We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh Lodges to your Saves list
Edinburgh Lodges
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | Carberry Tower, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we first drove into the parking area, we thought we were in the wrong place - there was what looked like palace, not a lodge. The lodges are down the driveway to the left. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who told us although we were booked for the lodge, we had access to hotel services. Our rooms were clean and comfortable,although my second story single had a sloping ceiling that made it seem a little smaller. After dinner and some local touring, we went to the hotel bar for a nightcap where we were served by a very hospitable bartender who engaged the night receptionist with us in very interesting stories of the place. The hotel, we were told, was the former palatial home of the Queen mother Elizabeth's sister. Edinburgh Lodges is conveniently located near the A720 City of Edinburgh Bypass for an easy 20 minute drive, with several service stations enroute to fuel up, around Edinburgh to the Edinburgh airport, which was important as we had to fly out the next morning. I would definitely plan on staying at Edinburgh Lodges on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and her elderly parents stayed one night at these lodges. Initial problem was that although a single and a double were booked they were presented keys for two singles! They were then told that the only room that could be made available was out of service due to a damaged shower curtain/rail. On inspection it was decided to accept the room as it was only for one night. This room was allegedly a 'accessible room' but the bed was up against a wall and therefore my 92 year old mother-in-law had to disturb my 94 year old Father-in-law to get up during the night.
In my opinion they should have been some reduction in price for the poor service/accommodation considering they accepted a room that was technically 'out of service' anyway. We had been planning on using these lodges more often as they are close to relatives, but this will not happen now, we will be resorting back to the nearby Premier Inn.
Also no food was available due to a wedding at the hotel part.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Musselburgh hotels

Dartford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Edinburgh Lodges are located in the grounds of Carberry Tower Hotel, a very impressive period property. To stay at the hotel is expensive but the Edinburgh Lodges are a 1/4 of the price and you get full use of the hotel. We travelled as a group of family and friends for a wedding in a nearby castle and were looking forward to eating at the hotel after a long journey and to use the facilities. When we arrived we were told the hotel had exclusive use and we were not allowed to use any of the hotel's facilities or the bar, this exclusivity lasted until after breakfast the following day so we could not have a family breakfast together at the hotel either. The hotel should have told us about the exclusive use before we arrived but they failed to do so. It may be a good idea to phone the hotel to check this out for future guests of Edinburgh Lodges.
The accomodation is basic but clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had traveled up from Kent for a wedding so staying Thursday to Monday I have a young child 3 I had asked for a family room only to find that it was on the first floor of the lodges single mother with a 3 year old pushchair and suitcase up stairs not handy at all! When I went into the room I noticed the windows were very low and my daughter took an interest in them as they open fully! I went to ask for a room change as its very dangerous and could not risk it and not were available it was only that my uncle would swap with me. The rooms were small but clean a family room is more of a double and my parents had a double but should only of been a single, bed pushed against the wall with a sliver of a walk way to their bathroom which was a wet room! There was no fridge in a family room for babies milk/food and would of have to walk to the main house. you could hear everything everyone was doing not very sound proof at all. There was a couple of weddings on in the main house and it felt like we were not important no dinner available or breakfast in the morning they should be one or the other a wedding venue or hotel. The room was clean and tidy and most of the staff were helpful. Overall beautiful grounds but not child friendly at all! I would been much happier staying at the travel lodge down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tucked at the back of the rather grander location, the Lodges offer clean and warm basic accomodation. It reminded me a lot of going to conferences and staying in rooms, but that's not to say it wasn't lovely. We had a television and coffee making facilities and - most importantly in a snowy Scotland - it was really warm and comfortable! I'd recommend this really good value gem as an overnight bolt-hole to rest up and relax before continuing on a journey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We received a warm and hearty welcome from one of the friendliest receptionists I have come across during many travels! Thank you. The adjacent Carberry Tower castle was just amazing and we felt very welcome when we enjoyed a drink there.

Although the room with its en-suite was small, it was cosy and comfortable. The scenic location is amazing! I will definitely stay there again: it was so charming and excellent value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 Night when i was in Edinburgh and it was a really nice place. the rooms were cosy, clean and warm... the only downside was the bath.. it was rather small but managable.. you would need to have a car to get to this place as its a good 20 minute drive from the city centre. would love to stay there if i visited edinburgh on car..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musselburgh
Carberry Tower
#1 of 1 in Carberry
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#73 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh East
#74 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Lodges

Address: | Carberry Tower, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edinburgh Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edinburgh Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Lodges Musselburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.