We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craw's Nest Hotel Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Craw's Nest Hotel Restaurant
Bankwell Road, Anstruther KY10 3DA, Scotland
01333 310691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 Restaurants in Anstruther
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

after reading reviews was quite worried. stayed overnight and although rooms are dated, they are clean and fit for purpose. Breakfast was lovely, quick service, lots of choice. Did think that it was over priced but maybe that is the going rate for the east neuk. (80 per night bed and breakfast , double room)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    24
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For fans of grey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

outdated, old fashioned, geriatric. For fans of grey or brown dishes and those who think value means a lot of chips. Use of the craw's nest seems exclusively by the elderly, those on coach trips and those who have got some kind deal from the sunday post.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“graat party night let down by food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we attended a party night which was excellent, the food was average but oneof the meals had to be sent back as it was cold. you only get what you pay for. the place has nice feel but is tired.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“went down hill fast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Craw's Nest is now trading on it's name alone, the family that took this hotel to it's peck of popularity sadly sold and moved along a while ago, even at the latter end of their ownership, the hotel was starting to look dated and needed refurbishing. I was invited along for a meal and had my reservations, but, decided to go just in case the standards were higher than my last visit a couple of years previous. Sadly, they were not. I had scampi and I could have squeezed the oil from my food, my plate was swimming in oil. The scampi was obviously frozen, had a lot of water in it. Usual fair of frozen peas and chips, just not up to scratch at all. Very sad that this hotel, when I did have my wedding reception at in 1987, has gone so far down the pan!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“great bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staff first class the bar food is very good and plenty of it,the rooms are a bit dated but clean and if they has some deals on now and again the place would be full.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craw's Nest Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Craw's Nest Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craw's Nest Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.