We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar Inn

The Cedar Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cedar Inn to your Saves list
The Cedar Inn
20 Shore Road, Aberdour KY3 0TR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
DONCASTER
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lucky choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My grand-daughter always decides where we should take her for our annual summer holiday jaunt, and this year she chose Scotland. No idea why, but her wish is my command so I looked for a hotel close enough to Edinburgh for us to get there quite quickly (on our return from a trip to Sweden to see friends) and far enough away from the big city for us to have a beach mini-holiday. Aberdour looked nice so I came to TA to look for a suitable hotel and found this one. In January I booked three nights, without realising that it was in the middle of the Fringe, but as it happened they could accommodate us. We taxied in from the airport, arriving exhausted not long before midnight, and were directed straight to our very comfortable room. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel every day we were there and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. A great location close to the fabulously quiet beach, excellent accommodation and lovely helpful staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
30
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had dinner and drinks with friends in the Cedar Inn last evening and were delighted with the quality of food and great services it was nice to see the owners of a business hard at work and engaging with the customers. the house wine is a must try and really affordable so much so we managed to consume three bottles between four of us it was great to have a venue that offers live music. Cedar inn is a must when passing through Fife and its kid and dog friendly with a bouncy castle in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well located village/town inn providing very good food with friendly service.
We fell over this place whilst taking our 5 year old out for a train trip from Edinburgh to go out over the Forth Bridge.
Aberdour makes an excellent destination to turn such a trip into a day out to include lunch at the Cedar Inn followed by a lovely harbour and beach walk. The trains back from the quaint village station are every half hour and the coastal scenery and views are fantastic.
The cedar Inn provided very good pub grub at very reasonable prices and is very child friendly. A small beer garden at the back complete with bouncy castle was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not stay, but we may well do in future...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Consistently provides excellent service, great atmosphere and good value. It is a 'local' pub, but incredibly welcoming.

The lounge is great for relaxing, whilst the whisky bar also has a good selection of real ales. Sitting outside in the summer is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Situated in a quiet village within a 5 minute walk to the local rail station. Easy walk to the golf course, beach and shops. Friendly pub with an onsite restaurant. Meals are quite reasonable and well presented. The locals make you welcome, and the staff and owners are very hospitable, friendly and obliging. Would definately return given the opportunity. Off street parking provided.

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooking the lane is very spacious and well presented with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a really nice family meal here after a day on the beach. Car park a bit tight, but parking in the streets.

Nice and friendly and quite quick service. Certainly will return on the next visit to Silver Sands

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very friendly staff, very dog friendly which is why we went, there was a muck up with our booking but they give us a discount. Food was average considering we waited 30 /40 mins to arrive. I would go back again on a less busier day as it has a local, relaxing feel to the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar Inn

Address: 20 Shore Road, Aberdour KY3 0TR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century Inn with accommodation, bar & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cedar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Aberdour
The Cedar Inn Aberdour, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.