We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Annie Basil Fawlty's mother?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast

Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musselburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
53 Eskside West, Musselburgh EH21 6RB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Is Annie Basil Fawlty's mother?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We are a middle-aged couple who needed somewhere to stay while settling our daughter into university during freshers week.
An unexpected phone call from Annie quizzed us about our whereabouts in the middle of the afternoon, and informed us we HAD to be there before 7pm or we would be "locked out!" We arrived to find a lovely cottage beside the river Esk, however not such a friendly welcome.
Annie first felt the need to establish whether or not my husband (a mechanical engineer) could manage to securely lock the outside door and made him demonstrate his ability several times - inside AND out.
Next we endured a neverending list of dos and don'ts, i.e
DO turn lights off before turning the next one on,
DO refrain from burning your bottom on the radiator as you get dried
DO close all doors QUIETLY - not to mention an exceptionally inappropriate remark demanding that we "DO IT QUIETLY" as she would be sleeping in the next room. At this point I decided that we would be better off sleeping in the car overnight rather than in what can only be described as a regimented boot-camp. We left abruptly without obtaining our deposit back, and we will certainly NEVER return.

Looking back on the experience, it was honestly like an episode from Fawlty Towers, and, although funny afterwards, it was somewhat less amusing at the time, not to mention the huge inconvenience caused by losing our accommodation and trying to find somewhere else during the hectic freshers week in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parola, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

After reading the strong reviews, my cousin and I decided to meet Annie ourselves. She is quite a character and does run a tight ship where you are expected to "tow the line"...unfortunately, this atmosphere is not very conducive to a holiday mood. It was a bit like sitting and having breakfast with my great grandmother and both my cousin and I felt as though any moment we were going to get our hand slapped for putting the jam jar in the wrong spot on the table. The "friendliness" forced and it was tiring listening to the rules of conduct. Running a B&B involves meeting all sorts of people from different cultures and backgrounds and requires some flexibility...Annie needs to work on her flexibility.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Musselburgh hotels

Darlington , England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

As you've read in previous reviews, Annie comes across as a bit of a school ma'am ..... 'do's & don'ts' are laid out before you , in a too small house, the 'front room' is also the dining room , and is not recomended for other than that ...... like relaxing with a paper or a good book . We had the 'attic' bedroom , those stairs are a bit of a climb, especially for the elderly traveler ! In the night, when the toilet is needed - in the dark - a nightmare ! Otherwise a generous bathroom ..... shame it's not on the same floor as the bedroom . Meals were very good , the lady attentative , just a bit 'frosty' at times ...... nice doggie though :) It's OK for the money , Edinburgh is about 20-30 minutes away , depending on transport ..... but if you're heading back South on the A1 after - you're just a mile or so from it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

There most definitely was not a warm and friendly welcome from Annie on our arrival. We (a middle aged couple) were shown round the house with Annie giving us precise instructions on what we could and couldn't do and what was and was not acceptable while staying in her house. We clambered up the twisty cottage stairs to our 'attic' room which we discovered had no lock to it. Also our 'private' bathroom on the floor belowcould not be locked off. The room was claustrophobic and our only thought was how on earth do we get out of here if there's a fire. It was no pleasure having to negotiate the steep stairs during the night if we needed to use the wc. Turning lights on for this nightime journey was vital but light usage was strictly monitered by Annie and we were soon told if we had over used the electric "which is expensive" We had need to contact Annie one evening when we returned and found signs that our 'private' bathroom had been used by others and so we would like some fresh towels, but Annie wouldn't answer the phone. There was a constant unidentifiable acrid smell lingering in the house that hit you as soon as you walked in. We would stay out each day until about 10 to 10.30pm so as to spend as little time as possible in the accomodation. Breakfast was nothing special we've had far far better, more inviting breakfasts in other B&B's we've stayed at. Annie needs to realise that for some this is their one holiday of the year a time they've been looking forward to. Being happy with your accomodation plays a huge part in whether the holiday is enjoyable or not. We couldn't wait for the time to come for us to leave the B&B vowing never to return. We definitely would not stay at this B&B again and we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Me and my mother visited Annie in July while checking out Edinburgh. I guess I can say nothing negative about Annie and her pretty house.
Annie has been endlessly friendly and honest about everything. Her breakfast seemed to be delicious. She is always pleased to help you with everything. And the price is satisfying.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean.

Anyway, if you want to spend some days in comfort not spending much don't hesitate alling Annie.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were greeted by Annie and shown to our rooms, my daughters 14 &15 and my husband ands myself. We were told about the showers (We rented both rooms @ L25 each) L100 total, it is not the best value. My daughter was, told by Annie the first night,not to get the Duvet dirty.
The shower blew a fuse the first morning until my husband went to fix it!! No offer to reduce our amount.
The second morning did the same and she just told us to use the other bathroom, with very little water. She is stern and abrupt, she told us during the second breakfast, that she "really does not like children,"!! with our teens sitting there and then came back to say she was kidding.
We came in from a day out and the house smelled of tobacco smoke, ( she smokes in her private room, which is adjacent to ours) All of our clothes smelled of cigarette smoke, even the ones in our luggage.
She was not particularly warm and friendly, but her dog was.
Annie claims to be a trained chef, from the Cordon Bleu, but her omelets were runny.
There are many B&B in the area, this would not be my choice again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, U.K.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Annie may come across as somewhat daunting when speaking on the telephone, nonetheless, I felt there was more to this lady than meets the eye.
When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and made to feel most welcome. We had 'the tour' then went back to the lounge/breakfast room where Annie took our order for breakfast . She specialises in omelettes and asked us if that would be OK, we said that it would be fine and were very pleasantly surprised when she offered accompanying bacon, tomatoes (cooked or raw), sausage and mushrooms (fresh, not canned). We said yes to everything. We duly went down for breakfast at 08.30 and started with cereals, freshly chopped mixed fruit, yoghurt, home made jam & marmalade, Scottish honey, toast, oatcakes, fruit juice and a cafetiere of good coffee. The excellently cooked and generously proportioned hot meal followed. Annie was attentive and eager to please without being obtrusive. I have stayed in many 5* hotels throughout the UK and none offered a better breakfast. There was fresh milk placed in our room as well as the usual ingredients for a hot drink.
This is a small and cosy B & B housed in an old converted fisherman's cottage and has a quaint character. The beds are comfortable and the premises were very clean.
We had the room at the top of the house, reached by a narrow, steep staircase, but this added to the charm of the place. Our bathroom situated on the first floor, was enormous and contained a full size bath, separate built in shower, wash basin, toilet and even a comfy chair. There was an abundance of toiletries and a good supply of soft towels.
Although we were told that the house would be locked up between 10.00am and 4.00pm, access at any other time was unlimited. We were aware of this when we booked and it caused us no problem during our 3 night stay.
Annie's 'rules' were perfectly reasonable and acceptable. Her help and advice was very well received and appreciated. She was a good conversationalist and we really enjoyed our time with her.
We have no hesitation in recommending Annie's B & B and next time we visit Edinburgh we will certainly book again.

  • Liked — location, Annie, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 53 Eskside West, Musselburgh EH21 6RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Also Known As:
Annie Deacon`s Bed And Breakfast
Annie Deacon`s Hotel Musselburgh
Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast Musselburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.