We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lomond Guest House
6 Church Road, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Leven B&B and Inns
Somerset
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a lovely place this is! Jean - the owner was very friendly and always up for a chat. She went over and above the level of service we expected - closing the curtains for us and putting on an extra heater in our room when we were late back on a very cold night.
Our room (7) was large, the bed was 2 x 3 feet singles pushed together to make one extra wide bed, this prevented "roll together" and made for an excellent night's sleep. The location of this guest house is in a better bit of town and is a hundred metres away from the sea front and there is a pub / restaurant just a few minutes walk away, as well as a supermarket and a bank with an ATM machine.
The whole place is immaculate and extremely clean.
The bedroom was spacious and had a well stocked complimentary tea and coffee tray as well as bottled water.
The en-suite is large and well stocked with toiletries.
The breakfast choice was very extensive - ranging from a choice of cereals / fresh fruit / fruit juice / yoghurt, etc., Toast was also available. The choice of cooked breakfasts ranged from scrambled egg (on toast) to a full Scottish breakfast, with haggis and black pudding!!
All in all a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return here when we are next in Scotland - an exceptional Guest House in the Leven area, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location only a block from the beach and within walking distance to everything else in town. Several choices for the included breakfast. The room we had was quite big and with an ensuite. Jean Hughes was always there to lend a helping hand with local information etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I staggered into the Lomond Guest House, having walked a long stretch of the Fife Coastal Path. We were given a warm welcome by Jean and shown to our room which was ideal. Spacious and nicely decorated, with an attractive seating area in the bay window overlooking the tree-lined street. Beautiful spacious bathroom with terrific shower. After a good night's sleep, we were given a delicious breakfast with vegetarian option. We felt fully refreshed by our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sent one of my team to stay here last week as he was working in the area, so this review is his. Views are valid as we have a review plan for where we stay and we all judge against this.
Great value for money. It was very clean and warm. Food provided at breakfast was excellent. Jean is a very genial hostess. Only downside for business travellers is there is no wifi connection but you can go down to the Cumberland and access free wifi there. All in all a great place to stay if you are in the area and we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Everything a guest house should be. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, with an agreeable landlady. Also easy to find and well situated in a nice area, literally a stone's throw from the sea. Some en suite, some not. Good Internet. TV. Tea-making. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My family stayed one night in the family room with ensuite, having dropped our son at university in St Andrews. The room was immaculate and everything we could possibly need was provided. The breakfast was superb with a great choice. Jean was very friendly and helpful. Will be recommending friends stay at the guesthouse if they vist St Andrews, which was only 15 mins away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Comfortable, pleasantly furnished house in peaceful location a few steps from the shore. Excellent breakfast with good choice at very reasonable cost, friendly and helpful proprietor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lomond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Guest House

Address: 6 Church Road, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leven
Also Known As:
Lomond Guest House Leven, Fife, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lomond Guest House to your Saves list