We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do consider this hotel if visiting Edinburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Queensferry Hotel to your Saves list
The Queensferry Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saint Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do consider this hotel if visiting Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed with my husband for a dinner bed and breakfast 2 night break booked through easy breaks. Staff very courteous and friendly, hotel bustling with wedding party but only added to cheery atmosphere. Views spectacular form restaurant and bar. Very easy to take train into Edinburgh for sightseeing, less than an hour from hotel to Waverly station so no parking hasslesor traffic issues. Comfortable restaurant ,reasonable food perhaps a lttle expensive ( deal we had included £20 dinner allocation per person per night) but this only financed 2 courses. Room was clean ,comfortable, spacious and quiet ,great bed and ensuite had a bath with shower over .Tasty filling buffet breakfast. At £158 allfound very good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    104
    70
    54
    42
See reviews for
55
172
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Large modern 3* hotel in North Queensferry, just the other side of the Forth Bridge and very easy to get to from the airport (bus 747-takes about 35 minutes). Booking in was quick and vey efficient. Room was spacious, clean with decent fittings and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and a shower with good fittings. Our room did not overlook the firth but there was no noise from the busy main road. The hotel was very busy with several functions, coach tours and a Prom Ball but we were at the far end of the accommodation so were not affected by any night time noise. The food was ok nothing spectacular, with limited choice but reasonably priced, but the service was variable. However all the staff were friendly, my only criticism of the staff is that some of the younger staff needed more training and supervision as at times they wandered around looking a bit lost and some of their service at the bar and restaurant could have been better.
My only criticism of the hotel decor was that some of the carpets in the corridors were very badly marked and stained with what appeared to be bleach, which was a shame as they were good quality carpets that looked quite new.
A nice hotel if you want to stay outside Edinburgh but very easy to get into the city with a bus stop right outside (bus 55 takes about 40 minutes and runs every hour).
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely, well laid out hotel. Beautiful. clean spacious rooms.
Our visit was short but made very enjoyable with the staff. Lovely restaurant with excellent food

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear Aileen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TA. I have shared your feedback with my team who do appriciate feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire. UK.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed in the Brook Queensferry Hotel in Edinburgh for a get-together of our Royal Naval Photographer's Association. The hotel was in a wonderful location, the staff were great, and we couldn't fault it. Altogether it was a first class experience. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Just state your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear Burtie020,

Thanks for your feedback and I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Having read some of the reviews for the hotels I half expected to turn up to Faulty Towers, but I couldn’t have been more presently surprised!

The hotel is situated right next to the forth bridges with lovely views. The chap on reception was very helpful and friendly, a trait we found in all the staff.

The hotel was very tastefully decorated and the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Our room was certainly not run-down, shabby, or in need of refurbishment, as several other reviews would have you believe. We didn’t have dinner so I can’t comment on it, however the breakfast was nice and of a high standard.

We were told on the Friday that there was a wedding on the Saturday which gave us slight concerns, however it passed without incident and you couldn’t hear any music.

We had our dog with us and the hotel was very accommodating.

I’ve noticed the General Manager reads and comments on most of the reviews, my only feedback would be that on the Saturday night when we had a drink in the bar they seemed to have run out of most draught beer (or no one knew how to change a keg) and the girl behind the bar seemed quite young and inexperienced, as I didn’t get any glasses or cooler for the bottle of wine.

Overall I would definitely go back to the hotel and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback on TA and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for letting me know about the service that you experienced from my bar staff, and I will certanly instigate some more training with the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stuart
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed as part of a wedding group this month (wedding held in the hotel) and thought the hotel was really nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. Lovely views over the forth.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback and glad to hear you had a good time at the wedding.

Kind Regards

Stuart
StuartGrant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Windon in room was broken- hotel fully booked so no change of room possible. They promised to get some gaffer tape to fix it- but this never happened. Left feeling worried about safety the whole stay. Had room service-roast dinner- this was C-O-L-D!!! There is no menu in room so you have to go down to restrauant to order- complete madness!!
Return after day out and can't get into room- they thought was were only staying one night. Wifi is supposed to be free but could only access internet with 1 item- no more than one item could be logged on at one time.
Would never come back or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, and I sincerely sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Please can you contact me directly at the hotel, so that I can discuss this further with you.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Address: Saint Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, the Brook Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queensferry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.