We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean, warm and with everything you could possibly need! Hot tub makes it extra special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmeadowside Country Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmeadowside Country Lodges
Save
You added Balmeadowside Country Lodges to your Saves list
Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
“Beautiful, clean, warm and with everything you could possibly need! Hot tub makes it extra special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We are eating dinner in the Silver Birch lodge as I write this.... We have enjoyed a lovely woodland walk, seen some gorgeous deer, relaxed on comfy couches, enjoyed a hot shower in a huge bath tub, spent two hours in the hot tub watching the sun set with a glass of Prosecco and eaten a delicious meal we were able to cook ourselves with the excellent facilities and utensils provided.

We are letting our dinner settle and heading straight back to the hot tub to sit under the stars.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone I know.

Other highlights include:
- underfloor heating (toasty toes!)
- free wifi
- an iPod/iPhone music docking station
- and although we don't have a dog we hear it is dog friendly and know many people who would love this!

Erin the site dog is beautiful and very welcoming!!

We will most definitely be back! Expensive but I guess it is worth it for the extremely high quality.

Thank you. Tonight was just what we needed.

Two happy bunnies from fife!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the newly refurbished Cherry Blossom Cottage for a week, and had a wonderful time. Cottage has been done up to a very high standard, cannot fault it at all. Lovely walks around the farm, where we saw pheasants, rabbits, butterflies, dragonflies, and of course Erin the black lab, who accompanied us on several walks. The hot tub was lovely, as was the huge rain shower head in the bathroom. Kitchen is a great size for making evening meals, and the recliners in the lounge are great for chilling out in front of the tv (and blu ray player!!!) Cottage is within easy reach of Scottish Deer Centre, Fife Animal Park, Scotland's Secret Bunker, Cupar, St Andrews...but still feels far enough removed that you can just take a break from everything and chill out.

The only tiny thing I would say is that, although there are signposts for one entrance to the Lodges, you could do with a small signpost or two at the other entrance - through the neighbouring farm. We were directed to go this way by both google maps and the Balmeadowside website, but when we saw the small track we were convinced we were going the wrong way...until a friendly farmer told us we were on the right track after all!!

Overall, we had an absolutely fantastic time, and will definately be back! Thanks very much!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We'll be looking in to additional signs, thanks for letting us know. The farm track isn't the most accesssible road so we encourange all of our guests to use the main site entrance which is accessed from the Newburgh/Cupar road and is signposted.

Your stay sounds amazing - bubbly, good food, relaxing! It sounds like you made the most of the area too!

We hope to see you again soon - keep a look out on our facebook and website for plenty of up coming special offers!

Thanks again for such a kind review!

Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in kingfisher for a week mid august, our weather was fantastic and the lodge was amazing, it is hard to find good quality accommodation that allows dogs and this was definately the best we have found, The standard of the lodge was very high, the views are amazing, really good walks around the lodge for our dog Bella which Erin was happy to join us on, much to Bella's disgust but she did grow to like her after a few walks. We would highly recommend going to tentsmuir for the day for long walks along the beach and in the forest, ideal for dogs. The hot tub was very much a luxury after a long day walking. We will definately be back and really pleased we have found such a gorgeous, relaxing place to stay.
Karen F

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Karen,

That's great! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It's a beautiful day here today!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in Skylark lodge. I can't think of enough words to describe how fantastic quality the lodges are. Five star fixtures and fittings throughout (loved the hot tub) and setting is perfect plus the location is great - 25 mins fom St Andrews, Perth and Dundee within easy reach and Edinburgh less than an hour away. Clearly all the lodges were booked but it never felt busy at all as there was space and privacy between lodges.

We can't wait to book for next year, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to having you back soon! We are currently offering all 2013 bookings the chance to book now at 2012 rates!

Thanks again for all your great feedback!

Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from a romantic weekend in the newly refurbished Cherry Blossom Cottage, it was a home from home with added touches and the added magic of a hot tub and log burning fire! Oh and fantastic views and peace and quiet!!! If you are looking for a special retreat you should check this out. Close to Cupar and St Andrews but far enough away to really allow you to relax - we will be back! Thanks for a great time x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi Fiona,

Thank you so much for such a good review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cherry Blossom as our first guests.

We hope to see you again soon, we've always got special offers on for cheeky little breaks away, so don't hesitate to contact us!

Kind regards,
Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked the newly refurbished rowan tree cottage at balmeadowside for the first week in august.Cant say enough good things about it.Firstly the views were just stunning,the garden with lit decking and a superb hot tub was fantastic(loved the hot tub so much,would have took it home if we could fit it in the car).inside everything was top of the range,huge lcd tv,open log burning fire,huge dining kitchen(gorgeous,never enjoyed cooking so much).then the bedrooms were very nicely decorated.The super king double bed gave us the best 7 nights sleep we've ever had!The bathrooms were just beautifully done.Cant thank the staff enough,nothing was too much trouble for Andy the handyman.Overall this is one of the nicest places weve ever booked in scotland.Will be going back and back again.

Room Tip: there are also 7 lodges at balmeadowside with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks Val! Was a joy to have you and your family as the first guests in Rowan Tree Cottage!

Can't wait to have you all back - including Erins little friend!

We've always got special offers for mid week breaks and weekend on the go, so keep in touch!

Romantic break in Cherry Blossom next time?

Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Finally I'm writing a review on our June 2012 break at Balmeadowside Lodges.
This was one of the most relaxing holidays we've ever had, even our German Shorthaired Pointer Lukas enjoyed his holiday.
We stayed at the Copper Beech Lodge, which was beyond what we could have hoped for. It was spotless and in a lovely quiet location with lots of great walks and some lovely scenery.
The Hot Tub was fabulous, even better with a nice glass of Champagne.
The lodge was well equipped with everything you could want, even a wireless internet connection to keep my husband happy.
We will definately return, we are hoping to be back in November.
Liz Brown

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Lizzy!

Great to hear you had such a great time - and took full advantage of our hot tubs! Lukas looks like he's enjoying himself in the photo!

We look forward to welcoming you back and suggest you to sample our top lodges with hot tubs and newly renovated cottages with wood burning stoves AND hot tubs next time!

You know where we are if you want to book up for November! 01334 651100!

It's really great to get feedback like yours! Thank you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmeadowside Country Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmeadowside Country Lodges

Address: Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cupar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmeadowside Lodges are modern lodges and cottages set on the south facing slopes of a working farm overlooking the surrounding countryside of Fife. While the setting itself is peaceful and relaxing, the central location means Dundee, St Andrews, Perth and even Edinburgh are not far away. With one king size or Super king size bedroom and one twin bedroom in each lodge, Balmeadowside Lodges are ideal for your romantic break or self catering family holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmeadowside Country Lodges Cupar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmeadowside Country Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.