We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank - Anstruther

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bank - Anstruther to your Saves list
The Bank - Anstruther
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 - 25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

"Stayed here with my wife & two friends as part of an 'Itison' deal. The rooms we were allocated were absolutely superb, massive, huge comfortable beds with large TV (Sky) & a lovely bottle of red wine waiting for us !! Ate there both nights & the dinners were excellent as was the service. Could not fault this hotel on anything & their attention to detail is impressive which I believe is down to the fact it is privately owned by a hard working couple !! Would definitely return !!'
Reviewed by Derek Graham

and then by

Fiona & Drew Adamson (the other baldie!)
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 25th November, 2013

All we would like to add is that we went the Hilton at Dunkeld for our first anniversary, the food and rooms at "The Bank" are far superior, thanks again for a lovely weekend, hopefully my husband will read this and maybe book it up for our next anniversary lol!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    61
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
116
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Bank on an Itison deal, which included a 3 course meal on second night and bottle of wine when we arrived. The room was fantastic, well equiped with fridge, safe and tea/coffee etc. We were on the down a level from he main door but still had a view over the sea with the door right out into the beer garden and from there you could get onto a small beach when the tide was out which was more or less all day. The bathroom was luxury to us as we have quite a small bathroom at home. Excellent shower and a very big bath. We had dinner at the Waterfront Restaurant one of the nights which is a sister hotel, food and service was excellent. We ate at the Bank the other night. Once again the choice and food was excellent same as the service. My husband requires the assistance of a guide dog and staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Thanks to the member of staff you put a bowl of water in the room for the dog. This hotel is well worth a visit whether it be to stay or just to have a meal. Well done guys. OAKLEY THE DOG SAYS "FIRST CLASS"
Just to be aware there is no parking at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This B&B is top of the range. From the spacious and spotless bedroom, the excellent breakfast, dinner so good that we decided to indulge on the second night. The staff although young were friendly and attentive. This was excellent value and the pub was a lovely addition as it saved going out in the freezing cold at night. Anstruther is not the easiest to get to and from, but the Bank surely makes the journey worth while

Room Tip: We were in room 1, waking up looking out over the harbour was beautiful and the room was very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in The Bank for 2 nights last week on an Itison voucher deal which included dinner on first night, plus bottle of wine on arrival. I must say we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel and the food given such a modest price.
We were in Room 1 on the top floor and it was fantastic - very large with a huge kingsize bed and a bathroom which was bigger then some hotel rooms I have stayed in. The room was very well equipped with a very large flat screen TV(with Sky); a mini fridge with complimentary water and a safe. Everything was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a large Jacuzzi bath and a large walk-in shower with complimentary toiletries. The view was of the sea and the harbour and really lovely.
Breakfasts were excellent with a huge variety of choices freshly cooked to order in the conservatory restaurant. Dinner was also good with a reasonable selection of choices. Staff were very friendly and we had a thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a very good choice as we were not bothered by noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have recently returned from a very enjoyable first visit to this hotel. We had an excellent room with every facility we could hope for including a large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and great seaview. There was a small fridge within the wardrobe with bottles of water plus a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. There was a very good selection on offer at breakfast and dinner however I would suggest that they make a point of serving all their food on hot plates as that would make a huge difference to the enjoyment of their excellent fare.
Staff are all young and very cheery and helpful which made our visit very enjoyable as they couldn't do enough to help. Car parking not available at hotel but free parking 2 minutes away. We will be happy to return again.

Room Tip: We had seaview room which was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break at The Bank. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and the meals were delicious. We'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Friendly helpful owners and staff. Very well appointed large room with everything one needed (Wardrobe hanging space nil though!). Evening meal and breakfast delicious. Our room on the roadside and very noisy, believe new windows to be fitted which should help. However, our friends' room upstairs, overlooking sea and they heard nothing. Cost very reasonable too.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room overlooking sea, might not be as big as ones on roadside but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Address: 23 - 25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Scotland - Fife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank - Anstruther, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.