We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Queensferry Hotel to your Saves list
The Queensferry Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saint Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed fri & sat night the room was clean & spacious,staff friendly & very helpful especially reception but sat morning breakfast was a disaster feel the restaurant is maybe abit small 4 the size of the hotel! We went down for breakfast at 9.20 & there were people waiting 4 tables 4 breakfast & we ended up waiting 40 minutes 4 coffee & toast & had 2 ask a 2nd time our breakfast had been long eaten by then! Needless 2 say didn,t bother going 4 breakfast on sun morning! But the views especially from the restaurant are amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop.

I a little disappointed to read that you felt that breakfast service was slow, I have passed your comments on to the food and beverage team to investigate further. I'm pleased however that overall you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    118
    74
    58
    45
See reviews for
60
186
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here on an overnight Itison deal. Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly but from then on it was downhill. The hotel is badly in need of major refurbishment with stained carpets, poor and tired decor. We had prebooked an evening meal and when we approached the restaurant the waitress could not find our booking. We were asked to wait until they found a table and took our order, the starter took 45 mins to appear. Staff were very unprofessional and did not seem to know what they were doing. When the starter was finished it took another 30 mins before the main meal appeared which was lukewarm. One of the waiters was apologetic and offered a complimentary drink but management need to look at their staffing. They act very unprofessional and dress code could be improved with black and white being the order of the day. A tealight was placed on the table but was left to ourselves to light it! Staff need more training on how to deal with customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm disappointed to read that your expectations were not met on this occasion - we strive to offer the best in customer service and on this occasion we have clearly fallen short of the mark and for this I can only apologise. Our restaurant manager is going to revisit the training with all staff to ensure that each guest receives the high level of service we expect.

I hope that you experience has not deterred you too heavily and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room was well appointed and had a modern feel to it. It had a TV, two telephones, tea and coffee making facilities and a desk. The bed was comfortable and I loved the pocketed duvet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

From a security point of view the room was secure. The door had good solid locks. The main lock was an electronic lock that was operated by a key card. There was a strong deadbolt lock that secured the door from the inside. The door was fitted with a peephole.

The room had floor to ceiling windows. We were on the second floor and so the windows gave fantastic views.

The room was quiet which was impressive considering that when you opened the window you were met with the roar from the traffic going over the Forth Road Bridge.

On the subject of the Forth Road Bridge this was the best part of the room. Our room looked out over bridge and the view was incredible. We were fortunate enough to enjoy good weather during our stay and the bridge looked fantastic both day and night.

Unfortunately into each holiday some rain must fall. There appeared to be a problem with the key card that unlocked the door to our room. Each evening upon our return to the room we found that the key card did not work. This was annoying on the first day but by the end of our stay (four days in total) it had become very frustrating. The staff at the reception desk did their best to fix the problem but to no avail. Each evening we had to return to the reception desk to get the card re-activated so that we could gain entry to our room. Before anyone says anything I did not have the card anywhere near my keys or mobile phone.

And then there was the little issue of the false fire alarm in the middle of the night. That's right, the fire alarm sounded for about 5 seconds in the early hours of the morning. We leaped out of bed at the sudden deafening alarm only to have it suddenly stop after a few seconds. It stopped as suddenly as it started and left us rather bewildered. Crikey, that alarm was loud. I struggled to get back to sleep after that.

In conclusion I think the Queensferry Hotel is a good establishment and I would recommend it if only for the fantastic view of the Forth Road Bridge. Unfortunately due to the fact that we were inconvenienced daily as a result of the key card failing to unlock the door to our room as well as being scared half to death by the fire alarm going off falsely in the middle of the night I can only award 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the the rest of the staff.

I can only apologise regarding the issues you had with your key card - the hotel is due to enter a 2 million pound refurbishment and all door locks will be renewed within this refurbishment.

