We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offbeat but good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Offbeat but good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

In the hope that the forecasters were right and we were going to get two consecutive sunny days this June, we threw an overnight bag in the car and set of for Fife. Meandered up the coast and got sunburned eating lunch at Elie. Decided to try and find somewhere to stay over and were beginning to despair of finding a room, since we discovered our visit coincided with St Andrews University graduations, and those who couldn't afford the St Andrews prices were spread farther down the coast.
We eventually stopped in Crail and tried phoning the Marine. No answer, so walked down to see if the owner was maybe out in the garden on such a nice day. Met him emerging from the front door and asked if he had a room available. Were ushered through to the garden, via the lounge/dining room, which was a bit cluttered and old fashioned, but hey, it's an old house. Another couple had just arrived before us and he was about to show them up to a room, and it would depend on what they took, what he could offer us, but we were asked if we would mind waiting and since we were in no hurry, we were happy to enjoy the great views and the late afternoon sun. There was some evidence of staff (two Polish girls and one of their mothers) being sent hurriedly to service rooms before either we or the other couple saw them.

What we got was, he said, not at all his best room but was a large room on the second floor facing onto the street, with twin beds zipped together to make a king size, There was a set of bunks in the L shape created by the en suite bathroom, which rejoiced in an avocado green bathroom suite - a real blast from the past. The curtains, bedding and carpet were in no way co-ordinated, but the bed linen was clean and fresh, the bathroom likewise and there were even thoughtful little touches like cotton buds and cotton wool pads for face cleanser.

Morgan briefed us on the local eating places, but also cheerfully invited us to go and buy drinks or food at the shop and eat out in the garden if we fancied, so we did buy something to drink and enjoyed it out in the garden before eating at the recommended East Neuk on the main street (excellent food, but poor lass rushed off her feet). On our return from dinner we found him and his staff on the little front patio with a guitar and a bottle of vodka, and three fellow guests who had been shanghaied into joining them for a time. Blessedly the singing didn't go on too long and we slept well.

Breakfast was absolutely fine and there was a great selection on the buffet, as well as cooked breakfasts available. Ok, so the cat meandered in from time to time, and the place is in need of repair and a revamp, but at £55 for B & B for two of us, when I'd recently paid £17 for just a bunk in a cramped dorm in a youth hostel and had to share a shower with goodness knows how many other folk, it was extremely good value.

And, as a lot of other reviewers have said, Morgan is definitely not your average host, but with us he was welcoming, friendly and relaxed. I can see that his style might put some people off, and that he may have a rather off-beat attitude which could tip over at times, but despite the decor being tired and things a tad unusual, we really enjoyed our night at the Marine and would, without doubt go back. We've felt a lot less welcome and a lot less comfortable in far posher places than this. But if Morgan ever did call in Alex Polizzi and did a "Hotel Inspector" make-over, he could end up charging serious prices for the rooms in this extremely well located establishment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MERE, CHESHIRE, ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not everybodies cup of tea maybe, but we found The Marine and Morgan the owner a good place to stay, very relaxed old fashioned, jazz playing in the lounge diner with the doors opening into a garden overloking the Firth of Forth and Isle of May. Good breakfast rooms small but adequate and no problem taking our Scottie dog. We shall return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

we enjoyed staying in that wonderful old-fashioned hotel. Morgan welcomed us very friendly and introduced us with good advices in the Scottish way of life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

awesome hotel in great location :some of the rooms are wonderful and the hotel is set in a lovely part of town with easy access to back garden and coastal walks.You are welcomed by morgan who couldnt have been more helpful and we loved the ambiance of the whole place.It may be shabby chic but the place was spotless .you will either like it or hate it ;we liked it!!!!!!!irish peteand gillybean

Room Tip: get the big room facing the sea ! awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Had lovely stay in the marine hotel crail gorgeous views dad had single right across from me and my son perfect accomodation and morgan was very helpful will definitely be recommending the marine to my family and workmates thankyou also for the great fryup In the morning served by a lovely girl

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Don’t expect too much for £35 a night, but the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and warm and the Full Scottish Breakfast is massive, but no black pudding. Makes me think that the owner is possibly a Sassenach. No bar but it is OK to bring your own drinks.

Room Tip: One overlooking the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

When my husband and I arrived at the Marine we were welcomed by a very pleasant man, Morgan. He kindly showed us too our room, the room was average maybe needs a little upgrade but we found it fine.
If you want a b&b with a modern taste, i wouldn't pick this one. But my husband and I liked the quirky old style of the marine, but others may not. The best part of the room was the amazing sea view(overlooking the Isle of May), wouldn't get that view any where else, at night we sat out in the garden (great weather when we were there)
The breakfast was quick and tasted very good, the waitress was kind and helpful. We stayed at the Marine for 2 nights and had a lovely time and would probably visit and stay again! Thank you Morgan and staff for a delightful stay.

Room Tip: go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please come and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Crail, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list