We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip to Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forth Sea Safaris

Forth Sea Safaris
Rock House | Pier Head, North Queensferry KY11 1LA, Scotland
+44 7752 156733
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family business providing Sea Safari Tours, Corporate trips, Birthdays, Family trips, Hen and Stag partys as well as trips to local islands & ashes scatterings. Trips can be customised to your requirements. New for 2015 is our 13m catamaran 'Pathfinder' which is available for a more sedate trip on the river complete with a large wheelhouse, tea & coffee facilities and a toilet.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was an amazing experience led by two fantastic guides. We were picked up in the boat at Newhaven harbour, a pleasant spot about 15 minutes from central Edinburgh by taxi. The boat is amazing with two powerful outboard motors and able to do fun tricks and turns in the waves (which we did, but they only did as much or as little of this as we wanted), as well as doing some wave jumping.

The trip took us out to view some great wildlife (cormorants, puffins, seals, and lots and lots of seagulls), as well as a great trip to an island in the middle of the Forth of Firth with a well preserved Medieval monastery and tunnels and other remains from both World Wars. We had a great tour of the underneath of the bridges and ended up being dropped off at a quaint village where (after a trek up the hill) caught the train back to Edinburgh. We all had an amazing time, including our two teenage girls, and concur with other reviews that this is a "must-do" when in Edinburg h

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must when in Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This tour was amazing! Colin was our guide and the whole experience was completely customized since we were the only party on the boat (a group of 4). The weather was not great (rainy and very cold) but the experience was better than we could've hoped for. We saw plenty of seals and puffins as well as other sea birds. Then we stopped off at Inchcolm Abbey. We took a tour and it was great. The scenery and the history cannot be missed! We got some great photos as well. The swells made the ride a bit bumpy at times but that was part of the fun!

We stopped under the Forth Bridge and got some great pics there too! We were even there when they were unveiling a monument honoring the men who had died while working on the bridge restoration. The First Minister Salmond was there, too! Pretty cool for an unplanned historical event! Queensferry South is also incredibly cute and worth walking around, we walked around despite the rain and managed to find lots of good food!

Worth the trip!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“prepare to get wet!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I were part of a small group which took to the Forth on Saturday 6th August.
Despite the weather which was pretty dismal we had a great time and loved getting up close to the seals.
The tour itself takes in the breathtaking structures of the Forth Road Bridge and Forth Bridge and gives great views of both North and South of the river.
You cruise past all the local landmarks such as Hound Point, Roseberry House, Inchcolm and Inchgarvie island and also Cramond island which on a low tide can be walked out to. Beware of the tide coming in though!!
The boat crew are very friendly and know their stuff. The waterproofs and life jackets are supplied and the boat is in tip top condition.
I would recommend this trip to anyone, its a unique way to view the Bridges and the Fife and Edinburgh coastline but wrap up warm though!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I went on a trip to Inchcolm last night, this was my second trip with them and it was fantastic. I felt very safe at all times but loved the trip and think this would be great for all ages, Stuart and Leanne could not have been more helpful or professional but also very friendly, do it you will be so glad you did.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland
1 review
“You must try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I took one of the trips run by Calypso when Cunard’s Queen Victoria was visiting the Firth of Forth in July 2010. The boat and equipment were clean and well maintained. Life jackets were provided along with waterproofs if we required them. Stewart was friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. We were taken at great speed from the jetty at North Queensferry to where the Queen Victoria was anchored, just east of the Forth Bridge. When we reached her, we slowed and were able to view (and photograph) her from the water. It’s not every day you get the chance to see a cruise liner, both bridges and wildlife up close from such a unique viewpoint!
I can’t recommend a trip with Calypso highly enough – it will definitely bring a smile to your face and is great value for money. Note: Dress warmly – even on the warmest summer day, the Firth of Forth is cold.

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forth Sea Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Forth Sea Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forth Sea Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.