We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay

The Quay
131 New Street | Fisherrow Harbour, Musselburgh EH21 6DH, Scotland
0131 665 1066
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Quay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 48 Restaurants in Musselburgh
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The QUAY Complex now offers the most extensive buffet banquet in Scotland. You can fill your bellies without emptying your pockets because our prices start from only £8.50. Travel the world through your taste buds, exploring an extensive choice of flavours and indulging in whatever style of food you desire!We have delicacies to suit every palate cooked fresh at LIVE STATIONS before your eyes. Whether it's a romantic meal for two, an office night out or a BIG celebration, there is no need to go anywhere else.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a quick bite here on a saturday night, just had main courses, good value and great serivce. Would reccomend serves both British and indian cuisine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    84
    41
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We always get a friendly greeting when visiting the Quay. The waiters are friends now and always make us welcome.
The food is of a high standard, an excellent varied menu and prices are very reasonable.
We often call in for coffee and scones in an afternoon which are excellent value.
Our last visit was for a family birthday and we were so well looked after.
Some of our party had Thalis for the first time and said they would return as they were so good and great value.
The waiter offered to take photos of the family for us which we were very grateful for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East lothian
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not Another Dissappointment !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The above restaurant looks very nice and inviting and the waiting staff smart . The menu choice is quiite varied with a choice of British and Indian food ( the restaurant is Indian owned). So we decided to try the Indian food .My daughter ordered a starter of Chicken Pakora and I had Vegetable Samosas. both were very nice and reasonably priced just under £9 for both. I ordered Chicken Tikka and my daughter ordered chicken massala. When the meals arrived, we took one look at the plates and we both looked at each other and shook our heads . There was a huge portion od rice a small balti sized bowl with a totally flavourless sauce. the sauce was medium hot and and I had 4 chunks of chicken ! My daughter had the Massala again a huge portion of rice and a balti bowl with sauce again flavourless.with four pieces of chicken and 2 Nan breads very very dry NOT freshley cooked. The bill came to just under £39 pounds. So So dissappointing. Not once were we asked if everything was alright , and they were not busy. and plenty of staff on duty. So dont think we will be going back not even to give them the benefit of the dought, as we would normally do. It really makes me angry when you go out and spend £40 pounds (especially nowadays with moneybeing tight) and just for a little treat and you just come away dissappointed Again, its like so many places dont CARE ,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a friendly restaurant & bar with something for everyone on the menu. Great deals include thali lunch or fish & chip night. I've been for both and enjoyed the food and the quiet atmosphere. It's suitable for family during the day and early evening. There is a good selection of wine and drinks.The staff are friendly and attentive and they make a special effort for birthdays with a slice of cake with candles and the birthday person's name iced onto the platter, nice touch! Will visit again. It's only approx 30 min bus journey from Edinburgh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Was OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was fine and quite cheap considering the size of the place, however, it was very busy and we did feel rushed even though the waiters put us under no pressure to leave early

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Been to The Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.