We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmeadowside Country Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmeadowside Country Lodges
Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“A truly hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my 40th birthday. The lodges where fantastic having everything you could want there for you. The views are breathtaking. Sitting in the hot tub after night fall with champagne in hand looking over nothing but fields is amazing.the only thing missing in the lodges was a mop as the laminate flooring can get a bit wet and slippery when entering the lodge after being in the tub. The best recommendation I can give the lodges is we got home on Sunday night and had booked our next visit in December by Tuesday lunch ...........great place

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We recently returned from a lovely break at Balmeadowside Lodges. We stayed in the Kingfisher lodge. A beautiful lodge. Very spacious, spotlessly clean well furnished with excellent kitchen, bathrooms, etc. The bed in the master bedroom was the comfiest I have ever slept in. Needless to say the hot tub was great. Beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Very peaceful.
There is a lot to do in the nearby area for families with young children. The Scottish Deer Centre was a good day out as was Tentsmuir Forest & Beach and our boys loved The Secret Bunker.
The only downside was the tracks leading to the farm and up to the lodges. They are very rough and need very careful driving.They are the only thing which would make us think twice about returning. They are fine for quadbikes, farm vehicles and 4x4s, but not the average family car.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmeadowside, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I agree the road is in need of repair - it is on the "to do" list! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Lodges & just had to write a review to say how fantastic it was!!

Firstly though i do have to start off with a slight negative.... After our original booking i was sent out my confirmation stating that the lodge would be ready with key in the door @ 4pm. Thinking that this was a bit late we decided to add on an early check in (2pm) So we arrived @ 2pm to find the key in the Lodge.... So we went inside & found the lodge looking in my opinion clean & ready to use.. However the door was opened behind us & we were asked (by a blonde haired woman who never at any point told us who she was) rather abruptly 'can i help u??' after explaining our situation.... we had a booking/early check in etc she informed us that there must have been some mix up as our lodge wasnt ready!! To be honest im not really a complainer but i felt like the way she spoke to us it was our fault that she wasnt ready & she didnt apologise at all!! She asked us to 'go somewhere' & come back @ 4pm!! We explained that we didnt know anywhere nearby to go to & that we had the dog in the car who had been there for the hours drive up she just looked at us blankly & didnt offer any suggestions!! WE finally suggested that we would take the dog a walk & come back!! She then informed us that it would be around half an hour & she would call us to come back.... An hour later @ 3pm she called on us & we were able to get into our lodge... I will say at this point she did apologise however im not quite sure it made up for the rudeness & abrupt way that she had spoken to/treated us at first!!

Anyway once we got into our cabin this incident was quickly forgotten... Silver Birch was spotlessly clean & stunning!! Huge living area, modern bedroom & the bathroom was lovely!! Outside decking area & hot tub & the views were amazing!!

We spent most of the weekend chilling out in the hot tub & taking our German Shepherd Lola walks & enjoying the countryside!!! We hardly seen anyone about & it was so peaceful we felt like we were the only 2 people there even though all the cabins seemed to be full!! We took a drive into Coupar to stock up on more wine & some supplies to cook a nice dinner but other than this we hardly left the cabin... but when ur sitting in 40 degrees hot tub looking at some amazing views with a glass of champagne in your hand.... who would!!!

One other thing if taking a dog there is a wee black lab that was running about & although very friendly with humans it didnt seem to like our Lola much & growled @ her everytime we passed!! :-( Poor Lola (who was the bigger of the 2) was a wee bit scared!!! lol!!

Will deffo be back as it was a fantastic relaxing weekend & i will miss that hot tub!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmeadowside, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your review, Hayley. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but apologise for the poor start to it. On reflection, I perhaps should not have accepted your request for early arrival, as we had so many lodges to turn round in a short time that day. I would be happy to offer you early arrival foc (subject to availability!) should you wish to come again. I have also spoken to the staff member concerned who apologises and says she did not mean to be rude, although I appreciate that this is how she came across. As for Erin, her days are numbered if she harasses guests! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We arrived on 28 dec for approx 1 week. The cabins were 1st class the hot tub was superb, always clean, top up every day and 40 degrees with a glass of champagne in your hand does not get much better. 20 mins to St Andrews 15 mins to Perth 20mins to Dundee, what a great location. Stunning views for miles on the south facing decking.There for the bells and thoroughly enjoy it. Lovely meal in the Ship Inn a couple of miles along the road. As Big Arnie said " I`LL BE BACK"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010 via mobile

Can't rate these lodges higher! Where do I start??? We arrived on a VERY snowy 30th December and got stuck on the hill up to the farm... A problem you'd think, not at all! One phone call and we were towed straight up to our lodge! Once in we couldn't believe our luck, the most perfect, cosy and beautifully set lodge we had ever been in! Complete with gorgeous Christmas tree! We spent a super new year in the hot tub, went some lovely walks on the walks marked out around the lodges and ventured to St Andrews for the day. The service from Donna was superb... She was over to check the hot tub every day and even gave us sledges to make use of the excellent hill behind the lodges! Don't miss out on this fab place - we're going back for a pre christmas chill out and ate thinking if booking again for new year 2011/2012!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainheath-Ltd, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is looking lovely here again with the snow. Nothing better than a nice cosy lodge to come back to after playing outside making snowmen. New Year for 2010 has been fully booked for a while now so make sure and book in advance for next year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmeadowside Country Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmeadowside Country Lodges

Address: Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Cupar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmeadowside Lodges are modern lodges and cottages set on the south facing slopes of a working farm overlooking the surrounding countryside of Fife. While the setting itself is peaceful and relaxing, the central location means Dundee, St Andrews, Perth and even Edinburgh are not far away. With one king size or Super king size bedroom and one twin bedroom in each lodge, Balmeadowside Lodges are ideal for your romantic break or self catering family holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmeadowside Country Lodges Cupar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmeadowside Country Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balmeadowside Country Lodges to your Saves list