We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service that is above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lomond Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Lomond Hills Hotel
High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Service that is above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've been going to Lomond Hills for a couple of years now with my corporate shooting parties. Between 8 -10 guys often on their first trip to Scotland outside of the central belt. It's difficult to express just how good the level of personal service is in Lomond Hills Hotel. All the staff make a point of getting to know all my guests names and make them feel exceptionally welcome. Indeed the night before the shooting in Lomond Hills has rapidly become the high point of the entire trip.

Special mention has to made for Ronnie and Erica both of whom regularly go above and beyond what anyone would regard as exceptional service, whether it's Ronnie remembering from last year that you like haggis with your breakfast or Erica chasing you out the door with a can of red bull because "you looked a bit tired this morning" (I was)!

I can't recommend this hotel enough if you are looking for a real sense of the best that Scotland has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello Neil and many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review!
After several shooting trips to Fife with your clients, it is good to know that we keep up the standard of care and attention that you have come to expect. It is not normal, however, that our reception staff chase our customers into the car park in the morning with a can of Red Bull, just to ease their suffering after trying a few of our 50 malt whiskies the evening before ha ha!!!
As always, we look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from all of us and thanks again.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    62
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
87
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bardolino
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had 3 fabulous days here in October. Highly recommended. Family friendly hotel. Staff extremely helpful & friendly - cant do enough for you. Facilities very good and very convenient to most parts if you don't want to be in the centre of Edinburgh! Food really good. You must try their Sunday Night 'High Tea' - it is 'awesome'!!

Room Tip: Great if you want to go to St. Andrews to play Golf, great for visiting Edinburgh, Glasgow. Pool was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi eJanej and thank you for your "EXCELLENT" and very kind review.
It is pleasing to know that your three day break was so enjoyable. Life is very hectic for most of us these days and time away is very precious so I'm delighted that we looked after you.
Good to know too that you enjoyed our famous Sunday High Tea.....hope you managed to leave room for the home made scones and cakes!
We would love to look after you again in the future so just let us know when you plan to return ...soon!
Many thanks again and best wishes from all at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for one night , can't recommend it highly enough , friendly staff and excellent atmosphere , food very good ,good selection and not expensive , breakfast an experience to be savoured , all in all a very good experience .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Many thanks Steven for taking the time to post your very kind review!
It's great to know that you were well fed and looked after during your stay and also that you plan a return visit next year.
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes from Freuchie.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to take my nieces for a treat that would not break the bank. Having four girls to accommodate we called the manager and he was happy to make a room for four and a room for two. The price was good and the hotel is quaint and very clean.
The staff were amazing; the girls were spoken to by everyone and Ronnie made an extra effort to check that they were enjoying themselves.
Dinner was lovely, and living nearby I will be back for meals; an excellent standard at good prices.
The pool was a decent size and we got it to ourselves, adding to the special trip for the girls. We didn't use the jacuzzi as it was out of order, but it wasn't a problem.
Lovely area, close to Falkland for nice walks, the Palace and some lovely shops and cafes.
Would definitely recommend it and it was a memorable stay for us and the kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much C4TMKD for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure looking after you and the girls during your recent stay with us.
My own two children have now flown the nest so I love to spoil kids when they are here and it's great to see them leave with a smile on their faces.
Apologies again for the Jacuzzi being out of use when you were here. It was being deep cleaned which means it's out of use for a couple of days but we need to ensure it is safe to use. It is now, of course, back in action and ready for your next visit. I hope it's not to long until wee see you all again.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Genuinely warm and friendly staff, excellent food. Everything catered for. After many years staying in the area, we are going back for our 8th visit, our only regret is that we did not find this hotel sooner.... Ronnie and his staff deserve great credit for their hard work...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Well Michael, it's taken eight years for you to post a review but it was worth waiting for ha ha!!!
As always, it was great to see you and the boys back for your annual shooting trip. The local fishers enjoyed the chat on their Tuesday night out as is now the norm.
All the staff look forward to your visit each year which, personally, I think is magic. What a nice feeling it is knowing regular "friends" are coming back to stay soon.
I hope you have a great year and don't worry, we'll have plenty Jameson's in ready for your next trip.
Warmest wishes and thanks.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my second time stayed at this hotel and even have booked already for next year ,can't ask for a better place to stay food first class ,staff very friendly and so hopefully ,anything wee asked for was never a problem as said very helpfully staff , so thanks to Ronnie and staff for a pleasant and enjoyable stay see u all next year cheers William and the shooting boys

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much William for your "Perfect review".
It was great to see you all again this year and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your return visit.
I know you plan to come back for another shooting trip next season and we all look forward to welcoming you. It's great that customers become friends.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We are local and visit quite regularly. There are many things that stand out at the Lomond Hills but the main thing is the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Absolutely first rate without exception. The food is also excellent and consistantly so, with an extensive menu. Great steaks and fish dishes and stuff quite unique to the place- like their bothy pie. All generously portioned and very reasonably priced.
Another thing we like is the versatility of the place. We have ate in the bar beside tired mountain bikers, in the restaurant with shooting/ fishing folk, in hidden rooms-beyond-rooms at family get togethers. We do prefer the lounge though, nicely decorated and lit- its a great, atmospheric place, especially when it's a bit dark and dreich outside.
Living locally, can't comment on rooms. my big fingers hit the rooms rating by mistake,but for everything else this is a top notch country hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello und. What a great surprise to see your fantastic review!!!
I'm delighted to read that you obviously enjoy visiting The Lomond Hills Hotel. It is especially pleasing to know that locals are happy to visit and mix with the many guests from around the world who come to stay with us.
It's nice to know that you have tried several of the choices available on our menu and we look forward to your next visit.
First class review from a first class customer. THANK YOU!
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.