We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Douglas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Brodick
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from a great mid-week deal break - luxury suite - great food - very helpful staff - amazing views - fine dining at a reasonable price. So easy to just cross the road from the ferry terminal and your there - doesn't really matter what the weathers like the rooms are so nice and relaxing - Betty & Graham - Clarkston

Room Tip: All the rooms are a good size but to get the best views you have to book a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    58
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
298
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Douglas hotel proved to be an excellent place to espace the city for a few days, Next to the ferry terminal, the location makes travel from Glasgow so straightforward, and enjoyable. The views are amazing, staff lovely and friendly, and the standard of accomodation is excellent. The value we got for our midweek break deal was incredible considering the standards of food, accomodation and service. A genuine gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I had never been on Arran before. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary by booking into the Douglas Hotel, we were not disappointed.
The hotel occupies a prime spot in Brodick less than 200metres from the ferry terminal at the beginning of the promenade.
All of the staff were extremely helpful and nothing appeared to be a problem, so unusual in our experience.
The room was exactly as described by the receptionist prior to booking, an executive suite with views over Brodick bay to the Castle and Goatfell.
The receptionist who took the booking had obviously noted that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we were wished a happy anniversary on booking in and subsequently had a bottle and card delivered to our room - very much appreciated.
The welcome letter in the room was addressed specifically to us, very simple to do but a nice touch none the less. The room was well furnished and very comfortable, we would have preferred a slightly smaller bed but that is a personal preference, also two armchairs rather than a two seater settee would have made the room more flexible.
The ensuite was unusually large and the quality of fixtures and fittings superb. The ensuite was designed to be suitable for disabled guests which we had been advised of on booking, this presented no problem whatsoever to my wife or I. My only comment would be, why not make it even more suitable by providing a floor level shower enclosure rather than one over the bath?
We had dinner in the restaurant on two of the three evenings we stayed. The food was excellent, well prepared and well presented.
We do not make a habit of returning to Hotels, but I can see The Douglas as being the exception

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Reception prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed here with my partner for my 50th birthday treat,we had room 105,executive room, which was amazing,when we arrived we were given the choice of two rooms both were amazing but 105 had the edge over 104,room size is huge and the bed must have been a super king ,beautiful bathroom with arran aromatics toiletries ,you had everything you could need in your room including dressing gown and slippers and a nice touch of shortbread with tea and coffee facilities ,staff were very friendly and helpful and the surroundings gorgeous ,breakfast was excellent as was lunch and dinner,we would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: choose an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamill, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the hotel and had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay.We arrived early and were able to leave our bags which were in the room later after we returned to check in. Room was very nice with great views from dual aspect windows. Great to sit in the window seats and admire the fantastic views. We had planned to eat both nights in the bistro but only ate there on the first night. Nice restaurant but service a bit slow with no great attention to detail e.g. had to ask for most things and took a while to clear away plates. Menu a bit fussy for us and think they are trying to impress too much with this. Prices ok but £8 for 3 very small scallops a bit much. Breakfast very good but again had to ask for too much e.g. butter, condiments, coffee etc again please be a bit more proactive to meet customers needs. Second night we ate in the bar. Choice similar to bistro and a bit pricey and if had brought our teenage daughter she would have struggled to pick a suitable dishes from either menu. Again service poor with waiter going through the motions and did not appear interested. Good that there was a lounge downstairs but didn't look a cosy space to spend some time relaxing. Disappointed at check out that the member of staff just went through the motions and did not make conversation or even ask if we enjoyed our stay. In summary very nice place to stay and in our opinion could be fantastic if you simplify your menus and pay more attention to your guests needs as we can't say we felt all that welcome.

Room Tip: Sea view a big draw for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked the suite at the Douglas Hotel, for a birthday trip away for my husband for our first visit to the Isle of Arran. The suite was luxurious and offered a view of the sea and Arran , that was picture postcard , spectacular .

prior to our visit I asked the hotel to put together a picnic of our drive around the island on the Sunday, which they did.

The breakfast at the Hotel was superb, the hot breakfast was scrumptious and presented beautifully. We had dinner on the Sunday and again we were not disappointed I had the lamb and its perfect , with the staff recommending wines to accompy our meals.

The staff at the hotel were all wonderful, from the receptionist to the manager all gave us a warm welcome, you can see why this hotel has such excellent reviews, we are looking to return again.

Room Tip: I booked the suite , if you want a room with a view and tranquility you won't be disappointed pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A late decison to have a weekend break during the October school week can leave you seriously out of pocket and struggling to get a room.
Not so with our decision to stay at the gloriously restored Douglas Hotel in Brodick. Apparently it took 2 years to do the refurb - looks almost like a new build from the inside.
What a pleasure to drive a short distance on the mainland to Ardrossan and take a 55 minute ferry to arrive at your destination - wonderful.
The staff, the rooms, the Bar & the food were all excellent.
We had a deluxe double room with views across the bay to Brodick castle and a side view window which had a view of the harbour/ ferry.
The bathroom was huge with a rather large bath.
Booked dinner in the evening and only criticism was the rather salty cured smoked salmon - otherwise it was a treat.
The Hotel had a acoustic singer in the bar (Alan Frew I think) providing the entertainment. He kept up a steady flow of wonderful covers and some of His own material - very good.
Great nights sleep and down to breakfast. Lovely spread of fruit/cereals etc and a cooked to order breakfast - so nice and a welcome change fro the buffet breakfasts which the big Hotels now offer.
Back to the room and caught our ferry arriving from our window - time to go.
Cant wait to go back - this Hotel has certainly upped the ante in arran !!

Room Tip: Tips - Ask for a seaview window - enjoy a cocktail - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Douglas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.