We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Hills

Lomond Hills
Falkland, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Falkland
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I don't eat meat but menu still good .Nothing was any trouble - very prepared to meet guests particular requests

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crail, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Short but strenuous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Starting from the picturesque village of Falkland walking up East Lomond is initially a steep climb up through the woods on steep steps. However two old codgers who are occasional walkers made it to the top in less than an hour so it isn't too difficult. Views from the summit are spectacular looking across the Firth of Forth and north to the Grampians.
Beware while choosing your descent route. Our instructions led us past the trig point on the south slope to the car park beside the telephone masts instead of to the Craigmeed car park adding 2 or 3 km to our walk. Make sure your route down heads toward West Lothian hill.
The path back to Falkland through Mapsie Den is a delight walking behind a waterfall and through a tunnel (beware again, a troll lives here!) then past Falkland House back to the village.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Despite being a showery and windy day, we all enjoyed our scramble to the top. Terrific views over the Forth and on East Lothian.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning Panoramic Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The ease of access to the hills and the well attended pathways with a choice of ascents were a joy for our aged legs to walk and the trek to the summit is well worth it for the splendid views

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the view from my kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I see the Lomonds every day - beautiful view from my kitchen window, great walks in the Lomonds too. At the top of the east Lomond (or as we call it, Falkland Hill) you can see across to Edinburg - fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lomond Hills also viewed

 

Been to Lomond Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.