We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice service, strange decor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creelers

Creelers
Home Farm, Brodick, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Brodick
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, nice service, strange decor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Creelers on a recommendation in a guide book and were really impressed.

The food was fantastic and the service great. It isn't a pretty place and won't win prizes for it's decor but the quality of the food more than makes up for it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hit and miss affair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've visited Creelers a few times over the years and on the whole been pleased. Good menu well cooked. The owners are based in Edinburgh which means they take their eye off the ball occasionally. That is why I say hit and miss while I've only been disappointed once that's enough to say you might not have a good meal the chances are you will have a magnificent meal. Their shop has excellent produce to take home and consume at your leisure. The shop alone is worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Creelers is a real gem if it's all about what's on your plate and who you are with. The restaurant is never going to win any prizes for it's decor, nor the toilets for that matter. But the service and food were second to none. We loved that it is was BYO as we took a lovely Chablis Premier Cru and it cost us the supermarket price rather than the (quadrupled) restaurant equivalent.
We ate there twice in the week that we visited Aaran we sampled plump oysters, selected smoked fish, mackerel and salmon pates, dressed crab, bouillabaisse really superb dish of halibut with razor clams and a mustard cream sauce served with chive mash. Oh and we sampled a huge lobster which we were charged £30 for which was meaty but over powered by a garlic butter which was simply too strong for the tender white meat.
All in all a really unassuming dining experience which was amazing value for money - especially love that its BYO - oh they charge a corkage of £3 - which apparently some idiot refused to pay leaving their wine in their bag rather than paying the corkage!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a fabulous meals here. A tasty fish cake and queenies in garlic butter to start then perfectly cooked halibut in a razor clam and cream sauce whilst my husband raved about the boulibaisse. Service friendly and informal. The restaurant itself and the toilets are in need of some TLC and I didn't like the plastic table clothes. As it is a "bring your own alcohol" place I think £3 corkage for a bottle of wine and £1 for a beer can are abit OTT. Having said this, if we ever go back to Arran the Creelers will definately be on the to do list

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing langoustines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went for lunch here and it was fantastic!!! We had the langoustines in garlic butter! Worth a visit but be mindful they do not serve alcohol it is bring your own bottle.

Afterwards you can go to Arran aromatics and the cheese shop!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creelers also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to Creelers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creelers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.