I'm sorry that the fire alarm sounding in the night was frightening, I can appreciate that this must have been quite alarming. I hope that this has not deterred you from returning and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked our Sat night 19th April with the ITISON deal. On arrival and checking in between the friendliness, the room, the location, the weather we booked for the Sunday too. Leonna on reception making it seamless for us to remain in the same room. The room was clean and a good size. A large window over looking the Forth, with a veranda door to open for extra viewing. The bed was soft and comfy. Free view TV , free wifi the decor in the corridors and bar area needs a lick of paint but we were told the place is due for a wee upgrade. Brilliant - The barman Andy was so pleasant , he was on his own and dealing with a full hotel of guests and a large wedding where people were stopping for ad hoc drinks. The meal in the Saturday night was Lovely the service was a bit slow but this was due to the waitressing staff being stretched due to them being short staffed, we felt so sorry for them. They were struggling to take breaks. The waitress manageress was doing a great job. Not good senior managers you need to deal with this! We sat in the turret Sunday for a drink and the tables were strewn with dirty cups etc. The young girls need to be upskilled in observation. The Sunday night dinner was not such a good experience. We decided to go early at 5.30 us and another table only Yet we still waited 35 minutes for pudding. No excuses regarding too many guests. The waitress came back a few times to double check the order. Waitresses need to remember tables and orders and times. But again this is training - managers you need to sort this. The breakfasts were just what the doctor ordered. Netta the senior waitress was lovely. Making sure her staff worked the room. Well done. Overall we are defo coming back. The staff are the main asset to this hotel. You need more. The location is your jewel in the crown. Thank you for a lovely weekend away. One night turning to two.
Annie and Ian Garelochhead

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was good value for money and a clean and comfortable room. Worth booking breakfast in advance. The food was good and staff polite and helpful. The view from the restaurant was great. Hotel is located right next to the motorway, but there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us learn and develop as a team.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recently spent 1 night at the hotel, staff very friendly and were allocated a room over looking the forth. A taxi can take you to a nearby train station so you can access Edinburgh easy enough and also a great location for drives out. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

We are ideally situated to commute into Edinburgh avoiding the traffic and if you take the train you can travel across Scotland's most iconic bridge.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here overnight and paid £88 for dinner, bed & breakfast. Unfortunately the experience was pretty much a let down on all fronts.

There are very few pictures available online and the site itself doesn't actually show you the decor of the room that you will be staying in. We were dissapointed to find that our rooms looked nothing like those that were shown on the site. The furniture was tired and old. The duvet was rumpled and full of bumps. The grout in the bathroom was disgusting and the TV was way too small and positioned too awkwardly for it to be watched from the bed or the seating provided.

After checking in we took a very nice trip in to Edinburgh. One of the only positives that can be said for the hotel is that it is very conveniently located for access to the train station and both bridges (which also added some stunning local views within walking distance from the hotel).

The restaurant was really dissapointing. The menu was limited and to be honest, it was almost as if it was trying to put itself in to a class that it isn't. Some of the dishes I actually couldn't translate it was that bad. I mean honestly, what's wrong with calling Steak pie, Steak pie?

We ended up settling for fish and chips with mushy peas (It was far more eloquent sounding on the menu but in essence, it was fish and chips). Everything was tasteless. Absolutely everything. I had to soak it with salt and ketchup in order to get any form of flavour and my fiance was the same.

We did complain, however we were informed that it was a new menu and all feedback was appreciated. After dinner we returned to our rooms and ate crisps and pot noodles, it was much better than the food we had been served downstairs.

Breakfast was an equal farce. It was meant to be a buffet, but we were informed there were insufficient guests to justify it so it was cook to order. I ordered sausage, potato scone, fried egg, beans and black pudding, I received exactly one of each - an extra sausage or two wouldnt have gone a miss for something that was meant to be a buffet but at least I got mine.

My fiance ordered sausages and beans, and then when she told the waitress that she didnt want bacon the waitress took this to mean that she wished to cancel her order entirely. The result was I was finished my breakfast and had to ask again if my other half could have theirs resulting in another long wait for breakfast to be made.

Overall not impressed - id rather pay the extra (which isnt that much) and stay in a travel lodge or holiday inn in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop as a team.

I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed in the experience you had with us. Some of the décor in the hotel is a little tired however we are about to enter into a 2 million pound refurbishment which will include updating all public areas and bedrooms.

I am sorry that you found the menu and food uninspired we have recently launched our new menu which has been very well received. All feedback however is greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the kitchen team.

I have discussed the issued you highlighted during breakfast with our restaurant manager who will be reviewing the procedures to ensure that all guests receive a quick service.

I hope that your experiences have not deterred you too heavily and hope to welcome you back to the Queensberry Hotel soon

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Address: Saint Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queensferry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.