We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter egg hunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brodick Castle, Garden and Country Park

Brodick Castle, Garden and Country Park
Brodick KA27 8HY, Scotland
+44 844 493 2152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Brodick
Type: Castles, Gardens, Parks, Cultural
Activities: Walking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The quintessential Victorian ‘Highland’ estate, Brodick Castle, Garden & Country Park on the Isle of Arran is the perfect place for a family day out.Dramatically set against the backdrop of Goatfell mountain, the grand red sandstone Scottish baronial-style castle has stunning views over Brodick Bay to the Firth of Clyde. The grounds and surrounds are worthy of a visit alone – from the W A Nesfield-influenced landscaped gardens to the woodland trails, wildlife ponds and waterfalls, there’s plenty to explore outdoors in Britain’s only island country park. Brodick Castle is packed full of treasures too – it’s renowned for its impressive collections of period furniture, silverware, porcelain, paintings and sporting trophies.
South Lanarkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Easter egg hunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely trip and Easter egg hunt at the castle. The Castle itself was not open due to the recent severe weather. The £1 fee was excellent value for 2 hours of great fun, including an egg. Walking the gardens to find the clues revealed many beautiful spots and the summerhouse was stunning. My 6 year old found the hunt very exciting and managed most of it with little help, my 4 year old loved running around! The silly games also provided a lot of amusement.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    68
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tarleton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always plenty to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We hve visited several times at differing times of the year:the gardens are always stunning and a real sun trap.kids love the adventure playground and tours aroud the house are interesting.The only downside is the cafe which is never good ,take a picnic from wooleys the baker instead.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Castle with lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great place to spend a rainy day, as we did. This meant we didn't see much of the gardens. The castle was really enjoyable. Lots of stories and history from the knowledgeable guides. There is also a reasonable cafe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easter fun at the Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I visited Arran for the first time last Easter with my daughter and my grandchildren. It was an enjoyable sail over on the ferry and then within a few minutes of arrival a bus took us to the end of the road by Brodick Castle grounds. This was a fun day for the children and as my daughter was face painting there as one of the many attractions, I watched my grandchildren enjoy an Easter egg hunt through the grounds, with many beautiful sites to see on the way. It is a lovely nature trail to stroll through before coming across the play park which could keep families amused for hours.I would certainly reccommend a visit to Brodick Castle and it's beautiful grounds and picturesque surroundings. Not ideal for anyone with walking difficulties as it is up hill and down dale and definitely not an ideal place for pushing wheelchairs. Of course, it is still a beautiful place just to sit and enjoy the surroundings if unable to walk very far..There is a lovely gift shop with cafeteria that is also worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good day out! The tour round the castle was intersting and the guides very helpful! Adventure playground is perfect if you have children! I was lucky and got very good weather and spent my time in the gardens, found a beautiful spot to sit which over looked brodick bay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brodick Castle, Garden and Country Park also viewed

Blackwaterfoot, Isle of Arran
 
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
 

Been to Brodick Castle, Garden and Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brodick Castle, Garden and Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.