We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling! Warning!! Do not book here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crans

Crans
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crans
Save
You added Crans to your Saves list
32 East Road, Cupar KY15 4HQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Cupar B&B and Inns
Brechin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling! Warning!! Do not book here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The owner is a drunk and an aggressive individual who cares nothing for his guests.
We were booked in  to arrive at  17:30, no one was there. We called the owner 8 times. No answer. he arrive 35 mins later totally drunk. He was very agressive. I explained we had waited form 35 mins. He started shouting at me and then he tried to hit me. He actually tried to thump me. We obviously left immediately.  Do not rely on this guest house. Absolutely appalling behaviour! 

Room Tip: Call another b and b
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    3
    11
See reviews for
3
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We arrived at this establishment at 6pm in mid -August, having pre-booked a family room for 4 some 6 months earlier, only to find no-one at home. We rang a mobile number and a landline number only to be put through to the same answer phone. We left messages and pushed a note through the door asking for someone to contact us while we walked into Cupar to reassess our options.
Returning an hour later our spirits rose when we saw a car on the drive. However, this turned out to belong to a regular guest in possession of his own key to the property who was unable to throw any light on the whereabouts of the proprietor or anything else for that matter.
Fortunately, we were able to find accommodation at Wester Dura B&B about a mile away which turned out to be the best thing that could have happened to us.
No-one did ever get back to us but I contacted the owner a week or so later. He told me that he had gone away for a few days but had arranged for an agency to cover for him in his absence. Apparently, he had heard of 2 other bookings during that time who had been let down similar to us.
Hmmmm! Perhaps the half cut lawn, the litter on the drive, the unkempt shrubs and the peeling paint on the door tell a different story!

Room Tip: Unable to state
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding outside Cupar. We got the train and Crans was only a 10 minute walk from the station which was one good feature. We arrived early as we had to get to the wedding and called ahead to tell the owner this so we could drop our bags. When we arrived the room wasn't ready which was fine and we left our bags in the lounge and left.
We returned later that night to find our bags still dumped in the lounge and went to our room. The room was fine, in need of decoration and the bed was old squeaky and uncomfortable. The next morning we went down for breakfast at 0905 as we had to leave at 0930 for our train. We then met the owner who told us there was no food in as he hadn't been to the shops and would be 15-20 minutes getting it. When we said even toast or cereal was fine we were told there was no milk or butter. What bed and breakfast doesn't even have butter at 0905??? We managed to get 1 orange between us and left hungry... No discount was given for the lack for breakfast.

I'm not fussy about places to stay but this place was seriously lame.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Booked to stay one evening late May, organised booking some 4 weeks in advance. Informed owner we would be travelling up from London to arrive late evening. Upon arrival we were informed rather abruptly and without apology, in a matter of fact tone that there had been a double booking, but that alternative accommodation had been booked for us elsewhere at another B+B a few houses down. We were told nothing more and had to ask basic information such as the name of the alternative accommodation. The owner then closed the door on us without further explanation or mention as to why he hadn't phoned to tell us this in advance. We went to the alternative B+B only to find that there weren't any rooms available. The owner of that B+B informed us that the owner of Crans had merely mentioned to her that his guests might require 1 room for a single person for the night, but had not confirmed this. Her single room had since been let. She did her best to help us by calling neighbouring B+B's, but all were fully booked. So there we were, a family of 3, dreadfully tired after our long journey, stranded in Cupar with nowhere to stay. With no option but to take to the road looking for somewhere to stay the night, we eventually secured accommodation near Dundee, some 20 mins drive away. A totally unacceptable way to treat paying guests.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed for a single night.

Room itself was fine and bed comfortable but could have done with a bit more of a clean - plenty of dust/cobwebs etc - no TV, tea making etc which is pretty much a basic standard these days and cant remember the last place I stayed at without those.

Real issue was the shared bathroom/shower room/toilets. The shower room was pretty grim, very dirty, hair/dust/grime all around the base, The toilet was in a smilar state - I did at one point move the toilet brush and physically wretched at the puddle of I am sure you can image of what it was sat in.

When later in the evening I chose to use the alternative toilet, went to lift the seat up and the toilet seat itself was not even secured to the base.

Breakfast was ok, took a while - had to wait for a taxi company to bring milk as the milk in the fridge had gone off - the sprigg of fresh herbs on the top of the breakfast freshly picked from outside the kitchen door would have been a nice touch had they been washed first and not covered in dirt and bugs!

Whilst it was cheap enough - £32.50 for a single occupant, even in the cheapest of places you expect much higher hygene standards.

Shame really as it could clearly be a really nice place - and some of the older posts on here highlight that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

we stayed 1 night at this b&b- the room wasnt ready at 3.30pm (check in time was 3pm)-so we said we would drive into the town until 4pm! the property is just off the main road, and can be difficult to get in and out of the drive! (we drove past it twice......there are no signs to say it is a b&b!)
the room was tiny, very basic with moth eaten, old bed linen, not the cleanest!........no tv or even a clock radio! looked like it hadnt been hoovered for years! the tv is in the communal sitting room downstairs.
had to share 1 bathroom with 6 other guests......pathetic!
the owner was very accomodating and made us breakfast earlier than he would normally on a sunday and it was lovely!
parking was dire......only room for really 3 cars........and there are 3 rooms........and he has his 4x4 parked in the drive-nightmare trying to leave when you want ..........if other guests are still in bed!
i did feel that the present owner was very nervous, but he seemed a nice chap!
i would not recommend this accomodation to my friends tho...........unless it was totally revamped!!! :(

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Lovely little B&B, conveniently located for St Andrews and Cupar Town centre. Warm hospitality, good breakfast and very confortable room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crans

Address: 32 East Road, Cupar KY15 4HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cupar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main St Andrews Road and in the heart of this famous golfing county, Crans provides the perfect base from which to discover Fife's many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crans Cupar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.