We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stobo Castle Ladies Day at Musselburgh Races: Fri.14 June 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musselburgh Racecourse

Musselburgh Racecourse
Linkfield Road, Musselburgh EH21 7RG , Scotland
0131 665 2859
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musselburgh Racecourse is a Visit Scotland 5 Star venue offering fantastic value days out for all ages. With 27 race meetings a year there is always something to look forward whether you are looking for our Sell out Ladies Day, or great value Family days, with loads of free entertainment for children or the perfect stag or hen night at our Party Nights!! We can offer a choice or places to eat and drink at the racecourse catering for all budgets.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stobo Castle Ladies Day at Musselburgh Races: Fri.14 June 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Taking advantage of the courtesy coach from Wallyford Park and Ride, I arrived alone and with some trepidation at a misty Musselburgh Racecourse, where guests were assembling in their matching bags and shoes, keen to take advantage of this ideal chance to practice their betting and trend spotting skills; and The Blackbird Pop-Up and The Pommery were among two places from where you might purchase a cocktail or glass of fizz: I brought a picnic to accompany my prosecco and delightful coffee. I also got to try Stobo Castle's spa facilities in a specially designated marquee; this allowed those who risked sun damage to get in out of the heat (I brought my parasol) and get a mini-makeover. Banishing the memory of this luxury Scottish Borders retreat as a fat farm, I sampled a mini-massage from one of Stobo's finest, which certainly left me in no doubt where my arm muscles are. I also tried their Dreamwaterjet massage bed which is rather like a shiatsu chair. When you lie on it, (in this case in a tent out of the back of a Stobo road vehicle), it ripples like being transported motionless on a river. Being there solo as an ordinary punter, it was certainly good to have these distractions, without being mistaken for being a serious race-goer. I did take a flutter on a few of my chosen favourites and I was lucky enough to see the main performers later on in the parade ring. It certainly is a tough gig for the horses, certain of the attention as they glisten post-race under the gaze of the media and their sponsors. Across the other side of the track while the horses were under starters orders, Catherine Brown: thanks to Stobo and the Edinburgh Evening News, was being presented as The Face of Ladies Day in her new role she was here to judge Fashion in the Fields. A psychology student at Queen Margaret University, Ms Brown had the unenviable task of finding who was to be the recipient of three prestigious titles including that of King of Style, and among the prizes on offer were a luxury spa stay, future racemeeting tickets, shopping vouchers and cash. Without any obvious signs of nerves, each participant of the three fashion events was then interviewed by Forth One's Grant Stott about their fashion moment. Later, as the crowds dispersed, it was left to one veteran race-goer wearing a top hat and tails who spoke to me as I awaited the last return courtesy bus (which never turned up) to say "some of the girls get in such a state" he eyed me knowingly as he licked his ice-cream and waited for his wife to take him home for his birthday celebrations were next day and he had to get an early night. But unless he confused his birthday for his funeral, for myself most of the crowd were excited yet composed despite the occasional press of bodies, and although the toilet facilities may require improvement: the Ladies - had a urinal taking up valuable grooming space; and it is always trickier doing all that flirting but in heels - for me the day was a clear winner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

January 3rd race day. Had a fab day out. Snack vans overpriced, dry and hot chocolate watery. Apart from that great day out for us all. Will def be back for the family day in July

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Years Day Racing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The whole family booked tickets here for the 2013 New Years Day Race Meeting and had a great day out, good various food outlets at different prices so will cater to all pockets. Decent price for a ticket especially as the kids are free, we have booked again for this year and hopefully the weather will be good again this year.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Musselburgh Racecourse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

An excellent course with more races and bigger prizes every year. The course goes around the "Old Course" a nine hole golf course that was used to play the Open championship years ago. The racecourse is also the venue for Gala's, and other local amusements. The grandstand has a good restaurant and bar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stag day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

There was no criticism of our day at the races, £15 per person which was our entry, £6 free bets, a free drink and a fish supper all in, great atmosphere and a cracking day out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musselburgh Racecourse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Been to Musselburgh Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musselburgh Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.