We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even there yet!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of McLaren Hotel

McLaren Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McLaren Hotel
Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not even there yet!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hi All,

I was checking this hotel out as i am
going to Arran.
I called up to pay the remaining balance on my room for the weekend, I was asked to hold while I waited for 5 minutes listening to cheering and jeering in the bar, Only to be told to call back as they were too busy to do this.

Now I am no rocket scientist but surely trying to pay for your room for a booking should be quite up there in the list of priorities for a hotel?!?!

Apparently not! and after this i may just check in elsewhere (even though i would be away from friends) and lose my deposit.

Room Tip: As i said earlier, i haven't been yet but after this i will probably go elsewhere. Service that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    12
    10
    32
See reviews for
17
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Awful hotel where, when you check in, they issue you with a remote control for the telly along with your room key, which i thought was strange. The hallway floors all creaked and this was especially noticeable at night. The rooms were not freshly decorated. However I did feel that housekeeping had tried to present the room as well as could be expected. There were moldy parts in certain areas especially bathroom. A very small low power shower with two settings scald / freeze completed the less than appealing en suite room. The breakfast was hot and freshly cooked the breakfast waitress was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast waiter / barman from the night before seemed half asleep and not friendly. Overall would i go back.......no

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy058, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
dear reviewer,

thank you for your valued comments, (123 words ) and we are glad you have pointed out some of our procedures here at the hotel, such as the handing out of television remote controls along with keys to the rooms, upon arrival,
you will have noticed it is 457 walking steps to the ferry port entrance, and it is all to easy for the mutitude of mixed variety guests we have here at mclaren hotel to obscond with fixtures and fittings from the hotel such as the remote controls for the television with built in /dvd players , so we have adopted this system to ensure are other guests get to use the facilities with out disruption to there visit, so hopefully this will undo your comments as to finding this procedure strange...

on the subjest of the floors creaking with in the building , it is not uncommen for wooden floors to have slight creaks especially in a front line coastal location such as ours, on the island here weather conditions change considerably quick often taking the tempreture up and down a few degrees several times a day along with sea and mountain mist to contend with as well and of course we have the varience in seasons for this buiding to withstand, so on the whole we do not find it all that nessesary at this stage to up grade our flooring on the basis of one complaint... and it is noted that you have scored 3 from 5 on sleep quality so all in all it couldnt really have been that bad , and to my knowledge no comments were made to any member of staff before departure,

,As for mouldy findings in the bathroom again no comments were made to our staff members by your self and had this had been pointed out to us , we would of dealt with your findings swiftly and curtiously, and this message has been passed on to the house keeping department..!!!
it is also a shame you did not have the patience to work out the controls of the shower unit ,
and had you had mentioned this i am sure , one of our team would have assisted you on this matter

we our glad you enjoyed your breakfast , and as this is important to us as this is usually the last meal our guests get to remember us by before departure,,
i have found it alarming that you have commented on my staff member being half asleep whilst on shift and not being very friendly....
and let me assure you this will be investigated and a disaplinary action maybe taken on him.
to ensure this does not happen again,

on a final note , i am sorry you have found it warrented to rate the hotel as awful and that you will not be back, before presenting any of your issues to a staff member before departure.

once again thank you for your visit and valued comments .

the mclaren team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have been going to Arran for some 37 yrs i Have camped and stayed in every thing from Hotel's, Guest House's to B&B's and even a garden shed one year so i know what the island has to offer in the way of accomadation, I have drank, eating for 37 yrs ( and the Kingsley / Duncans Bar ) and now I have stayed in this hotel . Which I now wish I had stayed here sooner, The hotel is comfortable , good food great staff especially Roger the chef who cant do enough for people. I would like to thank Janey and all the staff Kelly Anne , Joe , Darren, Georga , ashliegh and i am sorry if I have left anyone out but thank you all for making my stay so good. I will definetlly be booking back in again to the Mclaren from now on. Thank you all again.

