We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crusoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crusoe Hotel
Save
You added Crusoe Hotel to your Saves list
2 Main Street | Lower Largo, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 6BT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Leven
Florida
1 review
“Very Enjoyable Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

This hotel has an excellent position on the pier in this delightfully unspoilt Fife village. The staff were all extremely attentive but I must particularly mention Julie who worked tirelessly in the bar and restaurant to ensure that all the customers were well looked after. She also arranged with the chef for me to have a delicious meal of fresh lobster the memory of which will linger for some time. Delicious!
My room was clean and of average size although it did have probably the smallest TV I have seen in an hotel room in recent times!
Overall I thought the Crusoe Hotel was good value for money,with good staff and an excellent restaurant.Will certainly stay here again when next in this part of Scotland.

  • Liked — Position on the pier
  • Disliked — Room needed upgrading
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
53
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

As noted before, there never seems to be anyone on reception and you have to ask at the bar.

When we checked in we were told that the restaurant would not be open that evening due to staff sickness but we could eat in the lounge bar. On going down to dinner I noticed that all the tables had a reserved sign. Had not been told that we needed to book a table. Eventually i was able to book a table in the public bar, which was far from ideal. I have to say however that the food was of a very good standard and this also applies to the restaurant. Breakfast was quite substantial.

It seems that there are very few places in the area where you can eat so the pub gets very busy at meal times.

The pub across the road does not do food but it has a much better selection of beers, is much nicer and cheaper.

The Crusoe is right on the habour arm and there is a seating area on the arm itself which is very pleasant in good weather.

At high tide the water is just a few feet from your bedroom window. The room itself was quite small but this was not a problem. It was also spotlessly clean. A minor point is that there was no tray in the shower on which to put soap etc.

Overall the hotel served its purpose, which was to see the area, but it is not a place I would return to.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No separate lounge for residents
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsonScotland, owner at Crusoe Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
As we are a small hotel the reception is not manned 24 hours per day. Guests are directed by a framed sign to the bar where there is always someone on duty to attend to their needs. The bar is immediately off the reception area not 20 feet away.

Our bar is very busy for food and drinks due to the quality and reputation of food served in the Crusoe. If the bar is full guests are welcome to eat bar food in the upstairs fine dining room as we always accommodate our guests to our best ability or alternatley in the al fresco dining on the Pier if the weather is suitable. We do sometimes have periods when we just do not have tables so at peak season and in good weather booking is essential.

The pub across the road has the same brewery supplier as the crusoe and I must advise due to the size of the establishment does not have a larger selection than ourselves. Niether is he cheaper than the Crusoe.
I am presuming that as the the pub across the road was quiet, as it normally is, and appealed to the customer at the time.

The location for rooms is unique being right at the waters edge and we are currently undergoing a major renovation to create two new junior suites for November 2008 as well as a fantastic penthouse in 2009.

As I said we are a small family owned hotel offering a great location and great food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

We have been in the hospitality trade for 20 years and know how to look after guests. As always it is easier to rectify a problem at the time when a guests brings something to your attention than to do it after the fact.

I am disappointed that you would not return and hope that you would give us a change to make good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This hotel has a lot of good qualities but we won't be going back.

As regular visitors for many years, it was a real shame to see the inconsiderate and rude behaviour of the owner while visiting the hotel for a meal. This completely unnecessary situation has reversed our opinions of the hotel. Hotel management is not an easy job and not everyone can do it......the current owner simply doesn't understand customer satisfaction or loyalty.

The details of what happened are not needed here but it's fair to say that anyone with earshot won't have been impressed, and I'm sure the other staff were embarrased to be there.

So, we have recommended the hotel for many years but now suggest that you stay away, as we will be.

  • Liked — Nice location and food
  • Disliked — Rude owner . Not cheap
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsonScotland, owner at Crusoe Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2008
GOBB1E - Having been in the hospitality trade for over 15 years I do know a lot abour customer care and Loyalty. I remember this incident clearly. it was mothers day and the hotel was fully booked. Car parking was at a premium. The Lady in question parked badly and her car took up two car spaces. I very politely asked her before she sat down if she would mind reparking her car to free up the one extra car space and that was that, nothing more. I really cannot believe how anyone could take offence at a reasonalbe request
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

The hotel's spectacular beach-side location offers the sound of breaking waves drifting in your bedroom window and sandcastle opportunities just a minute from the front door. This does, to some extent, compensate for the fact that it is well overdue for a total refurbishment. Levels of service were highly variable depending on the member of staff approached and there were no towels in our room on arrival. The general feeling on arrival was that staff were stretched to breaking point (although it was a Friday evening and the bar is very popular), and you may have to take your turn at the bar in order to check in as the reception isn't generally staffed. Strengths are the location, quality of meals in the restaurant, and the bar area which has a good atmosphere and a lovely beer garden by the pier. Weaknesses are the poor facilities in the room (ancient TVs have no proper aerial and only seem to pick up BBC1 and Channel 4; our kettle was somewhat temperamental and the "double bed" was actually two singles pushed together and masquerading as a double), the general decor of the rooms and hotel which is very tired and in need of investment, and the hit and miss service standards. With investment and improved staff training this could be a great hotel, but it falls far short of its potential and suffers from an air of sad neglect.

  • Liked — Location adjacent to a good beach
  • Disliked — The poor condition of the hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Stayed at the Crusoe for 1 night on business. I have stayed at many other hotels within this area & this is by far the best.
Why? - Atmosphere is great, friendly prompt staff, great pub connected below which has a good local feel. Food both my breakfast & evening meals were superb & again very reasonable in cost. The breakfast was particularly good which is included in your room cost. Location is very relaxing & pretty, not something I could say about my typical business hotel.
Overall Impression A+++

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK N.E. England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This Hotel is right on the beach. Very warm reception and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. As a woman travelling on her own I found the Hotel to be very safe. The Food is excellent!!! I could hear the waves lashing against the rocks just outside my window. I believe some of the rooms are being upgraded.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I have just returned from The Crusoe Hotel and am feeling totally relaxed after a lovely weekend. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Crusoe and each time it has been great. The hotel sits right on the beach so that you can hear the sound of the waves from your pillow and awake to greet an amazing sunrise over the sands. The food is always amazing - breakfast is great with plenty of healthy options, organic yoghurt, and wholemeal toast, the barfood is delicious and dinner is truly wonderful. The staff are all lovely and professional and the hotel is locally owned. Lower Largo is small, but it also has another little bar called he Railway which sells real ale and is right across the road. I always feel so relaxed after my stay there. Fantasic weekend break deals and great value even when paying full tarriff. Great scenery, great service, fantastic food!

  • Liked — Food and Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast stops at 9.30 which is quite early for a Sunday
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crusoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe Hotel

Address: 2 Main Street | Lower Largo, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Leven
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Crusoe Hotel Leven, Fife, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crusoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.