We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Guest House

Hunters Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hunters Guest House to your Saves list
Hunters Guest House
Shore Road, Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best weekend ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've been meaning to send this review since we returned from Scotland, so here it is! We stayed at Hunters Guest Lodge in July and we were pretty much their first guests as they had only just opened the doors. 8 of stayed (4 couples) and we pretty much took over the house. The owners and hosts Louise and Caroline let us bring our own drinks in and put them in the fridge upstairs in the snug room and provided us with glasses/crockery for pre dinner drinks and snacks. The rooms were outstanding and fitted everyones budget from the oceanview rooms to the smaller ones at the back of the property. The bathrooms were fantastic and our breakfast every morning was amazing for the price. They advised on the best places to have dinner and both meals at both Auchrannie Resort and the pub around the corner were fantastic. The location is also perfect for hiking/biking or going to the pub and a quick walk from the ferry. Arran is a special island and now we have a fave place to go to when we get back there one day. From all the other reviews, it sounds like you've been keeping up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hunter's was perfect. On arrival you felt quite at home with their very friendly welcome and lovely rooms. They can suggest areas to see and what to do suiting your needs. The snug room is a most welcome retreat and their breakfast is wonderful. My only regret is only staying for 2 nights. I will definitely stay again when I return to the isle. In fact this bb was the best I experienced on my holidays in the UK. I will always have very fond memories of Hunters Lodge. Look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from friends ruby wedding celebration. Hunters guest house provided the perfect location as the party was held at Arran on a Plate.
Caroline was the perfect hostess and we were given a complimentary upgrade to the room which overlooked the bay. The snug is a great idea for guests which provides tv fridge microwave and comfortable seating.
Breakfast was first class with a very wide choice. Everything was cooked to order. Will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Thumbs up for the Hunter's: everything was great, from the breakfast to the location, from the kindness of the hosts to the quality of the room.
It is located near to all the shops, the ferry and bus stations, it's only 10minutes walk from the main swimming pool of the isle (recommanded when the weather's bad); in front of the beach and the beach path leading to the castle.
We have been welcomed very well and couldn't dream of a more comfortable bed and a better breakfast. I have stayed in Brodick many times in the past but this one was the best, we rate this place as Nr 1.

Room Tip: I guess that if you can afford the seaview suite it's worth the price. Otherwise all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This property is a nice relaxing place to stay. Gold stars however to the Host running the property. Kind, considerate, helpful. Gave us a good guide to what we should see as we cycled around the island. Stay here. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The warm welcome, deep local knowledge and full advice was absolutely excellent.

This was our first time exploring Arran completely without our own wheeled transport. We asked about nearby points of interest and received first class advice and recommendation regarding local walks & facilities, thoughtfully tailored to match what we were looking for.

The rooms are very clean and welcoming, particularly those which overlook the sea. What a view looking out in the early morning light. Beautiful.
We enjoyed an excellent walk up Glen Rosa directly from the hotel (almost made it to top of The Saddle, but time defeated us - glorious views though...).

Good selection of restaurants nearby, again supported with excellent advice from the owners of Hunters Lodge.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views & en suite facilities. Rear rooms have personal use bathrooms, acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself and my cousin stayed at this guest house for 2 nights in mid September 2013. There is not much new to add to the glowing reviews already written by others. It is indeed a great location and Caroline and Louise are fantastic. They only serve breakfast but there are several places to eat and a grocery store within walking distance which is great as we are from Canada and did not have a vehicle. Thanks Louise for the tip on where to find deep fried haggis as it was the best!! There are no phones in the rooms but we were able to use their personal house phone and using our calling card we were able to keep in touch with family back home which is important to us when we are travelling abroad. I do agree that the "snug" is a fabulous addition as we had a fridge to keep our drinks, a microwave to use and a place to eat our take away. As the weather was poor, we were not able to do all we planned so we will be visit Brodick again and will not hesitate to stay at Hunters Guest House when we return. When in Brodick, a visit to The Chocolate Factory next door is worth it and a stop at the cheese factory closer to Brodick Castle is a must. Watch bus schedules and plan accordingly as the bus routes are limited and there may be long time lapses between service when travelling around Isle of Arran. Visit the information center across from the Brodick pier and they will help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Guest House

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Guest House is a family run, local business based in the center of Brodick. We have two suites with views across the Bay to the Castle and Goatfell where guest can relax and in the morning we are happy to offer room service breakfast. Double rooms and a single room are also available on a room only or bed and breakfast basis - breakfast is in our downstairs dining room with bay window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hunters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Guest House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.