have wanted better, a perfect pick!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The welcome from Mark and Rachel was excellent and Stonewater House really did feel like home. Our room was nicely decortated and very clean and spacious. Breakfast was a real highlight and the home-made yoghurt was a lovely touch. We had a very relaxing time and felt completely at ease in this lovely B&B - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returned from a weekend on Arran and stayed at this lovely B&B for the first time. Would highly recommend this accommodation not only for the great breakfast but also for the warm hospitality of the owners Mark & Rachel. Beautiful rooms made it feel like a home from home. Great value for money especially at this time of year. Plenty of lovely places to eat e.g. Pier Head Tavern in Lamlash for the largest fish supper you can imagine and the Coast Restaurant in Whiting Bay for a first class meal. Overall, the whole experience was just so relaxing and will definately return in the future. Thanks again to our lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonewater House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewater House

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Also Known As:
Stonewater House Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewater House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stonewater House to your Saves list