We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drum Mohr Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Drum Mohr Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drum Mohr Holiday Park
Levenhall, Musselburgh EH21 8JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved it, wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was the third year we have stayed at Drummohr, and we have always found the place clean, tidy, peaceful, and the staff have always been friendly.
On the last two holidays we have spent there we have taken our Westie dog and the lovely dog walking area they have takes you around the park, and you can see the lovely views overlooking the Firth of Forth.
We have always stayed in the Lodges they provide there, and could not speak highly enough of the facilities they provided, it was like being in a home away from home.
I would highly recommend Drummohr, and we will be goig back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conwy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were booked in here during the festival, and even though the site was busy, we had a lovely peaceful spot. The staff were very kind, helpful and always made time to chat about anything we needed to know. At reception you are given plenty of information about your stay, right down to a very detailed listing of all the bus times to and from the city. Your shown to your spot and can even order bread and papers for the morning. We were tenting and shared a lovely corner of the site with four other tents, but we never felt encroached upon, it was perfect. The planning of the site has taken privacy into account and our section was surrounded by high but well maintained hedges. Considering how close it is to the city and roads, its extremely quiet there.

The shop is really well stocked and doesnt charge over the top prices like so many do. The other facilites are all clean, well thought out and pretty much cover everything. There are large clean toilet and shower blocks, ( showers are fantastic I have to say) , a laundrette with very reasonable prices, a pot washing hut with very hot water, a chemical toilet emptying post, and even freezers available to refreeze your ice blocks for your cool boxes. Irons, hairdryers and other thoughtful touches are available also.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay ( although could do with a bigger tent myself) and will certainly be going back there at the first opportunity. we have decided to make this site the base for all our holidays up there for the fore seeable future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a great stay at Drummohr, all the staff were very helpfull from making our booking, checking in, for information during our stay and again when we left, can i also add that all the staff here work exceptionaly long shifts and unlike the las person to write a review I could not speak highly enough about the staff I wish all the parks we went to were run like this.
This is a very nice park with a well stocked information point, and shop and has excellent bus links into the centre of edinburgh, I would recomend and I would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rented a lodge for a week. When making reservations we have asked several questions by email already and got very good answers. The staff took good care of our wishes - important as we are using a wheelchair. The rooms were more spacious as it showed on the photos on their website with a large couch and dining table. We could enter the lodge with a ramp. The campingsite is filled with gravel, so no mobility with wheelchair here. The lodge is well taken care of. A joy to have the beds made up when we arrived first day. The kitchen is very well equipped.

The campingsite is very green with lots of high bushes and grass, feeling of being in nature environment and very close to the big city. The playground is simple and most suitable for kids age 6 to 10. As an extra the staff offered us a lodge with jacuzzi tub, because it was not rented out. This park is privately owned and not too much commercialized. Mind you this park is located in Musselburgh / Levenhall, 15 minutes driving from Old Town Edinburgh by car. This makes it very easy to explore town's and places in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I were on our way to the campsite and called to say we were going to be there after 6pm as it said on their website to do. When we called and said we were going to be there between 9pm and 10pm as we live in Cambridge, 6.5 hours away. We were told that there was absolutely no way they would be able to accommodate this request as they couldn't possibly ask their staff to ask to stay that long. If we were there by 9pm, not a problem. We had already given credit card payment, but apparently there was something else they needed to give us so that we could stay there. There was NO WAY (as the woman on the phone informed us) that this could be taken care of in the morning, over the phone or in any other way. Because of this, we had no where to stay that night and ended up sleeping in our car. We cancelled our reservation for the second night as the staff of the facility was so rude to us on the phone, and we couldn't imagine having to deal with them in person. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beardyboy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights at this site and it is in a great location and the facilities are spot on and very clean. Staff are very pleasant. No complaints in any manner except for safety. The space between the offside of my tourer and the 2 cars next door (parked nose to tail) was less than 4 feet (yes, I did measure it) and from what I have discovered so far, fire safety regulations require at least 3 metres distance. One of the staff did slow down and look at this on his golf buggy but took no action. While I did not complain to the site, I did expect more awareness on fire regulation from staff & am extremely disappointed this was allowed to happen on a 5 star site.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Drummohr caravan park
8 miles east of Edinburgh city centre
Excellent 24hr bus 5 mins walk from the park.

We arrived in edinburgh last weekend without booking a campsite pitch, (during the edinburgh festival this was not a wise move)we gave drummohr a call, the park was all but full after holding on the line for a few minutes they came back and had managed to squeeze us in, this saved us having to head out of the city as no one else would take us.the owner and his staff were very helpfull and gave us lots of information on the festival, tours and busses, and also gave us some discount vouchers.
although the park was full it was still very peacefull you would hardly know you were so close to the city.
The well stocked shop had all we needed.
we would recomend this site to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drum Mohr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drum Mohr Holiday Park

Address: Levenhall, Musselburgh EH21 8JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Musselburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drummohr Holiday Park is situated just twenty minutes away from Princes Street in the heart of Scotland’s capital Edinburgh. To the other side of the Holiday Park is the beautiful East Lothian countryside.Our AccommodationThe Holiday Park offers luxury holiday lodges, some with hot tubs, pitches for caravans, pitches for camping and an alternative to traditional camping, the octolodges and the bothy’s. Small shop, visitor information, local brochures and leaflets are available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Drum Mohr Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drum Mohr Holiday Park Musselburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drum Mohr Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.