We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bankwell Road, Anstruther KY10 3DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On arrival the reception staff seemed more interested in their computer screens than to attend to check in duties - rude. Eventually we had to ask if there was any chance of service - off to a bad start and the theme continued throughout our stay. The room was tired, the cleaner gathered up all the rubbish and left in neatly in a bag on a chair! We had a dinner/bed/breakfast deal however the food on offer in the deal was so bland we had no option but to go for the a la carte menue at extra cost. I could go on but you get the message - spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Michael H
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disapointed on this occassion. My apologies for the lack of attention you were shown at check in, this is not something I hear very often, our staff are usually praised on their attentiveness and service.
We have a new Head Chef just start last week and I know that he is working on changing the menus.
Kine regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    49
    38
    20
See reviews for
25
95
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this hotel is very very dated we needed a disabled friendly room and were put in annex where only thing disabled friendly was the ramp into it, "walk in shower" was 14" high in a ghastly bathroom with dark brown walls and carpet(horrid) ancient tv, hairdryer, and kettle had bare wires and had to be replaced,it is shabby,dated ,very cramped, the corridor is pitch black even during the day and you have to switch a light on that lasts for 45 seconds even if my wife could reach it she could not get to room in that time so be warned we will never go back to this hotel but Anstruther is lovely and we will go back there

Room Tip: don't know how to get a good room as whole hotel is shabby and we spoke to hotel direct and told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights 11th May to 15th,on arrival the Hotel looks very much in need of a paint.Our room was in the Annex which was warm and clean but the carpet was torn and a carpet in the en suite-surely not on in this day and age!!The TV was ancient and the picture kept coming and going.As for the Hotel it was very busy, the staff were pleasant the breakfasts were really good,but the the evening meals were not good on the nights when there was a function.On the Sunday we both chose the Roast and it was very obvious that it was a reheated meal.Have to say the meal on our last night was the best.The Haddock and Chips was not a patch on the quality of the restaurant in the town.All in all rather disappointing because with a paint job, new carpets and better quality evening meals it could be a grand Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JohnW068
Thank you for your review. It's always good to get feedback from our customers, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet the standards expected.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I organised a group visit for 12 adults to the Isle of May. The trip was great with lots of seabirds and plenty of sun. In the evening we tried to get a group booking for dinner, but most places were booked-up. The Craw's Nest squeezed us in and we had a lovely meal. Service was friendly and efficient. The fish and chips were great, just as good as the waterfront chippies. We also forgot to ask for individual bills and the manager was very obliging and had no problem with individual payments. A really nice and friendly hotel that finished our trip off well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Jos1966
I am very glad that we managed to accommodate your party and more so that you all enjoyed your meal too. Hopefully you will think of us again for your next trip to the area.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I turned up early at the Craws Nest on Saturday morning only to be told that I could not check in until after 2pm,but the Receptionist took my case through to the back office to allow me to have a wander about Anstruther, as I was sharing a room with a friend we went back to the Hotel after 5 and took our cases up to our room. The room was small for a double but clean and adequate for our needs. On Sunday we went down for Breakfast where we could help our self to a selection of fresh juices and cereals,we both had a fryup and it was ok,service was quick and pleasant,I could not comment about other facilities ie the bars as we did not use them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear FerretGlasgow
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I'm sorry you couldn't get into your room when you arrived, the hotel must have been very busy the previous evening otherwise I'm sure reception would have re-allocated you a room that had been vacant the night before if they had one available. But I am glad this did not impede on the enjoyment of your stay.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Made a late booking via Hotel Connexions for Saturday night and found a spotless and comfortable hotel. We were in the Annexe and the room was bright with a sea view. Some aspects were slightly dated but fairly normal for a 3 star place in Scotland. Food was excellent, the menus had great variety. Perhaps avoid the set menu for residents, its boring but some folk might like that. The shore is only 3 minutes walk downhill. A pub with real Ales is 5 mins along the main road - The Creel Inn, and a beer garden. The Masonic Arms is a cosy pub in the harbour with a real fire and good whisky selection.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for extra pillows, they only supply one per bed and thet are very flat. We were in the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Gallous-lassie

Thank you for your review, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay even if it was such a short one. I have passed your comments regarding the menu to the Hotel Manager so that she can liase with the Chef on the selection offered.
We hope to see you again soon for a longer break.
Kind Regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a really nice time thank you to the absolutely excellent staff, the family atmosphere, where you thought knew all of them was brilliant. The hotel as a whole is very good although the only thing I can say is it needs a wee bit of an update, we were in room 21 and the bathroom was so dark ( even with all the lights on), just minor things like the cocktail Lounge tables need a fresh coat of varnish, room 21 roof fill on hole along edge. But to be honest that's minor titalation needed it does not spoil your stay. By the way I've stayed in a lot of hotels and that was the best breakfast I have had the quality of the produce and the cooking was top notch. My thanks to you all for a pleasant night which I so needed

Room Tip: Phone and ask staff they are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dera sxsky,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay at the Craw's Nest Hotel.

I am glad that the hotel team look after you well - good service, food and importantly hospitality counts for so much these days. It's good to see we are delivering that. Many thanks again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel

Address: Bankwell Road, Anstruther KY10 3DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craws Nest Anstruther
Craws Nest Hotel Anstruther
Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel Anstruther, Scotland - Fife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.