We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dog-friendly hotel in a lovely wee village in Fife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aberdour Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdour Hotel
38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rooms £60 B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent dog-friendly hotel in a lovely wee village in Fife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over a long weekend with my wife and two wee dogs. Our room was in the old part of the hotel and not in the refurbished rooms. The room itself was a bit small for the first 2 evenings and the last night, we were located to a larger room overlooking the main room. Despite it's size, the first room had all you needed for a comfortable and quiet stay. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and the bar and the food was excellent. Very good quality and the bar had a good buzz about it and plenty of locals were there.

I would definitely be back and despite the older and smaller rooms offered to people with pets, the welcome, service and food certainly makes up for this!

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms look great but I think they are not pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    69
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
79
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I visited for lunch. We were very impressed by the service as they were keen to please and also seek feedback if you are happy to do so. Food was a good selection and the Haggis and the Lasagne were lovely. Lovely roaring fie. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at this hotel, The food in particular was outstanding!!(arguably the best in Fife), All of the staff are very friendly and attentive.
A three minute walk to the railway station(FREE overspill car park, if the Hotel car park is full), trains to Edinburgh/Dundee/Aberdeen etc.
Overall Fantastic!, we will all visit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 21-24 are very large rooms(2 of which are family rooms), they are separate from the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What makes this place so dear to us is the service and the staff. They really go that extra mile without being over the top. Add to this the food and fabulous room and it ensures that we will keep on coming back. If they'll have us.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard will be quieter. They are more like apartments, they are so big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
If it's ever not great please let ME know. We try very hard to ensure consistency as we feel it is the key to success. That is why we value feedback so much. Thanks Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night mid week. Service, staff and food all excellent. Bar full of locals giving it a great atmosphere. I needed to print off a boarding card and given help there too. Good value. Exiting the car park can be a little exciting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I recently stayed for a week at The Aberdour Hotel and I really couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable holiday. The hotel was modern, stylish, comfortable and clean. The welcome and hospitality which I received from Scott and Iona, ably assisted by Mike and Natasha, was world-class and second-to-none. The food in the hotel's restaurant was superb (special praise must be given to Ian and Kyle) and, in my opinion, worthy of a few Michelin stars. The cooked breakfasts were also very tasty and a perfect way to start each morning. Aberdour is a beautiful, tranquil haven with a pretty harbour, several specialist/boutique shops/galleries, two sandy beaches, a castle and golf course. It is also situated on the pretty Fife Coastal Path. Edinburgh is only 30 minutes away by train and there are also regular bus services to Dunfermline and Kirkcaldy (where there are excellent interchanges with routes to St Andrews and the pretty East Neuk coastline). Many thanks to all at the hotel for giving me the perfect break. I will definitely be back (as long as I can get a room - this place deservedly looks to be very popular!)

Room Tip: Try one of the superior rooms in the courtyard/stables at the back of the hotel. They are large, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I had 4 nights in Aberdour recently. Accommodation was more than satisfactory, without being 5 star, however the service was exceptional, the staff delightful and the food in this little pub was really sensational. Great value, close to Edinburgh and easy access to St Andrews. Very close to perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.