Eddie Osborne (room 9)

Room Tip: try to get a front room with a great view over the bay to goat fell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy058, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear , Eddie Osborne.

thank you for your warming comments towards the hotel and the staff here,
not only is it a pleasure having people like you come to visit and stay with us here in brodick,
but its also kind and generous of you to take the time and post your positive comments on line here on trip advisor, As you can see here at the hotel we have plenty of guests come in and out of both our restaurants and public bar , but what had happened here on this web site is that it has become a wee space for negitive comments , and its a shame because of the 100s of satisfied drinkers diners and guest we have here each week that go home happy and never think orr find the time to give us a wee boost and say thanks here on trip advisor

its clear you had a nice relaxing time by the way you have managed to mention some of the staff here by name , and that in its self speaks for its self...!!
i will pass on your kind comments, and we do all hope to see you again soon..

kind regards

the mclaren hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only stayed 1 night, wish we had made it longer
The room was clean, warm and had a great view of the see front
The staff were all very freindly and welcoming
Had a fab breakfast, the chief was very attentive with extra coffee etc
Would recomend a visit

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy058, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Crawford,

what can i say .? you have scored us the maximum score rating here on trip advisor,
and the chef got a mention too ! i will pass on your praise, and thank you sincerly for your kind comments....!

hopefully your next visit will be longer and hopefully we will see your return real soon

stay blessed

Mr & Mrs mclaren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Remembering this hotel when it was The Kingsley and well renowned for good food and excellent accomodation, I took friends from the USA in to Brodick for an early evening meal in what is now "Mac`s Bar".
Just walking in to the grounds showed that things had changed and opening the bar door made us decide that we wouldn`t be staying. Loud and more like a Public Bar.
A sad change for a Hotel in such a prominent position.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy058, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
dear reviewer,

we here at the hotel are sorry we did meet your expectations this time on your return visit to the hotel here,, we have been here a decade now and year on year we have gained more trade, and also gained a valued mixed variety of visitors, .

as you comment that the grounds have changed ( i think you refer to the front terrace .? ) this is only natural that there would have been change after a ten year gap in your visit.

in mid july of course we have a multitude of visitors here in peak season and this is one of the attractions to the people that frequent the bar, people simply meet here as a waiting rendevous or a coffee before catching the ferry only less than 500 walking paces away or we have other , golfing partys, stagg and hen partys use the bar also is this is one of the bars large enough to accomodate these type of functions.....

we also provide live entertainment ,in peak season at the weekends to aid in the relaxation of our guests...it is unfortunate that you felt you could not use one of two restaurants on offer at the time of your visit.....

but as you saw from the amount of people on the grounds and with- in the bar /restaurants areas

the place has become more popular with a mixed variety of guests..

we are sorry once again you think the place has sadly changed,
we how ever are enjoying the way things have improved for us

best wishes

the mclaren team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Skelmorlie, Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

the food is safe to eat, if bland and predictable; not nice walk through public bar of local drinkers.

Room Tip: save up and go to Auchrannie ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy058, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
dear sharon,

thank you for your words on here we hope to see you in the future,

on your next well earned break..

best wishes

Mr Billy mclaren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Decided to go last minute for half term,big mistake the family room was awful two single beds and a bunk bed .The room smelt of damp and my husband slept in the bed next to the window it was absolutely freezing no heating we slept with our clothes on the draught from the window was terrible, we had booked for two nights but left the following morning to get home and have a heat. Love arran but not this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
dear elaine,

we are sorry to read youhave had a dissapointing time at the mclaren hotel, as for the selection of beds available, this is a constantly changing hotel to suit lots of varieties of guests, shortly before your arrival , the mclaren hotel played host to 5 different collages from across the uk, for the students to study the geology of the island,
so in some cases one or two rooms were still to be transfered back to there normal settings....and again we are sorry you were allocated one of these rooms... it is also a shame you felt you could not report any of your findings to a member of staff, so this could have been rectified on the spot. we do have plenty of heaters available for boosting room tempreture before the heating system boots in to action if needed. , as for the room being draughty we are unsure at this stage what room you had stayed in to rectify this issue please could you advise us more on this. once again we are sorry you felt you had to leave with out a mention to any member of staff about these issues .

and we all feel we missed out on making your stay more pleasurable ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Address: Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Also Known As:
McLaren Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaren Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McLaren Hotel to your Saves list