We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrimination” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 33 Nethergate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
33 Nethergate
Save
You added 33 Nethergate to your Saves list
33 Nethergate, Crail KY10 3TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Discrimination”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I tried to book a room for one night for my partner and I, and our nine month old daughter. Having spent several hours searching, I made a reservation online. Only to receive a reply a couple of hours later to say it had been declined because previous guests had complained about another young child who stayed there. Our daughter is perfectly well behaved and we are extremely disappointed to have been tarred with the same brush. Shame on you. We will make sure other people hear about this and recommend they don't stay at this place.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
If we may paraphrase this reviewer - “shame on you” for posting such a nasty and untrue review.

It was never stated, or even remotely implied by us that this prospective customer's baby is not well behaved, so we have no idea where the “discrimination” claim comes from. It may just be a mother's natural protectiveness at a perceived slight to her baby, because this booking was rejected. We are certainly not discriminating against this prospective customer or her baby and we find that comment deeply offensive. We do not accept ANY AND ALL children under five.

We received an e-mail on 23rd August at 9 p.m., as follows, and this is a direct quote. “I have made a booking through your web site for one night (24th August) for two adults and our nine month old baby”. Wrong!. Our booking system only allows the room to be booked for two adults – this is a mandatory field. There is no field (mandatory or otherwise) for booking a child. This clearly violates our booking conditions, hence we were perfectly entitled to reject this booking. We do state that we are able to accommodate an additional adult or a child under twelve in this room. This does not mean or imply that it is suitable for a baby, or that we would accept such a booking. What it does mean is that the room has a bed for a child - not a cot for a baby. We would expect a courtesy call to discuss what additional items we might be required to supply and the cost, per our website, especially at less than twenty four hours notice. Our main consideration here is to respect the right to privacy of all guests to an unbroken night's sleep. No mother could ever give a guarantee that a nine month old baby would not cry during the night.

We can and do regularly accommodate children between 5 and 12, but not babies or infants. Yes, we have had problems with babies/infants before, as the reviewer rightly states. It logically follows that we don't accept babies/infants now for that very reason!

For the avoidance of doubt we have now changed our terms and conditions on our website from the very obvious, ”This room can accommodate a third adult or child, please contact us for more information and cost” to the even more obvious “Sorry, no children under five”.

The above review is an example of Trip Advisor being used as a blunt instrument by a prospective customer to disrespect us and our business - “shame on you” indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

2 spacious and beautiful rooms with which were totally & recently renovated.
Sue made the decoration of this house and it is just special.
Allan and Sue are so kind and friendly that they make you feel at home.
Breakfast excellent and don´t forget to ask Sue for their home made delicious biscuits.
(Sorry for this Sue...)

Room Tip: 1 room with twins bed and another with King Size, both beautiiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for this review and glad you liked the shortbread too! Hope your wife has made some for the family now that she has the recipe....kind regards from Crail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A fabulous find! Wonderful rooms, breakfast, hospitality,location....! We will come back soon we hope with the other half of our family! Thankyou very much for a lovely but too short stay in your excellent B and B.

Jacqueline and Rhona

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We would love to see you again with your family. Thanks for your kind words too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My my husband and I stayed here for one night with the lovely Sue and Alan. They were so welcoming and friendly and have a beautiful spotlessly clean house decorated and furnished to an extremely high standard. Breakfast was set out beautifully with a good selection on offer and was really tasty. I would highly recommend a stay here as it is definitely a 5* establishment and will definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for these wonderful comments!! Alan and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 1 night and would highly recommend this B&B. Very friendly and professional service from Allan and Sue. Our room was delightful and everything about this establishment is most certainly of a 4* hotel. Everything is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is beautifully cooked. The detail of thought put into the furnishing our room and ensuite was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your very positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us...Sue and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with Sue and Alan at 33 Nethergate. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home in an incredibly high standard of accommodation run by a very warm and welcoming couple. We stayed in the Nethergate Suite - absolutely immaculate, beautifully decorated with obvious attention to detail. Chilled water provided in the room, along with a flask of milk - much better than the usual UHT. The Tunnocks teacake and mini hob nobs delighted hubby no end! Breakfast was excellent, a perfectly cooked breakfast with all you could wish for, tasty fruit salad and delicious fresh strawberries, all served by a very attentive couple. Crail is a lovely place to visit and we would not hesitate to recommend 33 Nethergate to anyone looking for accommodation. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect place to go for a final holiday before our lives are changed forever! Thank you Sue and Alan!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for this review. Your life changing event may limit your travel plans for a wee while! Hope all goes well for you both...regards...Sue and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are looking for a B&B in Crail then please look no further. I stayed with my mum for a night whilst walking the Fife Coastal Path and had a great stay. Sue and Alan were welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The house is beautiful, we stayed in the Garden room which was decorated to a high standard and had a bathroom which was bigger than most bedrooms we stayed in elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanm_wallace, Owner at 33 Nethergate, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for this great review. Thanks indeed for the card and gift you kindly sent which we really appreciated...Sue and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 33 Nethergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 33 Nethergate

Address: 33 Nethergate, Crail KY10 3TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star rated by Visit Scotland. Luxury bed and breakfast accommodation within an elegant, spacious Victorian town house, set in a tree lined street within the historic conservation village of Crail, in the East Neuk of Fife, Scotland. An absolutely ideal centre for golf at Crail, Kingsbarns (2km), St Andrews (15km), walking, touring, sports or just relaxing. Ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
33 Nethergate Crail, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 33 Nethergate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.