We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lomond Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Lomond Hills Hotel
High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hotel lived up to everything we expected! My daughter was married nearby, and the reception was held within the Hotel. The assistance before the event was excellent with advice from both Ronnie and Erica. Relatives who were traveling from near and far asked to be able to check in as early as possible to allow them to attend the Church Service - all their requests were accommodated. On the day of the wedding, the Hotel and the external environs were absolutely spotless. Ronnie and Faye could not have been more helpful, they took personal charge of all of the arrangements, with Ronnie acting as master of ceremonies. The food was excellent, with no complaints from any of the guests. Guests were asked to leave the function suite for a very short time whilst it was rearranged for dancing, however there are sufficient other rooms within the hotel to cater for everyone without feeling squashed.

The majority of the rooms were taken by guests attending the wedding. The room we occupied was very fresh and so comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was cooked fresh to order, with a plentiful supply of hot tea and coffee. We could not thank Ronnie and Faye and all of the staff for their assistance throughout the build up and during the event itself.

If you are looking for a wedding venue in Fife, then this surely is the place to be.

Room Tip: Unfortunately - were too tired to use the spa facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Lindsay and thank you so much for such a fantastic review!!!
I am delighted to see that you were happy with the service you, your family and guests received at Harriet's and Paul's wedding.
We know how important a wedding is to all concerned and do all we can to ensure that such a huge day is enjoyed by everyone attending and the happy memories live on for many years. We also know there is a large choice of venues so I would like to thank you for choosing The Lomond Hills Hotel for the biggest day in your daughter's life!
All the staff at the hotel wish Harriet and Paul all the health and happiness in their life together.
The cow hands can't marry her now ha ha .
Thanks again.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    58
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
82
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an area with limited choice but perhaps B&B is safer! This hotel is well located in a village with good parking. Close to Falkland Palace and Parks. So we thought it would be good base. For August high season it is reasonable value for a 3* hotel but we thought it failed our expectations.
The impression as you enter is of a tired house where the owners struggle. As you progress through, you find many different carpets testifying to trying to keep up. passing a housekeeper ironing in the middle of the sitting room upstairs, to discover a small room right by a (very noisy) fire door. No lift.
The room was double glazed as over the road but that made it airless (it was August) and just seemed grimy lacking clean paint and patched. Not to say it was not cleaned properly - it just didn't feel that way. Wire and plugs all over, the smallest TV I have ever seen and no space to put anything down. Towels on the bed as no space in the tiny bathroom, again looking grimy.
On the plus side, excellent free Wifi and a large warm pool.
Food: Diner is not possible on Sunday unless you give up the afternoon for high tea (of pasta etc).Breakfast was a mystery as it looked fine on paper and appearance but both of us found the cooked version lay heavily inside for much of the day. On the second day followed the example of a French lady and just had fruit and yoghurt which was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the fire door outside #4! Unless the squeak is fixed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review
26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am always willing to hear the thoughts of our guests and see how we compare with previous hotels they have visited. Interesting to look at your historical reviews on Tripadvisor. Not one excellent. Too much expected for the price you pay perhaps?
For the information of your review readers and to avoid doubt, our breakfast menu (cooked freshly to order) is as follows: Apologies to readers for the time it may take to read it).
Selection of nine cereals, prunes, grapefruit, freshly cooked porridge.
Fresh fruit basket containing six different fresh fruits
Selection of eight teas and freshly brewed coffee
Fresh morning rolls, croissants baked on the premises, brown and white toast.
Four jams, honey, four marmalades.
Selection of five different yoghurts
Cooked selection.
Choice of two cooked fish (kippers, poached smoked haddock in milk with poached eggs)
Full Vegetarian Breakfast
Full Scottish Breakfast or your own choice from grilled bacon, pork sausage, potato scone, grilled haggis, grilled black pudding, mushrooms, tomato, beans. Eggs as you want, fried, scrambled, poached.
I cannot work out from the above how you were not satisfied with your breakfast. Check out other reviews posted by delighted guests!
There are indeed different carpets and decor throughout. The hotel dates back to 1733 (a feature loved by many of our return and foreign guests). As the building has expanded, so too has the style of room and corridors. We are not a modern, plastic type purpose built chain hotel but family owned and run.
You are correct in saying we do not serve dinner on a Sunday. We do, however, serve High Tea until 6.45pm (well after the afternoon), which is extremely popular as we are full every week. We do indeed have a pasta dish on the menu, together with two roasts and a choice of 15 other dishes, followed by tea or coffee, toast and preserves, cakes and delicious home made scones....no need to choose pasta if it's not to your liking!!!
We have just had our busiest year since I bought the hotel nine years ago (no sign of the struggle you mention, although many other hotels, bars and restaurants have closed during the recession).
I agree there are visible cables in some rooms. These are required to power all the electrical appliances Visit Scotland insist on to achieve our three star grading. In a 280 year old building with three feet thick stone walls, it is not always easy to raggle cables.
The TV is a standard 18 inch model, popular in most hotels rooms.
Granted (again mainly due to the age and character of the hotel), we do not have a lift. I know this does not normally cause a problem as the bedrooms are on the first floor. Reception staff always offer to help with luggage on check in.
Further, I was interested to learn that you found the hotel grimy.....very out of keeping with the huge majority of reviews, many of which compliment us on the extremely high standard of cleanliness.
It is also our standard practice to place towels on the beds for ease of use and high visibility, regardless of the size of the room.
Room 4 is fully equipped (as per requirements of Visit Scotland) with a double wardrobe, a three drawer chest / desk, two bedside cabinets with drawers and a table. Ample storage I would have thought for a two night stay?
Our staff are just fantastic and appreciated by all who stay with us.
Again, thanks for your review and I will act on the points you raised therein that are valid. The squeaky fire door outside the room has been oiled. I apologise for the disturbance caused.
Ronnie, Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

