We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Guest House

Arden Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arden Guest House to your Saves list
Arden Guest House
26 Linkfield Road, Musselburgh EH21 7LL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. On the positive side there are great views of the race course and the road outside is relatively quite. My room was massive and very clean the staff were quite friendly.
Negative when I arrived late at night the room was very cold as the heat was off, my bathroom was across a landing which was not so bad apart from on my last day there was no hot water for a shower and I had to leave early in the morning. Breakfast was good but the servings times are a little restricted (8-9am), and my tv signal was really bad and the remote hardly worked.
One of the most annoying things although small was that the floor of my bedroom creaked and the wardrobe would make a noise every time I walked across the floor, I know its only small but it got a little irritating by the 3rd day! Overall quite good accommodation my a lot of small things need to be ironed out to take this place on a rung.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Arden Guest House is located opposite a racecourse and just moments away from the pretty town of Musselburgh. The room we had was basic but comfortable with a very small en-suite. Breakfast was nice, but not as much selection as we've had elsewhere. Robert, the proprietor, was just so helpful with everything we needed and his local knowledge seems vast. In all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Would recommend. We stayed two nights to attend Musselburgh race meeting. Ideally located as race track just over the road. Our room was large (room No.1) with a super king bed and a couple of arm chairs to admre the view, also had large en-suite with shower and bath. Although road just outside there was very little traffic noise during the day and none during the night. Owner very helpful and friendly. Pub and restaurants five mins walk. We usually stay at a hotel in Musselburgh but will be staying at Arden House again next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was large with en-suite and had two big windows looking over the race and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for just one night to enable us to go to the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. We were allowed to check in before the stated time. We were shown to our room and it was a very nice room - but a little on the small side. The room had originally been bigger but had been changed to become an ensuite room so part of the bedroom was used for the bathroom. Would rather have ensuite than a bigger room so I am not complaining. Breakfast is ordered the evening before so you don't have to wait in the morning. Great location for Edinburgh if you don't mind a short commute. It saves a fortune in time and money looking for and paying for car parks. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Location: on a busy main road 5-10 minutes from nearest shops, restaurants etc.
Parking: There is no on-site parking. We were able to find parking nearby with some difficulty - space is at a premium.
Room: We were allocated a poky twin bedded room under the roof at the top of the house with no en-suite. The bathroom was shared. No wardrobe was provided; we were expected to use a small attic cupboard. A plastic portable hook attached to the outside of the door to this was the only clothing hook supplied.
We had been promised that our room would be quiet because it lay on the side of the house. However, it turned out to be on the front corner of the house and therefore exposed to the traffic noise we had sought to escape.
Services: We were supplied with one small thin towel each. There was no hot water supplied in the bathroom over the three day period we stayed there. There was no bath, only a shower, and the latter supplied cold water only until we found a switch on the landing.
Breakfasts: Adequate if uninspired.
Ambience: Our impression was that this was a coldly efficient business devoted to the maximisation of profit margin. The demand for a deposit and the deduction from the credit card on the first night of our stay summed it all up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardenguesthouse, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
It is most disappointing when guests do not experience what we strive to give all our guests which is the best time with us. However to go 3 days with us and never mention how they are feeling or that they are disappointed really makes it impossible for me to fix. However somethings here are dealt with over the phone or by email at the booking stage ie, parking situation, location and facilities, along with asking if the guest has any specific requests. They are also advised that payment is required on arrival. Should you not be happy with either the type of room,parking and payment arrangements then i would think you would not book. This room is in fact a very large room overlooking Musselburgh race course along with the oldest playing golf course in the world, not a view any one else could offer. This room does share facilities with one other room - two bathrooms, one with an electric shower which does have to be switched on to work(as they all do). Towels are provided yes one each and changed daily. Not sure M&S would market their towels as thin! With regard to a wardrope there is a large walk in cupbord with 15 coat hangers(was this missed)! We would never offer a quiet room as all our room have veiws with roads close to side and front again if issue should have enquired at time of booking to avoid disappointment. This room is also NEVER sold without the customer being told of the shared facilities. Now to go 3 days and not mention the hot water not being hot, how was i to fix this !
All of our breakfasts choices are clearly noted on our web site and i have never had a cooked breakfast back because it was uninspiring not sure what was wrong here as nothing left on plate when it came back!! We love our guest house here and do our best to make it home from home. Perhaps this guest should take up the art of communication at the time it makes him unhappy as i always find things are dealt with straight away so one needs to feel they have been let down because they failed to ask for what they wanted to begin with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Owner Linda Conway was extremely helpful with all my queries. The room itself was spacious, and had a good view, affording plenty of daylight into the room. It was located right opposite the horse racing track, and easy to find. Aside from the racing, there are three excellent golf courses within easy reach. The former Open Championship venue Old Musselburgh - worthy of a game for history alone, and top quality parkland venues Monktonhall, and Royal Musselburgh.

I liked best my room, which although up two flights of stairs, was clean, spacious, nicely decorated, and contained good quality furniture. The price was also excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Last minute stay. Great few days. Edinburgh easy to get too and great bus route. Very clean and owners very nice and a great help for helping with things to do.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musselburgh
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh)
2.2 mi away
Carberry Tower
Carberry Tower
#1 of 1 in Carberry
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East
Premier Inn Edinburgh East
#74 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#1 of 2 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Address: 26 Linkfield Road, Musselburgh EH21 7LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star Visit Scotland guest house, looking directly on to Musselburgh Race Course along with Musselburgh Old course, golf course - the oldest playing course in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Musselburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.