We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaklands

Oaklands
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurieston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklands
32 Polmont Road, Laurieston FK2 9QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Laurieston B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Really great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was really wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and the room was very comfortable and clean. Andrew was an awesome host who also offered great and kind advice on sites and stories. We'd love to come back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our reason for staying in Falkirk was to visit friends and family and whenever we return we will definitely use Oaklands. Andrew was very welcoming and put you at ease from the start. The rooms were clean, comfortable and a decent size. Breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room is grand. Only other comment is that it could be better sign posted from the road as it is a busy road and SATNav does not quite hit the exact spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Oaklands! Andrew was a perfect host! The home is well decorated and includes personal touches of family pictures. We had tea in the evening in the living room. The dining room is large and inviting. Andrew prepared a wonderful breakfast. He also went the extra mile to show us where the train station was so we could take the train into Edinburgh. So glad we chose Oaklands!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We decided to stay here due to previous TA reviews and I have to say we weren't disappointed! Lovely building, beautifully decorated with a really nice atmosphere. My room was clean, spacious, comfy... with en suite shower room, very powerful good quality shower... bathroom looked like it had recently been fitted. Tea and coffee making facilities provided and refreshed daily. Andrew the host/owner couldn't have made us feel more welcome! Breakfast was superb.... Everything on offer from cereal's, toast, fruit and yogurts to a good cooked scottish breakfast! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Initially we chose Oaklands because it was close to Glasgow and Edinburgh and we were delighted with our choice. An easy train trip to both cities mean't an effortless visit. BUT the absolute bonus was what was just around the corner in Laurieston. Just a quick walk and we found ourselves in Calendar Park - stunning home and grounds and free entry, we went back several times just to savour the beauty of the gardens - the azaleas and rhododendroms were in full bloom. Just a couple of miles away is Linlithgow - what a jewel, so much to see and enjoy - apart from the castle and the charming town itself a wander along the canal is essential.Oaklands itself was a wonderful experience for us, we had full use of the sitting room which was a change from reading in our room, Andrew is a gracious host and you must meet Margaret who assists him admirably with the housekeeping. We loved every second of our time in Oaklands - we totally recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinslaken
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

All wishes full-filled incl. a garage for our push bikes.
Very comfortabel room, stylish furnished.
Great bathroom with window.
Fair trade products were used.
Good located in near walking distance to town.
Best of all: Andrew himself, warm and friendly!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

What a great base. This wonderful Bed & Breakfast was a fantastic place to stay. You felt like you were staying with friends. Our room was clean and self contained with an en-suite toilet and shower. There were towels provided as well as a hair drier. There was a TV and fairtrade tea and coffee making facilities. We had our own key which meant we could go off and come back without disturbing anyone. Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed. We made the mistake of using the park and ride system into Edinburgh and realised afterwards we should of used the train from Falkirk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands

Address: 32 Polmont Road, Laurieston FK2 9QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Laurieston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laurieston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oaklands to your Saves list