We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay on Arran” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn B&B
Save
You added The Barn B&B to your Saves list
Glencloy, Brodick KA27 8DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay on Arran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Barn was certainly an excellent choice for our stay on Arran. We were warmly welcimes by Kath and Phil who went out of their way to look after us and point us in he right directio for places to eat, best places to visit etc. We were thrilled to see a red swuirral and also the deer as they came down off the hills on The String Road at about 10.00p.m. The accommodation is excellent with good sized rooms and the breakfasts are delicious. We enjoyed eating at Arran on a Plate x 2, The Douglas Hotel and Auchrannie resort. Brodick Castle is well worth a visit with good gardens (our visit coincided with a very hot day and we staggered from one bit of shade to another. The Arran Heritgae museum gives a good insight into life on Arran when it was more isolated. We also visited Arran Aromatics, Arran Cheese, The distillery. Lochranza Castle looks very atmospheric even on a hot sunny midday but must be beautfil at sunset. A good first visit to Arran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Kath and Phil have a B&B on a very peaceful spot close to Brodick. Clean, friendly, very, very good breakfast, spacious rooms. Only a short walk to Auchrannie Resort provides you with restaurant, bar and health centre with swimming pool. The Brodick shops are about 1,5 mile.

Room Tip: Very peaceful just outside Brodick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Barn. From indulging me trying to get a photo of a red squirrel to letting us gather the eggs from the chickens, Phil and Kath were brilliant. Phil even hosed our filthy car down for us! We only wish we could have stayed longer. We've looked for a peaceful location near Brodick on several previous visits and have finally found the spot. Really nice, good quality, comfortable room and good breakfasts too. Hope we can come back...!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here May'13. Arrived to terrible weather on Arran and we were soaked by the time we arrived.

We were warmly welcomed and Kath took our wet items of clothing and dried them off for us, which was greatly appreciated.

Room was very clean, modern and homely. I travel a lot with work and the quality of room exceeded many hotels that I have visited.

Breakfast was excellent. Locally sourced produce.

The only point that I would highlight is location. We are a young couple so the walk wasn't an issue for us. Be aware that the road shown on Google maps is actually a gravel track.

Despite the location, we would return in an instant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0rna50, Owner at The Barn B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to post this great review, we were happy to help out with your 'wet' problems !
We are magically placed in a beautiful glen, with no passing traffic - heaven for many who live in a busy town. However , we are literally 5 minutes drive from the pier at Brodick , if you choose not to bring your car a taxi can be prebooked and will have you here in a mo ! ( Just e mail us for details ).
We are also less than ten minutes walk from the fantastic award winning Auchrannie- an amazing new spa , three eateries and bars.
We ( and many guests ) feel that we really do have the best of both worlds - total peace , yet 5 star amenities an easy walk away.
We hope you'll return in the sunshine and enjoy Arran again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed the weekend here with my partner and it was a really nice, clean place with really helpful and friendly owners! It's a wee bit out of the way but if you've a car/bike/working pair of legs it's not a problem :) Otherwise it's comfortable, quiet and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Cumbrae, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the barn for 2 night when we were at a wedding! It was so nice and lath and Phil were great hosts. We even got to hand feed a pheasant that pops onto the garden. The rooms were great and food fabby the only down side was the distance to the town. But a taxi was only £5 so not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night as part of our cycling route on the 5-ferry's challenge around the area and the only disappointing thing about our stay was that we couldn't stay longer! If you're after peace and quiet in Brodick this is the place to go. It was lovely waking up to the sound of birds after one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in the confiest bed I've ever slept in. Breakfast was also fantastic with a great selection, including eggs from their very own chickens. Kath and Phil, the owners, couldn't have been more helpful and provided us with storage for our bikes. We mentioned we were slightly concerned about the wind for cycling the next day and were promptly shown the weather forecast on the internet.
If we were ever on Arran again we would DEFINITELY stay here again and next time we would book for longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0rna50, Owner at The Barn B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review.... maybe we shall see you again in the future - and you can stay a bit longer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn B&B

Address: Glencloy, Brodick KA27 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Barn B&B Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.