When i check in Erica was so cheerful and friendly. Chilling out at the bar before the meal. The food that night was great lovely and very quick, Breakfast was all of the same standard , tasty,warm and quick. I will be back. ( P.s Take Harbio's for Erica ).

Colm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your one night stay, your dinner and our Hearty Full Scottish Breakfast!!!
Erica is still eating Haribos ha ha.
We all hope to see you again soon.
Ronnie, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great hotel with very friendly staff who are always ready and willing to help with any request. We were warmly greeted by Erica and Ronnie, the proprietor. Ronnie even drove us to the train station. We made use of the pool and free wifi. The dinner and breakfast were great. Freuchie is certainly worth a visit and we loved our stay there. Thank you to the staff and Ronnie for making our time in Freuchie memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
G'Day Carol and thanks you very much for your kind review.
I hope you have now safely returned to OZ.
It's pleasing to learn that we offer good service (we do have fantastic staff) and that you were able to enjoy the history of the hotel and the lovely area we are situated in.
Happy memories to you both and we would love to see you again on your next trip.
Best wishes from all at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've been around quite a lot and found this hotel a very typical British countryside hotel - BUT: The setting is lovely, the room was good, the menu even better, the breakfast isn't better in any British or Irish hotel and the staff is just the Best! They seemed to be everywhere and all were attentive regardless of if it was really their own responsibility or maybe some collegues business.
Now that we've been there and left, it has sunk in and we are sad that we did not take full advantage due to lots of work in St Andrews.
I would have liked at least two more pints and a few long talks with Ronnie, the owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Bengt and thank you for your very nice review.
I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite having such a busy time at the golf!
I too would have enjoyed another of our real ales with you but our busy times in the evening is when you are relaxing!
I loved the look on your faces when I put the Swedish flag on the front of the hotel for you both....just a wee touch to make you feel welcome to Fife and to Scotland.
I am extra pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast each morning as I was breakfast chef on a couple of occasions during your stay ha ha!
Best wishes and thanks again. Hope to see you soon.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is clearly at the heart of the community with a very friendly atmosphere. All staff were very attentive and welcoming, led by Ronnie, the owner. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and we had dinner both nights we stayed. Menu had good variety and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. I took advantage of the pool and Jacuzzi and it was a great way to unwind after a day's sightseeing. Gym facilities looked good.There was a little mix-up with the room allocation but the problem was handled very well and I was impressed by this. This is a little gem of a hotel with leisure facilities, ideally situated in the heart of Fife and very close to Perth. It provides an ideal base for touring, without all the hustle and bustle of coastal hotels. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello datadog and thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review.
I apologise again for the little mix up on room type allocated to you and thank you for your patience and understanding. At the end of the day I just want our guests to leave feeling happy and well looked after which I'm so glad to read was the case with you.
Our wonderful staff can often overcome known shortfalls elsewhere in the hotel which we are always striving to improve and rectify.
We all hope to see you (and your mum) back to stay with us again soon.
Best wishes and thanks again for staying at The Lomond Hills Hotel and for your review.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stay in many hotels with my work and found this to be one of the best overall.owner managed and it shows in the pride of work. Would recommend to any one.super facilties including pool and gym free wifi in your room. One of the most comfortable beds . Small picturesque village.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for the compliments you gave The Lomond Hills Hotel and our staff!
Much appreciated and hope to see you back again soon.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.